03/28 Jax AMPS 16.6, +2 13.2, +4 9.4, +7 14.8. PMPS 21.7

You only have half of the picture because you don’t have tests at night for the last ) nights. Cats often go lower at night. Can you get a before bed test for a couple nights?
 
I can try. But back when I was deciding which method to use, I mentioned it’s very tough for me to get the tests after the PM shot, so it was recommended that I go with SLGS because of that. I completely understand that the *ideal* scenario is to have these tests in but I’m also trying to be realistic about balancing this with the many other directions my life is pulled in right now. So is the expectation with SLGS still to require testing at night before any dose increases?

Last week the family had gastro so I was unfortunately up and able to test for a few nights in a row and Jax was always actually higher for his PM+3 than AM. I was intending to ask about dose last week but the day I did the curve he had unusually good numbers so I decided to hold off and see whether we got any repeats of that (which we did not).
 
So I guess setting an alarm to get a nadir at night is impossible? Based upon the day nadir you could increase.
 
Once in awhile I can but no I can’t do that regularly right now. I’m very pregnant and have a very early rising toddler. If I get up in the middle of the night I’m awake for at least an hour or two no matter how exhausted. I just can’t sacrifice that sleep daily right now and still be functional enough for my toddler and job. So I’m just trying to find a realistic balance that will still allow me to help Jax better than the vet is. Once the baby is here I’ll obviously be up at all hours and should be able to test more overnight.

Thanks, I’ll try increasing his dose.
 
I can’t imagine having a toddler, being pregnant, and a newly diagnosed cat. We need to be conservative with dosing. Looking at the nadirs you do have I think it’s safe to increase.
 
Back
Top