03/28 Clyde AMPS 166, +2 139, +3.5 86, +5.5 102, +11 50/47, PMPS 58, +1 74

Hey! So I rarely test Clyde a +11, but thought I’d try tonight to see how far he came up, and shocking I got a reading of 50! I tested again because I didn’t believe it as he was a bit over 100 around +6.

My second test was 47.

Should I decrease again? I feel like I should keep the 2.75u for at least a few cycles?

I remember reading Lantus can have a second dip late in the cycle, but I didn’t think it would be lower than the nadir.
 
Last edited:
Hi Ellen! Clyde sure has you on your toes. Good catch on the +11!

Are you able to delay your shot? Since you fed him (which was the safe thing to do) that PS number will be influenced. Was it LC or HC?

also, yes, I believe it is too soon after your last reduction for reduce again
 
Sure looks like something's going in the right direction!

It looks like you decreased to 2.5 and shot.....that's perfectly fine but you want to get a +1 and +2 to make sure his dinner is kicking in

sorry! I have not shot yet, I’m stalling 15 mins, but I am leaning towards decrease to the 2.5u just with it being the evening cycle. Do you think that’s okay?
 
It's only been the second cycle since the reducie, so I'd be inclined to hold the 2.75u since back to back reductions don't often work, but that said we can find sometimes that the kitty decides to fly down the dosing scale. The change to human meter can be as I said before a bit of a mental adjustment :). Nothing wrong with taking another reduction, you can always go back up.
 
I’m stalling 15 mins, but I am leaning towards decrease to the 2.5u just with it being the evening cycle. Do you think that’s okay?

Well on TR, we usually don't do "back to back" reductions because they usually fail and you end up going back up so if you are going to be home and have plenty of supplies (HC food, Karo/honey/syrup, plenty of test strips) and can test as long and as often as may be necessary, the "rules" would say to go ahead with the 2.75 and not do the reduction. If he's going to earn it, he'll earn it whenever he's ready....be it tonight or tomorrow or next week
 
I got nervous and went with the 2.5u, hah. Still new at this whole shooting low. I’ll be around all night and get a +1 and +2.
 
I'd give him an additional teaspoon of your gravy FF, since he's gone under 50 and it is still early in the cycle. The LC is fine when you are holding above the take action line. He's gone under at the moment. Up you go Clyde. Test again in 30 minutes.
 
+2 he’s 45. Gave 3 tsp LC

When it's this early in the cycle, if they drop below 50, you need to give a few teaspoons of HC food and then test again in 20-30 minutes (it doesn't help to test too much sooner since it takes a little time for the food to get broken down and into the bloodstream). What I did was pop the top of a Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (the beef is 20%), put it back down and squeezed it into another bowl to get most of the gravy part. A couple of teaspoons of just the gravy was usually enough but also didn't risk the chance that China would "fill up" on food if I needed her to eat again later. The gravy is where most of the carbs are anyway.
 
He seems very happy & no symptoms.

China always acted pretty normal too in the 40's but as she started to drop more, she became more "frantic" for food....WAY more than the usual "Hey mom, it's 10 minutes past dinnertime" act. Made it a lot easier on me once I learned that when she was really bugging me for food, she was trying to tell me something!

See you in a little while! Time to come up now Clyde!...there's sharks out in that deep water!
shark_attack_emoticon_by_minikozy92-gif.14453
 
Should be about time for a +4

He's surfing...just a little too far out in the lagoon! China used to do that...she'd go from 51 to 47 to 52 to 48....for hours she'd just surf right on the line.
 
for tomorrow morning what dose should I go with? I’ll be home all day

Well the 3U dose could still be affecting his numbers so I'd probably go with the 2.5 as long as you'll be there. (wish I could be here but have to waste most of my day driving to the doctor's office (100 miles), waiting around until he gets around to seeing me and then driving back....what a pain!)
 
Back
Top