03/28 Blackie PMPS 204, +1 166, +2 152, +4 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67271&p=732479#p732479

Got rid of the headache, but still feel a slight affect from the episode 2 days ago. I can see that summer and I aren't going to get along this year again, and my truck doesn't have a/c, either. Shopping will be done as early as possible during those months.

Questions: This is scientifically speaking... Instead of increasing the dose to 1.25u, would removing 0.10 oz. FF T&G and replacing it with the Evo that she's eating now every 5-7 days achieve the same goal to get her in the :mrgreen: s?

ie. She's getting 0.80 oz. FF T&G + 0.20 oz. Evo 95% C&T right now (for a total of 1 oz.). She stays on 1u fat, and either tonight or tomorrow (or whenever), I remove 0.10 oz. of FF T&G making it 0.70 oz. FF T&G and 0.30 oz. Evo, which she'll eat for the next 5-7 days. If she doesn't show :mrgreen: s by that time, I again remove another 0.10 oz. FF T&G making it 0.60 oz. FF T&G and 0.40 oz. Evo. Keep in mind that I would be maintaining the 1 oz. of food, and the amount of food wouldn't decrease.. Only the ratio of the 2 foods would change.

Ultimately, I had to add the carb food to her diet in order to get her up there so that I could increase her dose to a 1u fat (which is where she is now). So, in order to manipulate the food, and work the insulin at the same time, wouldn't it make sense to decrease the carb to a point (not entirely get rid of it) and replace it with the Evo until she shows some green, and still keep the dose where it's at of 1u fat, instead of increasing it to 1.25u?


I understand that it'll require some more testing, of course. And she may get a bit more fuds to achieve this goal, too. (ie. instead of 1 oz. 6x/day, she may get 1.10 oz. 6x/day)

If she still shows green with a bit of carb food, great, and she'll have that with the Evo each day. If not, then she's that carb sensitive.

It's a theory that I wonder will work, but want to put it passed ya'll to see what ya'll thought. ECID.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Question (Again) - 03/28 Blackie AMPS 143, +1 174

No advice from me. I hope your headache just gets better and better. The pollen is crazy right now so I imagine that isn't helping you either. Have a great day Angela!
 
Re: Question (Again) - 03/28 Blackie AMPS 143, +1 174

Hi guys .. no advice from me either unfortunately .. I'm always amazed at the food calculations you do for blackie .. we just plop food down for mocha :oops: I hope you feel better today and this summer won't be to hard on you .. have a great day!
 
Re: Question (Again) - 03/28 Blackie AMPS 143, +1 174

Good morning Angela,

I haven't been around much, but if I remember correctly, the goal of adding the carbs early in the cycle was to try to raise Blackie's nadir and flatten out the cycle so you could raise her dose and bring the entire range down (including the PSs)...isn't that right? Here's what Jill said a few days ago:

imo, you've manipulated her curve enough to increase the dose to 1.25u, but you'll want to monitor.
the idea behind food manipulation in blackie's case is to prop up her nadir so you can add more insulin... which will hopefully bring down the preshot numbers. i wouldn't eliminate food if she needs the calories. instead, i would feed at times early on to prevent her from going too low.

I'm not sure I understand why you want to remove the carbs.....didn't you just add them to prop up her nadir? Removing the carbs will take you back to where you were before. I am in agreement with Jill's suggestion....I would suggest increasing the dose to 1.25u if you are able to monitor.

I would keep your eyes on the goal and not worry so much about how much insulin you need to give to get there. Sometimes you have to go up to come down.
 
Re: Question (Again) - 03/28 Blackie AMPS 143, +1 174

Hi Angela,
I agree with Laurie that Jill's suggestion to increase Blackie's dose by 0.25 is the way to go. Laurie is correct in suggesting that your "new" food plan contradicts the overall plan, which was to increase the carbs in order to raise the nadir, and then to increase the dose so that the whole string of numbers would come down (as a string). (The preshots would come down with the rest of the string.)

I hope it will work for you, but you have to give the whole process time to settle in.

Good luck, and I hope that your weather will get cooler! (But, after all, it is Texas!!!)

Have a great day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/28 Blackie PMPS 204, +1 166

Recap:

AMPS 143, 1u fat, 0.80 oz. FF T&G + 0.20 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 174 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.30 oz. raw turkey cutlet
PMPS 204, 1.25u, 0.80 oz. FF T&G + 0.20 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 166 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 152 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.30 oz. raw turkey cutlet
+4 108
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top