03/28/12 Ella PMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +6 High!

hi tamara, we kinda expected that was likely to happen. she'll come back down. i know how worrisome it is, though - we hate to see her high.

laurie's going to be looking for you in the morning to see what's happened during the night and talk about a dose for morning.

it does seem like she may be pretty carb sensitive.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +6 High!

She feels so uncomfortable:(
She keeps waking me up to water her (give her water through a syringe).
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +6 High!

It doesn't seem like she's producing any insulin on her own at the moment. How will she come down?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +6 High!

Hi Tamara, don't worry too much. I'm sure Ella will come down. Yesterday my Rosy was on Hi the whole day because of a bounce. Today she gave me a green. All these numbers are a moment in time. As long as Ella doesn't remain on a high bg for extended period, I'm sure she'll be ok. Have the patience & take a big breathe! Our kitties can sense that we are uneasy & affect their behavior.
Hugs!

Helen
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +6 High!

+11 412.

We know she spike super high from the dry food carbs. I worry about feeding her and not giving her enough insulin to deal with. Should I dose her at 3units?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 9advice needed)

Hi Ella,

I thought I read that Laurie is going to be helping you to decide on a dose this morning.

I'm sorry, I had to go to bed early last night, and so I don't know what was talked about in your condo after I logged off.

I'm sure Laurie will be by, soon. I'm glad Ella is coming down from her bounce.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Since I didn't give the shot I didn't arrange to go in later to work. I'm getting picked up at 7:45am so will need to shoot at 7:3am.
She's begging for food. How can a cat so hyper even want to eat? It boggles my mind.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Good morning, Tamara, I'm here. I'm sorry that Ella was so high overnight, we did expect that to happen.

Here's my concern with continuing to shoot 3u...the wet food is much lower in carbs, so she may keep doing what she did last night, and then you end up having to skip the shot again. Lantus likes consistency, so it's best if you can shoot a consistent dose twice a day.

Give me a minute to look at ss....brb.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

ok....she is screaming for food this morning!
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Ok...part of this high number is likely a bounce as well....she saw that pretty green number and she isn't used to that. She has been bouncing from blues, so the green will make her bounce too.

I saw Julie asked you about how Ella is liking the wet food....are you going to have a couple of days off sooner than Easter, or is that the soonest you will be able to monitor her closely for a couple of days? The reason I ask is this....with such a dramatic response to changing one snack, I think it would be much easier on you and Ella if you could do a faster switch of the food. You would want to drop the dose, but you would still want to be able to monitor closely, ideally. So, is that a possibility?

I think you will need to reduce the dose in the meantime anyway, with the small change in the diet. I would go down 0.5u at least, to 2.5u, this morning. Please keep in mind that no one can predict exactly how much you will need to reduce, and it may be a balancing act for a few days trying to get it right.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Hi Laurie,

I only have weekends off and I feel I need a bit more than that for the switch. I'm going to do her AMPS in 5 if you wanna stick around.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

AMPS

Are you sure 3 units wouldn't be ok?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

What is the AMPS? I would not shoot 3u....I don't want to see you continue to have the same thing happen as what happened last night.

My thinking is this....if you continue to try to transition slowly, she's probably going to throw curveballs at you. Some cats show very little response to a change in diet, some show some effect, and a few show a WOW effect....I'm a little concerned that she will be the latter, and you may be in for some wild swings while you try to do a slow transition. If you can do a faster switch, with a lowered dose, the major effect will most likely show in the first couple of days, and then she will stabilize. It's a couple of days of monitoring closely, but it saves a couple of weeks of being on a roller coaster and trying to guess at what might be a good dose...while you are not able to monitor as closely.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Honestly, I was thinking that you might want to go as low as 2.0u today....but 2.5u may be fine. I know you are not happy about the high numbers, Tamara, but you also don't want to have her be too low to shoot again. It's a balancing act.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

AMPS 410 so pretty much the same. I cm away for 9hrs a day so can't monitor more than I do.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

maybe i should keep her on all dry until i do have time for the wet and keep her at 3 u?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

I know you can't monitor more closely....I understand. It's ok, we all do the best we can. :YMHUG:

I'm just explaining why I'm suggesting a faster switch when you can monitor. I will do some brainstorming with some other experienced folks, see what we can come up with for options, ok?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

just to clarify, so then if i did dry i could give her 3 units?
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Yes, you could go back to all dry food and continue to give her 3u. That doesn't mean she may not need a dose reduction at some point, of course...but if you want to do that for now, you could do that.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

I gave 2.5 u. I feel a bit awful giving her less as she was so high this morning and then ate 1/4 dry. I hope she is ok.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Tamara, it's one cycle...I know you are worried about the higher numbers, everyone does, but it's short term. Lantus requires patience and consistent dosing, so it's important to look at the longer term, not just one cycle at a time. Keep testing for ketones as you have been and remember to breathe.

I'm assuming that you are planning on giving the wet snack later? Since you reduced the dose, that's what I would do. Ella didn't become diabetic overnight, she won't get regulated overnight either. You're doing a good job!
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

:YMHUG:

most cats go through a phase of high numbers - she'll be ok from this. it's just part of the dance.

on the positive side, you've learned a lot about how the carbs from dry food are affecting her numbers. this is awesome because this is something you can control! there's a lot about feline diabetes that we can't control, so having a major variable like this gives you a way to make significant changes.

i like laurie's idea about transitioning with the canned food earlier, along with a significant drop in the dose. i don't think you can assume that it would take more than a weekend to change her over. what about the possibility of starting on this friday? then you'd have the weekend.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Hi guys .. sure does stink seeing these high numbers doesn't it? I know it's impossible not to stress or worry over these, but ella will come down .. she will .. we just have to be patient .. listen to the people on here, they will not harm your baby .. we want nothing but sweet greens for your girl and she'll get there .. hang in there!
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

Thanks for your continued support. I now realize the power of the carbs and it makes me want to switch her over to canned asap but I have decided to wait until the long weekend to do so. I find these changes in her numbers very stressful and am going to keep on giving her 3u's on her regular dry food for the next week and a half. I really want to be around to help her if needed and to figure out how the new food will affect her. I'll still give her little licks here and there so that I can keep her interested:)

Will keep on posting my numbers.
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

you're doing great!!!

hang in there....we all have to do what we can to balance it with our day to day lives...

come down a little, Ella!

celi & binks
 
Re: 03/28/12 Ella +11 412 (dosing advice needed)

that's fine tamara. if you change your mind and want to tackle it this weekend, we've been talking about ideas on how that could work.

try not to stress too much about it. really - some people have been doing this for years and their kitties seem to manage ok. it won't be so hard on you once you learn more about how it all works. we've all been in your shoes and we totally understand how nerve-wracking this phase is!

punkin sleeps downstairs at night and every single morning for the first couple of months i would open the stairway door and wonder if he'd be dead. fortunately, i don't do that anymore. we've been at it for 15 months now, and he's pretty healthy - and he's certainly happy. he purrs maybe a total of an hour or more every day. just sits around purring and happy.

ella WILL get better. really. you're doing just fine and you'll learn more and more and be able to help her get back to her "regular" self. :YMHUG:
 
Late on my post but Ella was 331 at PMPS. She seems more lethargic than usual but gave me some purrs and playtime when I got home.
Hopefully we can get her back on track soon without all the bouncing.

Hope everyone has a nice night:)
 
We were terrified too...thinking how we were going to leave the house? :? Would he still be alive when we got home :? :-| :?

You are doing great...I know it creates a lot of anxiety...

Hang in there!!! Have a good night :smile:
 
I understand you wanting to wait, Tamara...and that's perfectly fine! It's ten days away, not long to wait in the grand scheme of things. I know you are really stressing, and I hate to see that! When you are ready to do the food switch, we'll be here, ready to help. No rush, no pressure. We want to help, not make things harder for you, ok?

It's so overwhelming in the beginning, so much to learn and worry about. It will get easier....really! You are doing fine.

If you want to keep giving her some wet food, I would suggest that you give a bit here and there, as a small part of her regular meals or as an extra snack. I wouldn't substitute it for an entire dry food feeding or snack. That should keep it from affecting her numbers so dramatically. :smile:

Please keep posting! You're part of the family here. We would miss you if you didn't post, and we want to know how Ella is doing!
 
This is really the sweetest group:)
I've only been on this forum for a few weeks and I do feel part of the family. :YMHUG:

I will continue to give her wet food snacks aside from her meal times so that I can keep her interested.

Thanks SO much!

Tamara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top