03/27 Ramone PMPS 155-

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
okay just checked my boy 8.2... has not ate since 3:30pm pst so 3 hours since he's ate...

should i give full dose.

i'm new to the shooting low #'s any help input appreciated.
i am home and i can monitor... but this number is a bit low for my comfort level.....
 
Hiya! I'm taking a peek at your spreadsheet now. Looks like Ramone is on a higher dose. Is he a acro or IAA kitty?


he has not been tested... my vet has often pushed it aside...

i know i can make her get me the tests.. just hasn't been in my finances..

he was on prozinc much longer before when i wasn't testing and was on almost 7 units prozinc....
 
Thanks for the info! I completely understand how that goes. Well, after looking at your spreadsheet, I would go ahead and give the dose if you can monitor and have higher carb foods and/or honey/Karo on hand. It's possible that he'll go up since he seems to run higher at night. But at this point, the only way to get comfortable shooting those lower numbers is to do it and see what happens. If you take last night as an example, there was only a 50 point difference from tonight and he ended up surfing in the yellows. What are your thoughts?
 
Thanks for the info! I completely understand how that goes. Well, after looking at your spreadsheet, I would go ahead and give the dose if you can monitor and have higher carb foods and/or honey/Karo on hand. It's possible that he'll go up since he seems to run higher at night. But at this point, the only way to get comfortable shooting those lower numbers is to do it and see what happens. If you take last night as an example, there was only a 50 point difference from tonight and he ended up surfing in the yellows. What are your thoughts?


That is kind of what i am thinking too. last night was the lowest # i've shot at and he went up for the remainder of the night...

I do have everything .. high carb food honey and karo...

i'm going to test him in 5 mins and get his # ...

How often should i check him if i do give full dose every 30 min every hour ? or 2 hour ?

i'm scared but I want to keep this momentum going
 
That is kind of what i am thinking too. last night was the lowest # i've shot at and he went up for the remainder of the night...

I do have everything .. high carb food honey and karo...

i'm going to test him in 5 mins and get his # ...

How often should i check him if i do give full dose every 30 min every hour ? or 2 hour ?

i'm scared but I want to keep this momentum going
Awesome! That sounds like a good plan. I don't think you necessarily need to test more frequently unless he's going down and you're trying to be sure. With that being said, it looks like your current testing schedule is every 2 hours. I would definitely get a +2 and +4 at bare minimum to see how he's working the juice. Now, that's just my recommendation. I test every 3 hours and my buddy Lou is pretty regulated, so I can sometimes forget just how scary it was (viscerally) in the beginning. :oops: If you would much rather test every hour, then you do what you need to do to feel comfortable. :)
 
Whooo!! You got this!! :bighug::bighug:

okay thank you for your guidance and confidence!! I've given him the full dose! I will monitor every 2 hours...

I feel good about this! I've never seen him act or be this happy in a long time ( i've also been home 24/7 and I thiink I have one of those cats that actually likes when you're around haha )

I feel like after almost 9 months we are finally getting somewhere! regardless if he has another lying condition... He looks great!!

Thank you!!
 
okay thank you for your guidance and confidence!! I've given him the full dose! I will monitor every 2 hours...

I feel good about this! I've never seen him act or be this happy in a long time ( i've also been home 24/7 and I thiink I have one of those cats that actually likes when you're around haha )

I feel like after almost 9 months we are finally getting somewhere! regardless if he has another lying condition... He looks great!!

Thank you!!
My pleasure! I'm so glad you're excited as well. It's such a fantastic feeling when you can see just how much better they're doing. It really makes all of this worth it. I'll hang around here for the next couple of hours if you need me. I won't be able to stay up for the +4 (it's already almost my bedtime, haha), but I want to be here at least for the +2.
 
My pleasure! I'm so glad you're excited as well. It's such a fantastic feeling when you can see just how much better they're doing. It really makes all of this worth it. I'll hang around here for the next couple of hours if you need me. I won't be able to stay up for the +4 (it's already almost my bedtime, haha), but I want to be here at least for the +2.


It really does make it all worth it!!

okay thank you so much. i'll do an update in 2 hours just to keep in the loop. and I can reach out the FB group if I need assistance too!!
 
Looks like Ramone has really been paying attention to all the discussion we've had on shooting lower nunbers. :cool: Including in your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-03-23-20-amps-16-8-in-range-all-day.227435/

I am glad Amanda was around to help you. Since you've shot, could you go ahead and change your subject line to include both Ramone's name and the current preshot value. Something like "3/27 Ramone PMPS 155". You can always change it to add "need help" or "need eyes" if he gets lower than you are comfortable with. That'll let people know at a glance you need a hand. You can remove the ? prefix now and add it back if you need help. To make the change, go to your first post, then on the top right is a Thread Tools menu and the down arrow drop down should let you edit the title.

Good luck tonight. Paws crossed for some nice solid blues.
 
Looks like Ramone has really been paying attention to all the discussion we've had on shooting lower nunbers. :cool: Including in your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-03-23-20-amps-16-8-in-range-all-day.227435/

I am glad Amanda was around to help you. Since you've shot, could you go ahead and change your subject line to include both Ramone's name and the current preshot value. Something like "3/27 Ramone PMPS 155". You can always change it to add "need help" or "need eyes" if he gets lower than you are comfortable with. That'll let people know at a glance you need a hand. You can remove the ? prefix now and add it back if you need help. To make the change, go to your first post, then on the top right is a Thread Tools menu and the down arrow drop down should let you edit the title.

Good luck tonight. Paws crossed for some nice solid blues.


Thank you!

so +2 11.7
im glad i did full dose..

so would this be TR i would be following if shooting lower #s ? his lowest points always seem to be later in the cycle.. in my opinion but maybe i'm wrong.

i'm trying to fgure out how to update my post..
 
Awesome! Both TR and SLGS have you shoot lower numbers to stay low. TR is the more aggressive option and has you test more frequently, increase more frequently (as needed), and you would eventually shoot anything 50 or higher (anything lower than 50 would be a reduction since Ramone is still a new diabetic). SLGS is for those folks who can't test as frequently, so the doses are held longer before assessing how they're working. In SLGS, you'd reduce the dose if Ramone goes below 90. You'll want to pick one and stick with it to get the best out of it.

Ramone's nadirs definitely appear to be in the later part of the cycle. Interestingly enough, my buddy Lou (who's an IAA kitty), had later nadirs, even on faster-acting insulins that should peak at +4. It certainly helped me dose him when he had lower preshots because he had more time to come up before the insulin kicked in. Best of luck tonight! Ramon's looking good so far!
 
SLGS allows you to shoot as low as 90 (5.0), once you have the experience and data to do so.

TR requires that you are feeding all low carb wet food or raw, can can get a test every preshot, plus at least one other each cycle. Not everyone's life style can do that, so you have to make the call what works for you.
 
SLGS allows you to shoot as low as 90 (5.0), once you have the experience and data to do so.

TR requires that you are feeding all low carb wet food or raw, can can get a test every preshot, plus at least one other each cycle. Not everyone's life style can do that, so you have to make the call what works for you.


Well currently I am able to be TR... but only because I'm working from home due to COVID19. but otherwise I can only do amps test and then possibly +10 and then the pmps and can test any other time throughout the night.

I guess SLGS... but when do you have enough data for that....
 
I guess SLGS... but when do you have enough data for that....
You gradually lower the number you feel comfy shooting, and you monitor. Once you gather data to see what Ramone does with the lower number, it'll be easier to shoot lower.
 
Back
Top