03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Dosing Advice Needed by AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67173

I am using the SLGS Protocol. I think I got a fur shot last night when I gave Furball her insulin. I was wondering what everyone's experience with this is. Does this usually make the numbers go up? How long does that last? I'm pretty sure she got all her insulin this morning. Thanks.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, Possible Fur Shot Last Night

Yes it will make the numbers go up but she'll get over it in no time, everyone does it every now and again :roll: I didn't check her ss but if you haven't done so already note 'FS' for fur shot in the units shot box under the number of units
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, Possible Fur Shot Last Night

Bummer on the fur shot! I don't think we have stopped by before to welcome you. Their numbers will go up with a fur shot and it will take some out of the "shed." It will take a cycle or two to get the shed refilled.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, Possible Fur Shot Last Night

Hi guys .. well bummer on the furshot .. no worries, it happens to the all of us ... just remember, you don't want to give her another shot, in case it wasn't a furshot after all :o have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, Possible Fur Shot Last Night

I am using the SLGS Protocol.

Back from the vet after a re-check of Furball's ear infection. Finally got everyone fed and gave Furball her insulin. I took the insulin to the vet with me and was going to give it to her there because that is her regular shot time, but the vet didn't want me to because I had not fed her. Her PM shot was an hour late tonight because I had to feed her first once we got back from the vet. Her ear infection has gotten better, but she still has a way to go. The vet says it will take time due to her diabetes. It was really bad when it was diagnosed in early February.

The vet wants me to increase Furball's Lantus to 1.5 units based on the curve I did this past Saturday. I will start the increased dose tomorrow. I am going to try and do another curve this Saturday.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Vet Visit Update

Once again your vet is a fool, with lantus you don't have to worry about feeding with the shot as long as you know Furball isn't off her food and will eat later. Vyktor is free fed and he often doesn't eat at shot time.

Also it looks like your curve day was a bounce cycle from the blue so it doesn't provide great data for dosing. I think the SLGS protocol is the same as TR in terms of increasing by 0.25 increments as well. You may want to add a dose advice question to your thread and get the opinion of some wise ones (who I can assure you are much wiser than your vet about diabetes!).
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Vet Visit Update

here's a link to the Start Low Go Slow protocol. i want to highlight a couple of parts for you:

Step 3.
After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat's normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):

If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.

i think it's difficult to tell when a rebound is going on unless you have learned to read the spreadsheets. your vet is looking at the numbers for last weekend, which standing alone would say that the line i've highlighted in brown applies. it would, except that you caught that sweet little 190 on Friday night. it is highly likely that furball was lower than 190 in the hours before that, just because of the way the lantus curve normally goes.

if Friday night had been in the 300's, i'd have agreed with your vet that an increase is due. HOWEVER - there is also the caveat that i highlighted in green above. Lantus dosing is adjusted by .25units when it's increased. a very small amount of lantus can make a big difference in numbers. we also don't want to ignore that 190 that popped up 12 hours after the previous shot - it is sending a very important message.

so . . . . if you're wanting to follow the SLGS protocol, because of the rebound curve on saturday, it would have you holding the dose for another week. i know you're wanting to be cautious because you're not home to test during the day, so wanted to make sure you knew the reasoning for serryn's suggestion for you to hold the dose.

i would agree with her that unless furball won't eat because she's sick or vomiting, she doesn't have to eat at the same time as the injection. that is true of the older insulins. with those, you were shooting the number you saw, the insulin was effective right away and was out of the body in a few hours. lantus works differently - which is why it's a better insulin for cats. lantus doesn't "onset" (see the "new to the group?" sticky if you're not sure what onset is) for about 2 hours so it is not critical for her to eat at the exact time as the shot.

anyway, there's my 2 cents worth. i would err on the side of caution in your particular situation.

i'm sure this is confusing - do you have questions that we can help answer?
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Vet Visit Update

Just an FYI, a curve is testing every 2 hours. You did a great job of testing over the weekend. Next time, give Furball's ears a bit of a break!!

I think you have the option of increasing either by 0.25 or 0.5u. My only concern with your vet's suggestion is that you're not home during the day to test. It's entirely your call, though, if you want to increase by 0.5u.

I'm not sure I would have disagreed with your vet. Many cats won't eat if they're stressed and car rides and vet stress can have a big effect on many cats. It would certainly be safer to shoot when at home.

Please remember that if you shot late, then your next shot is 12 hours from when you shot. You can move the shot earlier by 15 min. twice a day or 30 min. once a day and still be in a good safety margin.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Vet Visit Update

I am using the SLGS Protocol. My vet wants me to increase Furball's Lantus from 1 unit to 1.5 units based on the curve I did this past Saturday. Since that curve seems to be during a bounce, I'm not sure this needs to be done. I need to decide for her AM dose tomorrow. Any advice is appreciated. I am signing off, but will look for replies in the morning before I give Furball her shot. Thanks.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Dosing Advice Needed b

Carla --

To my eyes, the difficulty is that there's not a clear way to know whether the curve was a bounce. Between the blue PMPS and the reduced dose, there's no way to know what happened during the PM cycle. That's why getting tests during the PM cycle is important -- especially if you can't test during the AM cycle. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

You can wait out the 72 hours. You can shoot 0.25u. Or, you can do what your vet recommended. It's your call.
 
Re: 03/27 Furball, AMPS=351, PMPS=386 Dosing Advice Needed b

hi carla,

sienne & i are talking about it - it's hard to know if it's a bounce or not. the numbers "read" in context, and the more complete the picture is, the easier it is to know what to recommend.

i think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle - the preshot numbers give us the frame, but without the mid-cycle numbers it's just really hard to know what the picture is.

overall her numbers look high. but we can't see what the nadirs are like except for last saturday and sunday. i know you're limited on when you can test, but a before you go to bed test would sure help us decipher the picture a little bit better.

i know that doesn't help you much for your morning decision - i guess i would think it wouldn't hurt to wait on the decision another day and try to get any other tests in addition to the preshot test that you can. do you think that's possible?

we just want to give you the best possible advice and the picture simply isn't clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top