03/26 Skipper: AMPS 406

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerb

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67159

Well, we're back to "normal" this morning after a crazy evening last night. I don't know what was going on with 4 straight readings in the 100s. I noticed no change in his behavior at all. He did vomit a little over night -- mostly liquid, and was very hungry this morning. I sprinkled a few pieces of dry food on top of his canned food because he just sat and stared at the dry food bag. I could hear his thoughts in his little head -- "Why do you keep forcing this wet mush on me? I'm not going to eat it! Give me the crunchy stuff in that bag!"

Also, I bought the ultrasensitive lancets and they are too sensitive to get through his ear, so I think I'm going to have to get just the "sensitive" ones. I feel bad poking and poking and poking until I get blood.

Thanks for the support yesterday. I was really blown away by the low numbers.
 
Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the pukus .. and hopefully the wet food grows on skipper .. thankfully mocha took to it right away .. Poking will get easier, it all does .. :YMHUG: have a great day!
 
Just had our weekly check in phone call with the specialist. She was very complimentary of the spreadsheet, so props again to whoever designed that! She said she would have increased his Lantus to 4 units twice a day until she saw yesterday's 100s, so we're sticking with the 3 units for now. She wants me to keep giving him the dry food so he can continue to gain weight. I said I'm trying to get him off of it, but will give him a little, but will feed canned for the majority of his food intake. Now if we can just get the vomiting under control, but he's been a vomiter his whole life, so I'm not all that worried about it.
 
hi beth,

those 100's you saw yesterday were moments of fabulousness! definitely not something to be afraid of. if you're following the Rand Roomp protocol (TR) the goal of that protocol is to get cat's BG into the normal range of 50-100, which allows the pancreas to heal and begin producing insulin on its own again.

i'm not sure why your vet wants you to continue with the dry. personally, i've never seen a diabetic cat go off of insulin when they were still eating dry food. newly diagnosed cats have an excellent chance of going off with a change to low carb canned and the proper insulin dose management, but i would be very surprised if skipper manages it while still eating dry.

just something for you to consider. maybe having him go off insulin isn't really your goal, and if that's the case, that's ok, but we would want to know so we don't give you inappropriate advice.

next time you see lower numbers, the best plan is to monitor to see where they are going. if you can't do that, you can always leave canned food out. the high bg's from the dry food will likely stay in his system at least a day.

edited to add - would you make a note in his ss on how much and when you give him dry food? that will help. some cats will have a higher BG with just a couple of pieces of crunchies.
 
Julie and Punkin: I have notes on how much dry food I'm giving him in the spreadsheet. I added columns on the right, and the info is in those columns.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top