03/26 Holy Smokes...Ella ate some wet food!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 03/26 Ella +8.5 (woke us up hungry) feed her?

Hi,
i am not an expert but personally what i would do is to give her canned food and hope that she allows you to continue to sleep. Part of the transition process.... :-D
 
Re: 03/26 Ella +8.5 (woke us up hungry) feed her?

Thanks world traveller! She doesn't touch wet. I gave her an 1/8 of her m/d dry. I recall not feeding +10 and above so that I won't be shooting into a food spike. Let's see if some nuggets will help her to settle.
 
Re: 03/26 Ella +8.5 (woke us up hungry) feed her?

I agree not to feed closer to the shooting time.
I was hoping that if she was very hungry she would consider eating wet food as well (a bit of "force feeding" what I did with Kitty also) ;-)

- mia
 
Re: 03/26 Ella +8.5 (woke us up hungry) feed her?

You probably want to post a question about this for future reference, wet food before +10 won't be affect your BG reading at shot time, I'm not so sure about dry food. The food spike for dry food can last an awful lot longer - one of the reasons you can't do TR on dry food. I'm not sure that the fact it is MD makes any difference.
 
Re: 03/26 Ella +8.5 (woke us up hungry) feed her?

Serryn's correct and I don't know the answer with dry food, either. Feeding late in the cycle will not help to flatten things out, though. If you feed past nadir, there's less insulin available to balance out the effect of the food. Chances are, you'll get a higher pre-shot number.
 
Re: 03/26 Ella AMPS 248

Thanks good to know. Even though I fed her a bit she still was dropping so I guess she would have been lower at ps. She was 248 at AMPS and seemed perky and happy. This morning was a bit different as I did the AMPS about 10 minutes after she ate because I had done a test just half an hour before. Hopefully she will have a somewhat comfortable day.

Tamara
 
Re: 03/26 Ella AMPS 248

Hi guys .. glad you got your questions answered .. I hope that ella also has a comfortable day and soon makes the switch over to wet food .. it's what all the cool cats are eating ;-) have a great day!
 
So low and behold my dear fuzzy friend ate close to a tablespoon of wet for a snack! I took Sienne's advice and put some of her dry in and she ate it! I had to let her lap some of it off my fingers and praise her A LOT but she put on a show!
It was the wellness chicken that she liked. I'm going to give her a bit for a snack everyday when I get home as I don't want her to get a belly ache. That happened once with some dry food and she flat out refused it after she got diahhrea!

SO my question is: how much wet food is the equivilanet of 1/8 dry food? That's the snack I usually give her when I get home. I def don't want to be feeding her more than she's supposed to be eating in a day. I also don't want to be giving her too much less as shes' getting 3 units!
I have to say that I'm a bit nervous with the switch as I'm not home to monitor her if she has low numbers. I have a hard enough time leaving the house when she's in the 100's range!
 
Whoooo Hooooo!!

If you can figure out the calories in each, that's probably the best way to determine equivalent portions. The calories for the canned food is on Janet & Binky's list or on the Wellness website. The same would be true for the dry. You may need a scale or you'll need to figure out what quantity of kibble you're giving (e.g., there are whatever # of calories in a 1/4 cup and there are however many teaspoons in a 1/4 cup and break down the numbers that way).
 
woot.gif
 
Will do.

So this is interesting. At +9 she was 427 and then had a tbsp of canned instead of her dry snack. Her PMPS is 349. She always goes up after her snack. Did her glucose levels lower due to the canned? Do I need to be very careful about this or is she still high enough not to be too concerned if she's just getting wet for a snack?
 
i wouldn't worry about it too much. dry food carbs seem to keep most cats high for at least a day.

is your next day off next weekend? if so, that might be the time to really work on the transition, maybe starting friday. when would the transition be best for you, in other words?
 
Thanks for all the Woots!!!

Yes the weekend is my next day off. I guess I have to figure out how I will be transitioning with the insulin and all. I may acutally wait until the Easter long weekend when I have four days off to really monitor. I'm a nervous nelly and don't have the option of working from home so I have to really feel confident when I leave in the morning.

So when she does transition, do I figure out the current calories she's getting on the dry and then match that with the wet?
I tried the regular wellness but is the core better?

Tamara
 
Hi Tamara and Ella and congrats to you, Ella, for trying wet food!

I think that Wellness Core is higher in carbs than regular Wellness, so I would stick with the regular if I were you. Wellness chicken has 220 calories in a 5 1/2 oz. can. So if you divide those calories by 5.5, you get--roughly--40 calories in an ounce. Divide the food in the can into 5 equal amounts and each will be approx. 1 ounce; then you can see if it is a Tablespoon, or whatever. I don't have a food scale, so I eyeball everything. Unfortunately I don't know how to measure the calories in dry food (it's been a long time since I fed any dry).

Good luck with the transition to wet food. You won't regret it!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for the tip Ella!

I was just looking at Janet and Binky's food list and I'm wondering how she figured out the amount of carbs in each can? I don't see carbs listed on the wellness site.
 
Legally, the food manufacturers don't have to tell what the carb content is, therefore you won't find it on the cans or on the websites. The carb content was determined by someone (Janet & Binky and others) who called the company and asked for the percentage of carbs "as fed". The percentages in Janet & Binky's list are "as fed". Wellness chicken is, I believe, 4% carbs. There is a complicated formula for figuring it out yourself, but that's too much math for me!!

Ella
 
Yeah for Ella!!! Racci did it that way in the beginning also, eating off my fingers at first and with the dry food next to it or on top of it. She also went down quite a bit right away. Congratulations Ella, you're becoming adventurous!

I eyeball the quantities also but buy the 12 oz can in the Wellness type she likes and find it harder with that one. What I've been doing is letting her eat what she will. I usually give 2-3 teaspoons of food and the rest water and she never finishes it. I don't know if that would work with Ella. (Some cats will eat whatever they're given, hungry or not).

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top