03/25 Panda AMPS 299 +3 257 +6 259 +9 239 PMPS 286, curve?

Pandapapa

Member Since 2024
Hi all,

My kitty panda was diagnosed almost 3 months ago and i have switched to human tester on Feb 22nd. The forum have been immensely helpful, (special thanks to Wendy and Diane)

I have been following TR (or trying to as much as i can), i feed Panda a very high quality raw food (kangaroo and salmon - which was the best for him before we knew what was wrong for him). So very low carb.

My concern/question: The last 5 weeks, i have gone from 1.5u to 3u but his curves and numbers seem exactly the same to me, doubling insulin, i would've expected lower numbers but they are generally looking the same.

On ketone testing?: I never tested for ketones but as numbers lower it's something i shouldl be doing, but looking at the numbers, is there any need to do ketone testing? Panda is doing so much better since insulin, he moves and acts differently, he seems in less pain. His water drinking and peeing is less (even though it's alot). I also notice whenever i increase his insulin, for couple days he will pee and drink excessively

I'm sure i just need to stay patient and continue testing, but at the same time i also wanted you all to take a look and see how we are doing and how he's responding.

Link to his SS: here
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
It never hurts to test for ketones, especially those days you are seeing some pinks. We have seen kitties show ketones in the 200's as well. And the bottle of Ketostix is pretty cheap insurance.

As for the numbers, it's helpful to remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you add a bit more and get an incremental improvement. You just have to keep increasing until you get closer to that fitting dose and see the numbers get better. I would also try to get a before bed test each and every night. A lot of cats go lower at night, so it's hard to tell if he's gong lower and bouncing, or just needs more insulin. He also saw a decent drop last night to +3, so could have gone lower after that.
 
Back
Top