? 03/23 LUNA AMPS 492

kenfalco

Member Since 2026
Hi, I switched to Lantus 12 days ago and increased it to 1 unit 3 days ago (today the fourth).
I'm experiencing strange behavior:
one injection of insulin works, the next doesn't, and glucose levels remain very high.(check the SpreadSheet)
Has this happened to anyone? Can be bouncing?
Thanks
Gabriele

P.S Tested yesterday ketones hey're negative.
 
Last edited:
Hello Gabriele,

Poor Luna, her numbers are borderline terrifying! It seems as if she did better at 0.5 than in 1U!
(In the ss I can't understand what the value "Glicemia ↓" stands for. Can you please explain it?)

I'm not in any case apt to give advice, but to have a more complete picture it will be helpful to mention if something changed (ex. medication), perhaps with what Luna's diet.
Also it will be helpful to add the link from your previous posts so the picture is even more complete :)
Here it is your previous one.
Also, if you change the title of your thread and add the blue ? everyone will know that you seeking advice and you will get an earlier reply.

I' ll tag some @Wendy&Neko, @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @tiffmaxee to see those numbers for you and I hope Luna will feel better very soon! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hello Gabriele,

Luna's ss is fascinating! It seems as if she did better at 0.5 than in 1U!
Also, in the ss I can't understand what the value "Glicemia ↓" stands for.
I'm not in any case apt to give advice, but to have a more complete picture it will be helpful to mention if something changed (ex. medication), perhaps with what Luna's diet.
Also it will be helpful to add the link from your previous posts so the picture is even more complete :)
Here it is your previous one.

I hope Luna will feel better very soon! :bighug:
Hello Glicemia ↓ is max-min delta difference
No, no nothing is changed
i wanna try soon a progressive change to food diabetic
 
Hi Gabriele! I'm sorry, I don't understand what you mean by "delta" (or "spizzicato" - I figured it was an Italian word, but Google Translate isn't helping me) in your spreadsheet. Can you explain?

It looks like you had what we call a "furshot" at the PM cycle, which happens to all of us sometimes, and probably explains why some of Luna's numbers were so high right afterwards. (We usually use "FS" in the dose column to indicate this, which will help others to quickly understand.) I'm not sure why her numbers have stayed rather high since, though it is a recent increase and because Lantus is a "depot" insulin which builds over time, it may be that she's still adjusting to the new dose. The dry food diet is also likely contributing.

Is Luna on any medication for her IBD?
 
Hi Gabriele! I'm sorry, I don't understand what you mean by "delta" (or "spizzicato" - I figured it was an Italian word, but Google Translate isn't helping me) in your spreadsheet. Can you explain?

It looks like you had what we call a "furshot" at the PM cycle, which happens to all of us sometimes, and probably explains why some of Luna's numbers were so high right afterwards. (We usually use "FS" in the dose column to indicate this, which will help others to quickly understand.) I'm not sure why her numbers have stayed rather high since, though it is a recent increase and because Lantus is a "depot" insulin which builds over time, it may be that she's still adjusting to the new dose. The dry food diet is also likely contributing.

Is Luna on any medication for her IBD?
Hello, Delta = Max-Min glycemia in the current day.
Yes he take:
Budesonide 1mg every day
Tilosina 30mg Alternate days
Amodip 1.2 for blood pressure, half a pill a day
i added medications to my SpreadSheet

P.S spizzica is an Italian work for Eat little and often
 
Ah, I see. I don't really know how to apply that - I've never studied statistics. Maybe someone else here will be able to take it into account for some advice/insight. (And thank you for translating spizzicia for me! A good word for an important behavior for diabetic cats.)

Thanks for adding meds to his spreadsheet! That's very helpful. (I keep my cat's in my signature as well to make them very easy to find) You probably already know this, but budesonide (like many steroids) can have an effect on blood glucose values; my cat recently started taking it and his BG jumped dramatically as a direct result. (It doesn't affect all cats that way, which is why my vets chose it for Gen, but unfortunately we weren't lucky with it that way.) There's a chance that's part of what is keeping Luna's numbers high; she may wind up requiring a higher dose to counteract its effects (although you don't want to rush with your increases; it's important to take your time and see how she responds incrementally, especially since she's on dry food and you're following SLGS). I'm not familiar with Tilosina or Amodip so I'm not sure how they might contribute.

I just realized that you said Luna "switched" to Lantus - was she on a different insulin before? Which one?

I'm going to add @Marje and Gracie to the list of folks we're tagging. Our most experienced users have busy lives (as we all do) and some of them haven't been around much lately - I hope one of them might be able to swing by to offer you some advice.

From what I'm seeing--and I'm relatively new to this, so please don't just take my word for anything--Luna's doing okay for a cat who is just starting on Lantus, especially considering that she's on a med we know affects BG. I know it's hard when their numbers are high, but I think right now the best thing to do is be patient, keep holding the current dose and monitoring, and see how she continues to respond. Also, you said you're hoping to transition her diet - I would highly recommend trying to move her to a low-carb wet food, if you can find one that is appropriate for her. It made a huge difference for my cat when I weaned him off dry food, though I know that isn't necessarily possible for every cat.
 
P.S Luna is very thin and has the freestyle sensor + protective bandage and I can only give insulin injections on the scruff of the neck.
The vet told me to try doing them on the sides of the back but I tried and I didn't find enough skin.
1774282271755.png
 
Gabriele

Because Luna is still eating dry food, then you will need to follow the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) method of regulation. If you are able to slowly wean her off the dry food to just canned, you can then attempt tight regulation, if you wish.

Under SLGS, you will hold the 1u dose for a full week and then reassess and determine if the dose needs to be increased. If, any time during the week, the BG falls below 90, please reduce by 0.25u. Normally, members would do a 12-hour. curve, testing every two hours and then use that to determine the next dose but since you have a CGM on Luna, you have real-time data over the entire week to determine the best course of action regarding dose.

Whether the dose is increased or maintained is determined by the nadirs.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
Yes, it does look like she’s bouncing and her patterns are not unusual.

Having been here for 16 years, I don’t see the advantage in having the “delta” columns on the spreadsheet. It’s data you don’t need and just clutters the SS. We don’t use “delta” to make any determinations on dosing. Having said that, it is your SS for her and if you want it there, it’s ok. But it’s not really useful data.

I’m assuming she’s on a renal diet because she has chronic kidney disease (CKD)? I also have a cat with CKD and, like diabetes, a dry diet is really the worst for them. Of course, there is the old saying about feeding the cat “what it will eat” and it can be hard to transition CKD cats as they are notoriously picky eaters. But, it would be better for Luna all around if you can find a low-phosphorus, low carb canned food she can slowly be switched to.
 
Last edited:
P.S Luna is very thin and has the freestyle sensor + protective bandage and I can only give insulin injections on the scruff of the neck.
The vet told me to try doing them on the sides of the back but I tried and I didn't find enough skin.
View attachment 77512
As long as you are moving the injections around each time, it’s ok.

Also meant to tell you if she does have CKD, it’s important to increase her calories. My boy is in Stage 3 and has been for some time but he not lost any weight or muscle mass because I upped his calories. I do have to give him MiraTaz appetite stimulant.
 
As long as you are moving the injections around each time, it’s ok.

Also meant to tell you if she does have CKD, it’s important to increase her calories. My boy is in Stage 3 and has been for some time but he not lost any weight or muscle mass because I upped his calories. I do have to give him MiraTaz appetite stimulant.
He have ibd.
Even this night 1 unit +4 almost and no effect… i dont undestand 🤦‍♂️🥲
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4500.png
    IMG_4500.png
    136.6 KB · Views: 14
Back
Top