03/23 J.D. PMPS 244, +4.25 251 FPS group answer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
333 PMPS
233 +9.5

J.D. did lay on me and purr when we went to bed, last night :-D and then later he slept in his big doggy bed and Ginger slept in her little kitty bed, so we all slept separately. Today, he seems fine. He has eaten his 1st Breffis. I gave him his Ondansteron this morning, and will give him the bit of cypro, and tonight I am thinking of stopping the meds.

I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319

He has a definite pancreatitis diagnosis. This is very painful and nauseating. Why would you stop the medications?
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319

Hi guys .. what a sweet report .. of course, I just think it's to adorable when your kitties sleep together, but I suppose every now and then one needs their own space :-D have a great weekend!
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319

Dyana --

Do you know how long these bouts last? I know I'd be torn about whether to hold or stop the meds, too. You might want to give J.D. at least another day to make sure he keeps eating and he's fully back to normal.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319

Karrie and Maverick said:
He has a definite pancreatitis diagnosis. This is very painful and nauseating. Why would you stop the medications?
Because I don't know what I'm doing. He seems to be better. I don't know or can't tell if he's in pain. I'll try to join the feline pancreatitis support group tonight. You wouldn't happen to have the link would you?
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319

I am not sure that I would be in a big hurry to discontinue the meds. If he is doing well, you could start by tapering them off slowly to see how he does. For instance, if you are giving 1/2 tablet Ondansetron twice daily, try going to 1/4 tablet twice daily, then 1/4 tablet once daily, etc. I would do the same thing with the Bupe. I wouldn't stop everything cold turkey at once. It has only been a few days, I think, since he became ill? You don't know if he looks better right now because his underlying condition has been resolved, or if the meds are making him feel better.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319, +1.5 409, PMPS 244

Thanks Linda and Karrie for helping me. I really really appreciate it. I will look at the link in a few minutes.

Right now, the cats just went outside and I have to go join them. One thing that J.D. hasn't done lately, is really follow me around outside, nor has he really enjoyed himself by trotting around, so that is one of my gauges or how he feels. But, then again the cypro (given during the day) or the bupe (given at night) could be making him lethargic, too. It's so hard to tell.

I will let you know what I find out.

By the way, his worst day was Sunday, so it has been 6 days.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 319, +1.5 409, PMPS 244

i have no experience with this, but you know i just want to say how glad i am that he's improving!
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. PMPS 244

We had a nice long walk outside, and J.D. actually followed me, but did not trot. Well, he took a couple or three half trotting steps. He just ate his 2nd Dinner, and I went ahead and gave him the Ondansetron. I posted to the FPS group and am waiting for my message to be approved.
I guess I just thought, since tomorrow is my only day off, that I could watch him and see how he does without the meds.
But, he is not 100% yet, only like 85% better, so I'll wait.
 
This is about his onset time, but it is also bed time, so I'll set an alarm just because I did increase his dose tonight.

Linda and Bear Man said:
I am not sure that I would be in a big hurry to discontinue the meds. If he is doing well, you could start by tapering them off slowly to see how he does. For instance, if you are giving 1/2 tablet Ondansetron twice daily, try going to 1/4 tablet twice daily, then 1/4 tablet once daily, etc. I would do the same thing with the Bupe. I wouldn't stop everything cold turkey at once. It has only been a few days, I think, since he became ill? You don't know if he looks better right now because his underlying condition has been resolved, or if the meds are making him feel better.
They said pretty much exactly what you said Linda. That if he is better, that is a really fast recovery, and that the meds might just be making him feel better, and that I should probably continue the meds for awhile. Something about some cats need it for months. They also said (like you said) when I start to wean him off the drugs to try 1/4 tablet of the Ondansetron twice daily, and then 1/4 tablet once daily.

And they said that the 0.05cc of bupe I have been giving him is a teeny dose.

They also said that the cyproheptadine can cause droziness. That's what I was afraid of. Especially mixed with the Bupe wooziness and wobbilyness.

So, I gave him the 1/2 tablet of Ondansetron and the 0.05cc of Bupe tonight and will lay off the appetite stimulant tomorrow and see how he eats and feels without that, first. Then, if he eats fine, and seems to be doing a little better each day, I will start to reduce the Ondansetron.

I asked them about the bupe continuation, but got no response about that.

The hard part for me is going to be calling the vet and saying I WANT a refill on the drugs I ordered. I just feel like they think I was TELLING THEM what to do, and not like their "normal" clients who do what THEY SAY to do. But, I only have 5 1/2 tablets on Ondansetron left and maybe it will be easier now that the test result is back.

Oh well. beddy time. Ni~Ni and thanks again for your help and support.
 
Dyana,

I am so glad J.D. is acting better and altho I'm not a med expert or a pancreatitis expert I do agree w/what Linda, Karrie & Sienne have said. It is probably the meds making him feel better and all I can say is that if it were my cat I would not stop them just yet. I hate giving my cats meds too but sometimes you just have to, like when Tawny was so sick I hated putting all that stuff in her but she got better b/c I did. & I did it longer than I wanted to but I did what they said. Mostly. That's not to say the vets know all b/c they told me to give her mirtazapine w/her feeding tube & Karrie & the yahoo assisted feeding group she put me onto & several others here all said DO NOT give a cat w/a feeding tube an appetite stimulant b/c it can cause food aversion. So of course I pulled her off it immediately (the mirtz, not the tube!).

So of course it's really good you post here too to get so many expert opinions, especially when your vets are acting like stubborn sheep herders, but honestly again if it were my cat unless someone here pointed out a serious issue like the one w/Tawny mentioned above I would keep giving the meds for a little while longer.

Re the Ondansetron, I PM'd you.

Desi
 
Dyana said:
The hard part for me is going to be calling the vet and saying I WANT a refill on the drugs I ordered. I just feel like they think I was TELLING THEM what to do, and not like their "normal" clients who do what THEY SAY to do. But, I only have 5 1/2 tablets on Ondansetron left and maybe it will be easier now that the test result is back.

Just remember who's paying who - they work for you! They are providing a service and anyone providing a service should be providing the service their customer wants unless it is unreasonable to do so. I would tell them exactly that if you need to.
 
i've felt like that a bit with my new vet. i think she knows her stuff, but so far i've just told her what i'd like and she's given it to me.

the internet has made it possible for ordinary people to become educated in areas that used to be restricted to professionals who had access to their specific reference materials. now anyone can search out and find info. it's a new world and the old way of being deferential to professionals needs to change with it. now people want to become partners. just think of yourself as leading the culture change! :-D
 
Just sending white light and healing vines. No advice, just a few of these :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Well, maybe a little advice for the Vet. When they gave me a hard time a few weeks ago, I noticed that when I changed my tone, and words, they reacted differently… I asked if I could have Daphne's records, their answer was, "no, not till the office manager comes in at 3PM". (I had the travel vet coming to my house at 2PM, so I needed them now!). So I changed my tone and said, "I paid for those tests, and I will' be in, in 20 min. to pick them up." Their answer was, "OK". That worked!! :lol:
 
If you get the script you can order 30 pills from thrivingpets.com for $30. I don't know how much or how fast shipping is though. Call Costco for their price also.

Good luck cutting out the appetite stimulant today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top