03/23 J.D. AMPS 498, +7 330, PMPS 367 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

J.D. slept right up next to my side last night for half the night. So, much up next to me that I was afraid I was laying on him. His ears seemed really hot when I got up at +20 (2:00am), and tested him at 452. He didn't want to eat anything, and I thought I was going to call out from work today. At +21 (3:00am) I laid down on the couch and J.D. laid by my head for awhile and then went to his bed by the window. At +23 (5:00am) I woke up to hear him scraping the kitty bowls with his tongue. I wasn't sure if I was dreaming. At +23.5 (5:30am) I gave him some canned FF with my fingers and he ate it, so I put a little bit in a bowl and he ate it. So, at +23.66 (5:30am) I gave him his insulin and fed him some more and he ate it. If he keeps this down, I will go to work, and ask (this is EXTREMELY rare) to come home to check on him mid-day. Lovely snowy weather we're having, too.

He is still walking funny. Back is rounded. But, he's drinking water. I haven't seen him groom himself, yet.
Once he gets enough water in him, I hope to get a ketone test.

I am going to bring the litter boxes upstairs and close he door to the basement, while I'm at work. That always pisses him off, but I'd feel better if he was confined to one floor while I'm gone.

So, rambling again. Still very tired, but hoping, fingers and paws crossed, he feels better and better.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Morning Dyana,

Sounds like he is still having a problem (rounded back), may indicate a bit of tummy/bowel pain. The fact he is eating and drinking on his own is very good though. This may take a few days to clear up if it is a salmonella or staph infection from food. The only way to know for sure is for the vet to culture a stool sample. Otherwise treatment is just supportive.

I would go easy on the reintroduction of food as the intestinal tract needs to rest.

And yes, I would plan a trip home at least at lunch-time. If he didn't leave you any LB misses and no more vomiting he is probably through the worst of it.

(((((((((((((((((((Dyana and J.D.))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Blue said:
Morning Dyana,

Sounds like he is still having a problem (rounded back), may indicate a bit of tummy/bowel pain. The fact he is eating and drinking on his own is very good though. This may take a few days to clear up if it is a salmonella or staph infection from food. The only way to know for sure is for the vet to culture a stool sample. Otherwise treatment is just supportive.

I would go easy on the reintroduction of food as the intestinal tract needs to rest.

And yes, I would plan a trip home at least at lunch-time. If he didn't leave you any LB misses and no more vomiting he is probably through the worst of it.

(((((((((((((((((((Dyana and J.D.))))))))))))))))

There was esentially no food in his stomach after last night. I think he finally got it all out.
So, you think I should drop off a stool sample? I have a little driplet of dried diarreah from last night on a plastic bag. You think that would do?

Ketones - Negative!
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

If it is already dried I don't think they can culture anything from it. And if he is feeling better there isn't much to do except wait it out. If I am not mistaken your vet gave you medication that helps treat for a bacterial infection in the gut...so as long as there is improvement I'd roll with it.

Has he been to the box since last night?

Yes, there may be no more fuds in the tummy, but the inflammation caused by the infection is still present and potentially some of the bacteria. If J.D. hasn't been to the box and is not straining at the box...he is probably through the worst of it.

Any new food though could be subject to the bodies "cleaning" action.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

what a night you guys have had! ((hug))

fingers and paws crossed that JD is back to his usual self in no time. Hang in there!
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

He sat down (in the litter) in the litter box for about a half hour around 2:00am this morning.
He peed in the box. No straining for poos, though. I just want him to eat, and keep it in, so he can have his insulin without me following him everywhere with a bottle of karo in my hand KWIM?
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

I would be tempted to give him half his normal dose or at least a token dose. You said he is eating. If he is hungry yes feed him, but not all at once. Try to not let him scarf.

Most digestive upset protocols say to withdraw food for 12-24 hours. You are nearly at the 12 hour mark. So trying some food should give you a decent gauge where he is at. Do you have some plain yogurt to help reestablish some good bacteria too.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Blue said:
I would be tempted to give him half his normal dose or at least a token dose. You said he is eating. If he is hungry yes feed him, but not all at once. Try to not let him scarf.

Most digestive upset protocols say to withdraw food for 12-24 hours. You are nearly at the 12 hour mark. So trying some food should give you a decent gauge where he is at. Do you have some plain yogurt to help reestablish some good bacteria too.

I gave him his whole dose F1.00 at +23.66, because he was 498. I hope that's okay.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Dyana said:
I gave him his whole dose F1.00 at +23.66, because he was 498. I hope that's okay.


Probably just fine. I was being overly cautious as I don't like to give dose advice too often.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

First condo I'm checking in on today. Glad he's eating that must be a relief.

What did the vet prescribe? I thought it was an anti diahrea medicine or anti gas I can't recall.

Sending hugs.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Oh my .. I did not know what was going on last night .. boy, that must have been scary .. poor little J.D. not feeling well .. I'm glad he is eating a little for you today and drinking water ... poor guy .. Get better soon J.D.!!!!
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Hi Dyana, I hope J.D. will continue to improve today. Don't be worried if he isn't 100% right away! These things take time. Do give him some plain Greek yogurt with active cultures (if he will eat it). This will counter the antibiothcs and help get the "good" bacteria in his digestive system working.
Hope you can get in a nap today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

Hi Dyana-

Glad to see J.D. is doing a little better today. It's so hard when they're feeling so crummy!

I just noticed that you're in Hunterdon County. We're neighbors...I'm in Mercer!

I hope J.D. continues to improve today...it sounds like he's on the mend.

Amy
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498

sending more healing vines JD's way...and hoping you get a chance to rest soon.

lack of sleep is bad enough, but lack of sleep compounded by the stress of worrying is brutal...
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498, +7 330

No throw up or diareha present. He didn't eat anything while I've been gone, but ate 4 freeze dried salmon treats.
I put the bowl of very watered down FF in front of his nose and he ate quite a bit. So, much that I had to take it away to slow him down.

Back to tbp.. I hope he feels even better tonight. Finger crossed.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498, +7 330

Good to read J. D. is feeling better. Indeed...no desire for a scarf and barf....

C'mon J. D. feel better soon.
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498, +7 330

So glad that ketones were negitive and that JD is eating and drinking again. I know how concerned you are...Spot goes through periods where he doesn't want to eat and just lays around looking all sick, as a matter of fact, he just did that a few weeks ago. It's like a 24 hour bug that he gets. He is usually better the beginning of the second day. Hopefully that is what's wrong w/JD, just a little tummy bug, maybe caused by to much shrimp. I hope that things are better when you get home from tbp for good.
No snow here, we gots lots of sunshine. HOWEVER, they are calling for snow, I believe tomorrow...damn!!!

I hopez you feel bedder JD, my frienz. I know your tummy must wreally feel yucksie if you don't feel like eatin! Your frienz and lubs, Spot
 
Re: 03/23 J.D. AMPS 498, +7 330, PMPS 367

I gave J.D. 1/4 tablet of Pepcid AC in a pill pocket (which he loved) at PMPS and he ate all his 1st dinner (1/8 can of Sophisticat). And then, I think, out of the corner of my eye, I think I saw him groom a little.

Question: What is the order of things?
First Pepcid AC
and then in one half hour, his meds. (ALBON)
and then in about 2 hours, FortiFlora
is that how it goes? Sorry, I'm still very tired from one too many sleep deprived nights.
 
Oh, and I talked to J.D.'s regular vet this morning. I felt like he kind of chewed me out for letting him go so low. He thinks the throwing up and diareha are from going too low yesterday, while I was at work. I must have mentioned something to him about the 39 the night before. He said something like "I've never had luck with that 'once a day human insulin'. I had one other patient using it without success. I would recommend PZI in a U40 something. I've told you that before. You're something about skating close to the edge. I can't help you when you use that 'once a day human insulin'".
So, I guess he was a little mad at me.
 
Dyana-

I just PMed you, but I don't know if it went (it's sitting in my "outbox" rather than my "sent" folder)- I've never sent a PM before. Let me know if you don't get it...

Amy
 
I think I missed something; I don't understand why vet is so upset - you're twice-a-day, not once a day?

Sorry vet's giving you such a hard time :sad:

so happy to hear JD's feeling better after last night's fiasco. Hope you're able to get in some nice Zzzz's tonight :smile:
 
Well, I gave him the Pepcid at PMPS, and the ALBON stuff at +1.5. I think he went to bed, but will give him the FortiFlora with another meal, later tonight.

Man, that ALBON stuff is SWEET! I wonder how many carbs are in 3mls.
 
Sorry your vet did that Dyana. I found another vet after the one chewed me out. I felt like a scolded child and I still flinch thinking about it. Don't internalize it. You know more about FD than he does. Be confident in that. Hugs.
 
Dyana: I'm sorry you all have had such a tough day and I hope JD will fee better tomorrow. Just gotta shrug off the vet's comments....you know better than he does and you know you aren't skating on the edge. Yes...the albon is kind of butterscotch flavored...we had to give it to Tobey and he couldn't wait each day!!! Healing vines for JD.
 
Fingers crossed that J.D. keeps everything where it's supposed to be. I probably would have given the Pepsid like you did (30 min. before food), then given a meal with the FortiFlora and then the AB 1-1/2 hr to 2 hrs later if that was feasible. I'm not sure that it matters. I think it's personal preference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top