03/23/23 MISSY's 4th day on insulin: AMPS 220 / 158@ +3 / 143@ +6

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 218 / 208@ +3 / 187@ +6 / 224@ +9 / PMPS 198 / 206@ +3 / 186@ +5.5
Looks like Missy is already benefiting from the initial .75u starting insulin dose.
When I see her numbers going up rather then down after a shot it makes me think It's a fur shot but guess not?! Not used to such a tiny insulin amount vs 11u+ I was giving my Micio for awhile...
Still working on building a different bond with Missy: she's been a very good girl, with both testing and the shots...she'll growls a bit to communicate her discontent but she's also learned that I'm not hurting her and neither I'm backing off on this one and she's slowly accepting it......still, her umpredictability gives me the sweats
What do you all think of her numbers so far?
 
Last edited:
Nice to see blue nadirs with the depot not even full. :cool:

I'm a bit confused about when to increase the dose...in Missy's case, do I hold initial dose for 6-10 consecutive cycles or 8-10? Not quite sure I'm understanding correctly the "General Guidlines/ Increasing the dose" paragraphs...Thanks
 
Still working on building a different bond with Missy: she's been a very good girl, with both testing and the shots...she'll growls a bit to communicate her discontent but she's also learned that I'm not hurting her and neither I'm backing off on this one and she's slowly accepting it......still, her umpredictability gives me the sweats


I can relate to how every cat is different, and handles their treatment differently.

My last sugar cat had several comorbidities, and was used to Vet visits, pokes, medications, etc. He even sought me out for BG tests, and would graciously let me stick him as required.

Sly, my current sugar boy is definitely not used to so much medical attention, so it has been a learning experience for both of us. I've had him since he was a kitten, and always shared a certain bond, but I think this journey can only bring us closer. I hope the same for you and Missy :bighug:
 
When following TR, you hold the initial dose 5-7 days. Ask again after 5 days and we can see if it is time to increase. Unless of course she goes low before then. She is gradually taking it down. Nice start on insulin. :)
 
When following TR, you hold the initial dose 5-7 days. Ask again after 5 days and we can see if it is time to increase. Unless of course she goes low before then. She is gradually taking it down. Nice start on insulin. :)
Thanks, will do that...what I don't quite understand is why her numbers sometimes go higher rather then lower after insulin, like at +3 ?! It makes me think I did a fur shot but I don't really smell insulin on her scruff
 
Back
Top