03/22 Shadow PMPS 580 +3 383 +4 381 +5 355

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
He's the same as he was yesterday morning. How long until I can expect a dose increase or more of a BG drop?

Good morning :smile:
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542

Hi Brad,

I think it was mentioned in your condo yesterday, that you could have gone up to 1.5 units with this morning's dose.
julie & punkin said:
hi brad!

the consensus is that with these high numbers, in your particular case today, it's fine to shoot at +10 tonight. so assuming that he's still over 300 at +10, go ahead and shoot 2 hours early.

would you get a pm +4 tonight and post it for us to look at as well?

if he's still high (over 300) in the morning, we're thinking it would be a good idea to increase the dose to 1.5units for tomorrow morning's dose.

i just want to make sure you understand that this isn't following the normal protocol. we had you drop his dose significantly (from 7u to 1u) to start him on lev, cut out his dry food at the same time, and his numbers are high enough today that we think it's safe.

ordinarily, lantus and lev both do best with the shots being 12 hrs apart. so this advice is specific to today's situation and not a guideline for future shots.

how does that sound to you?

have you gotten a ketone test yet?

also, what is his "whole cat report" or WCR? how is he other than numbers? is he playing, preening (grooming), pooping, peeing, purring? is he eating ok? those behaviors tell us a lot about how Shadow is feeling and they help guide decisions.
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542

Dyana said:
Hi Brad,

I think it was mentioned in your condo yesterday, that you could have gone up to 1.5 units with this morning's dose.
julie & punkin said:
hi brad!

the consensus is that with these high numbers, in your particular case today, it's fine to shoot at +10 tonight. so assuming that he's still over 300 at +10, go ahead and shoot 2 hours early.

would you get a pm +4 tonight and post it for us to look at as well?

if he's still high (over 300) in the morning, we're thinking it would be a good idea to increase the dose to 1.5units for tomorrow morning's dose.

i just want to make sure you understand that this isn't following the normal protocol. we had you drop his dose significantly (from 7u to 1u) to start him on lev, cut out his dry food at the same time, and his numbers are high enough today that we think it's safe.

ordinarily, lantus and lev both do best with the shots being 12 hrs apart. so this advice is specific to today's situation and not a guideline for future shots.

how does that sound to you?

have you gotten a ketone test yet?

also, what is his "whole cat report" or WCR? how is he other than numbers? is he playing, preening (grooming), pooping, peeing, purring? is he eating ok? those behaviors tell us a lot about how Shadow is feeling and they help guide decisions.
Oh no! I must have missed that part. I gave him 1unit. Should I give him 1.5 tonight?
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542 +4 371 +6 380

One of the things we do here in Lantus Land, is we copy the link to yesterday's thread and paste it into the first post of our new thread for today, using the URL button. When ever I do that, it forces me to look at and read any posts I may have missed from the day before. You'll get used to it.

Best Of Luck with the new dose. :-D
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542 +4 371 +6 380

Dyana said:
One of the things we do here in Lantus Land, is we copy the link to yesterday's thread and paste it into the first post of our new thread for today, using the URL button. When ever I do that, it forces me to look at and read any posts I may have missed from the day before. You'll get used to it.

Best Of Luck with the new dose. :-D
I will start doing that tomorrow. I did notice others do that so I will start. Thanks for the tip.

His numbers seem to be consistent today. I think with the dose increase it will be even better!
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542 +4 371 +6 380 +8 386

This is my first time stopping by and wanted to say, "Welcome."

Good luck with the dose increase tonight.
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542 +4 371 +6 380 +8 386

Sienne and Gabby said:
This is my first time stopping by and wanted to say, "Welcome."

Good luck with the dose increase tonight.
Thanks for the welcome and good luck! I think I'll need it.

Just tested him at +10 and he's 456.

I won't be around tomorrow to test him because I have to go out of town, should I still increase his dose?
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow AMPS 542 +4 371 +6 380 +8 386 +10 456

i think i would go ahead with the increase. we don't want him sitting up in 500/400/high 300's any longer than necessary. increase him tonight, get mid-cycle tests as you can, and when you leave tomorrow make sure and leave some low carb food so he can get to it if he's hungry. many cats will feed themselves if their blood sugar gets lower.

if your budget allows getting a timed feeder, that is really helpful. then you can set the timer so that food becomes available to him spaced out while you're gone. http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Electronic-Pet-Feeder/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 you can get one at Petco if there's one by you, or you can buy them online. one of the criticisms in the reviews is that they sometimes open only partway - i've had that happen once and realized it wasn't put back on its base correctly. now i always do a trial "move ahead one compartment" after i put it back together to make sure that i've got it seated right.

another option is to mix a can of his regular food with water and freeze it. some people use ice cube trays, some freeze in ziplock bags. if you leave it out in the morning, the idea is that it will thaw and he will eat it over the course of the day.

hopefully the dose adjustment is small enough that we're just going to see him settle down into another lower range. whenever you're going to be gone for a while, it's good to get a just-before-you-leave test and another one as soon as you walk in the door.
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow PMPS 580

Sorry the board went down before I could update my thread. I gave him his shot on time and tested him on time as well. He was 580 tonight :-x

I will be up most of the night so I will definitely get +4 and +6, should i get more than that? I could get hourly if that would be beneficial.

I can have my mom feed him tomorrow but I wouldn't want to put the testing on her. but the electronic feeder looks pretty cool, I will pick one up tomorrow.

Thanks for the tips! Learn something new every day on here. Hopefully he tests lower tonight, that would be good. I want to see some 200s!
 
Re: 03/22 Shadow PMPS 580

Brad , checking back in to see how its going. Glad you found levemir.... a few random thoughts- sorry if they are repetitive.
The timed feeder is very helpful.
and the advice about making sure the bowl is "seated" ; and doing a "manual" advance to be sure its turning correctly are exactly what I did also.
I also cut out and taped the directions onto the base, because at first the directions are confusing, until you've reset the timer a half dozen times and remember what button does what, lol
I used my feeder to encourage larger meals near the mid cycle and smaller meals near the preshots. thinking it might help level off the curve a bit.
I set it to go off every night and whenever I'm not home. Beware, it is loud when it turns!

For Cody, his Lev onset is about +3 or 4; and his nadir is around +7, but is slow and gradual which really helps kitty feel better. Our highest numbers are between +2 and +3.
Dont forget about the meter variance. 20% of 400 is 80 points. Retest numbers you think are whacko, because they might be. and don't put to much faith in small changes in number. If you tested 5 x in a row, for example you would see a 10% variance for sure. Meters are awesome, but not flawless.

I'll check back next week- I'll bet you are an old pro by then! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top