03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 He ate Evo!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

03/21
111 PMPS (fed)
148 +2 (fed)
63 +5
51 +5.5
39 +6 (fed)
46 +6.5 (fed MC)
49 +7 (fed MC)
51 +7.5 (fed MC)
67 +8
87 +9
248 +11.5

I am so tired.

J.D. feels like he weighs a lot more this morning. All that eating...I think those MC meals were actually larger than his normal meals... and he got at least 8 large shrimp, yesterday.

I decided to start the dosecrease tonight instead of this morning, because he rose 70 points between +11.5 and AMPS.

Hopefully his liver will calm down, and he will give me a nice PMPS number.

I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318

Good Morning Dyana....

Here let me pour you ~O) ~O) ~O) .

Well there J.D. you kept your momma bean busy last night. Course, you all get to go btb while the bean has to go to tbp.

Try and have a great day. Maybe there is a 20-minute power nap in the schedule today?
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318

wow! quite the evening for JD! maybe a nap in the car over lunch today? (hmmm....that does sound good.....) i'm sure he'll clear this bounce soon & be nack to greens in no time!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318

Wow J.D. you stayed late at that party last night! Now let your bean rest ;-)

Have a wonderful and restful day.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318

:o WOW J.D.!!!!! What a night you had!!!
(((((Dyana))))) Do you have to work today? I don't know HOW you do it!! GREAT job with all those tests last night though....good luck with the dosecrease tonight...I hope you are having an okay day....maybe a nice sleep tonight?
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318

Good morning guys ... look at J.D. last night! :RAHCAT I hope that this is as high as J.D. goes today and he comes down to those greens again! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

I came home to my house stinking like crazy. I just gave J.D. a butt wash because his fur back there was filthy. Ginger couldn't wait to get out of the house. There are large throw up spots and lots of little diarrhea spots all over the house (and it's all carpeted. J.D. just went a big pile of wel loose stuff in front of me.
Should I take him to the ER? I tested PMPS at 133 and he didn't want the treat after, so I am afraid to shoot anything.
Help me please.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

(((Dyana))) better to go for peace of mind.. I wish I had more solid advice.. thinking of you two though & hoping JD feels better soon!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

I gave him 1/4 tablet of Pepsid AC. He went down to his litter box and tried to get some more out. It just looks like soft brown poo, but man does it stink! I fed Ginger and J.D. isn't really interested in eating. He just went downstairs to the LB again. He's trying to poo some more. Poor baby. I hope he feels better soon. This is probably all my fault.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

I would be tempted to go to the ER if it were my kitty. Sudden onset of profuse vomiting and diarrhea and inappetance is worrisome, especially as he is still going to the litter box and trying to pass more stool. With a lot of vomiting and diarrhea, he can become dehydrated quite quickly. You can check his hydration by taking a pinch of skin on his scruff and twisting it 90 degrees. If it is slow to snap back, he is dehydrated.

I don't know if he is reacting to the shellfish. It could be pancreatitis or an ingested foreign body. The vet can X-ray, give fluids, and medication for the nausea and vomiting. If you prefer, you could watch him for a few more hours, but if he vomits again, I would go in.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

We can only do what we see is best thing to do in the moment. No need to lay fault anywheres, you're doin fabulous :smile:

Using the LB instead of the carpet sounds like a solid step in the right direction. Also, 'soft' vs earlier 'puddle' sounds good too!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

Bad Shrimp?

Which would make me tend to see the vet....
Symptoms of Food Poisoning

There are several symptoms of food poisoning. Since many of these symptoms can also indicate other problems, food poisoning is difficult to diagnose. If the problem is severe or persists longer than a few hours, visit your veterinarian.

Symptoms of food poisoning can include any appetite change such as over- or under-eating or drinking, vomiting, diarrhea (often bloody), coughing, excessive saliva production, abdomen pain and panting. Behavior changes can include lethargy or over-activity such as pacing or increased anxiety. Skin rashes can also be a sign of food poisoning, much like an allergic reaction. In extreme cases, your cats may suffer from seizures or shock, but this is usually a result of poisoning from a toxin, not food.
Treatment of Poisoning

If possible, obtain a source of the poisoning or keep a sample of the vomit or diarrhea for your veterinarian. Do not induce vomiting unless expressly instructed by your veterinarian or a poison control hotline.

If the symptoms are only mild, give your cat only water for several hours and then follow up with a bland diet such as rice and cottage cheese to settle his stomach. If the symptoms persist, give your veterinarian a call.

If your cat has a rash, wash him off with a light shampoo or soap and lukewarm water. If this problem occurs after eating a certain brand of food, try changing the type of protein or brand of food to see if the problem diminishes.

Read more: http://www.vetinfo.com/cat-food-poisoning-symptoms.html
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

i wonder about a reaction to the shellfish too? has he had them before? very regularly? in other words, if he gets them very often, i wouldn't think he'd be reacting to them but if he hasn't had them before or not for a long time, maybe he is?

if he's reacting to them, it could be a badly aggravated intestinal tract?? what i'm thinking of is recently when my Yoda was going to the box frequently (every 10-20 seconds i'd say) and producing very little runny poo. even making herself vomit trying to go. my first thought was blockage so off to the vet we went and turns out she was far from blocked, pretty empty actually, but her GI tract was "aggravated". i'd have to look at my book at home to see what they gave her exactly but she was diagnosed with colitis and given a cocktail of drugs to settle her GI tract. we were also told to avoid beef & fish if possible and stick with bland and so far she hasn't had another flare up. oh, fwiw, she wouldn't eat at the time either. she'd go to her plate and smell the food but wouldn't eat so i had to syringe feed her for a few days while she took her meds to get over it.

for that matter, if he's never had them, maybe call the vet and tell them he had how many and of what and see if there's any concern about it?
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

((hug)) sending thoughts, prayers, vines, you name it for things to go well at the vet and for answers and a treatment plan soon!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

((((((((((((((((((((Jd))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
(((((((((((((((((((((((Dyana))))))))))))))))))))))))))
Im soooo glad you took him in. You take such good care of him. Thinking of you guys tonight and hoping it is something simple.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

Sending good thoughts for you and J.D. and now waiting to hear how he's doing.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

Oh, my poor JD!!! Dyana, I hope that the vet can help your boy out and that it's nothing much to worry about. Will be looking for an update. ((((Dyana and JD)))).
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

A big bouquet of healing vines covered with snowflakes for J.D. tonight. Feel better, kitty!

I'm very glad you took him to the vet, Dyana.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

waiting with all paws crossed here. just sounds as though too many shrimp and the MC food. that was more than he was used to and it was like a food change. everything was upset.
hoping that is all it is.staying up til we hear from you
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 HELP Please

((((Dyana)))) I'm glad you took J.D. to the vet. Update when you can. Hoping everything is ok.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back

I only took him to our country vet, not the ER. I remembered that he was open until 7:00pm, at 6:45pm and called and they said if I got him there by 7, I was "in the door" and they would see him.
Dr. R isn't as good as the ER, but he could take his vitals and see if he was dehydrated or had a temp.
Dr. R right away thought it could be his kidneys, so took a blood sample and did a BUN test. The results were "he is between 30 and 40 and is only slightly elevated" which he normally is. His temp. was 101 and he wasn't dehydrated suprisingly. He gave him some Albon (sulfadimethoxine) and told me to give him 3ml once a day.
J.D. walked home from my car (which is normal) and looks better, but he is hungry, and he went to his bowl, licked for a second and then started licking his lips, and didn't eat. He then went to Ginger's bowl, but it was empty. He keeps going to the top of the steps that lead down to the litter boxes.
He was 133 when I got home from work at +12 and 240 when we were at the vet. It is now +15, so I am not shooting, especially with him not being able to eat. What do I do? I am very tired from last night, and not thinking 100%.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

Sounds like a good vet report. Not being dehydrated is great news!!! Hope what the vet gave you settles his system. If it was a bad shrimp, would it just pass like it would in us humans? I love that he walked from the car to the house *clapping*
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

well sounds like a good vet check Dyana did the vet advise you on what to feed him tonight?? healing vines for J.D. being sent so he is back to being his 100% self soon
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

Hi Dyana, Good news that it's not his kidneys and that he's not dehydrated. I think that you could try some baby food (meat flavor; no cornstarch). Just a little at a time. You don't want to stress his stomach and digestive system. Otherwise, make sure his water bowl is fresh and just let him rest. You know how people feel when they've had the "24 hour flu"!

Healing vines continue to be sent,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

((((((((((((((((((Dyana....J.D.))))))))))))))

I am thinking it could have been a bad shrimp. It happens. We used to eat a lot of seafood as a kid...and bad sometimes happens.

I would not force him to eat this evening. You are skipping a shot so no worries there. If it was bad fuds...he needs to let it clear his system. If he isn't better in the morning I would be either back at the vet or at the ER.

The big thing is fluids. Again don't force it, but make them available. I would pick-up the food bowls and let his tummy rest. Set my clock to check on him some time during the night and be sure he is doing OK.

Almost sounds like the worst of it is passed.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

wow, you've had a pretty memorable 24 hours. i don't know what to do about the insulin, but i hope he settles down and you both get to sleep tonight.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

agree. just leave him be. can always play refill shed when feeling better. glad it was nothing serious. hope meds work. get some sleep
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

He finally went to visit the LBs and just peed. Right now, he is clanging the bells on the front doorknob, wanting to go outside. Would a walk be good for him?
I tried a finger tip of baby food, and he just licked his lips.
He has a fresh bowl of water, but doesn't want to drink.

He does look better. He looked like he was in such pain before, like his tummy was all icky and turbulant and ready to explode. Pooing all over the house. That's just not like him.

At the vet, it's a first come first serve type of place, with cats in carriers and dogs on leashes. I had J.D. in my arms out of the carrier, and he started to fall asleep (he was up all night last night with me, too). All the people had rounded eyes when I said he was 16. They said he looks really good for 16, and couldn't believe it. Even though he was laying in my arms, so sick. That made me feel better.

Come on J.D., just please feel better.

I'm starting a glass of wine, because I need to sleep tonight. I'll guess I'll take him for a walk, cause that's what he wants to do...

Sorry for rambling. But, thanks for letting me. :(
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

glad to hear he's feeling better, Dyana.

hoping for peaceful rest for you both tonight.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

My computer is running very slow...ugh....

Dyana, try looking up Salmonella in Cats. The fact that J.D. sounds like he is starting to feel better is great. It also makes me strongly think it was one of them shrimps last night...

Which for cautions sake might not hurt to do a bleach wipe down of things.

Since I feed Attie raw...I'm always a little concerned about contamination.

((((((((((BIG HUGS))))))))) And enjoy your walk and wine.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

(((Dyana)))
What an evening! You can give a max of 1/2 of a Pepsid tablet every 12 hours. If you think it may help, you could always give J.D. another 1/4 of a tablet. I do think baby food may be the best route until J.D.'s system settles down. Do you have any probiotics like FortiFlora? It will help with the diarrhea. Also, if you do give a probiotic, don't give the antibiotic at the same time. They need to be separated by a couple of hours.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

When we first went outside, he was sniffing the bushes in front of the house, like normal, then all he wanted to do was try to use the big outhouse in the woods. He tried to go poo, and in the dark, I think he may have went a little. He must almost be empty. Then we came back inside and he went downstairs to the litter boxes, and with his one front paw resting inside the litter box (and the whole rest of him outside the litter box) he proceeded to try to poo again.
He keeps not sitting down all the way. Like his butt is slightly lifted in the air. What if he ate one of the tail peices of the shrimp today. The hard pieces at the end that you throw away? I thought about that, and I remembered that I had thrown two into a box in the kitchen that was bound for the dumpster, and when I checked it just now, only found one. He has eaten at least one before in his haste to grab shrimp from my hand like a fiend. They have sharp little points on them. But the one I found in the box, was dry and easily crumbled in my hand.

Okay, I'll shut up now. I hope everyone has a good night.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

Sienne and Gabby said:
(((Dyana)))
What an evening! You can give a max of 1/2 of a Pepsid tablet every 12 hours. If you think it may help, you could always give J.D. another 1/4 of a tablet. I do think baby food may be the best route until J.D.'s system settles down. Do you have any probiotics like FortiFlora? It will help with the diarrhea. Also, if you do give a probiotic, don't give the antibiotic at the same time. They need to be separated by a couple of hours.
He won't eat anything, Sienne. I did get him to lick a little FortiFlora from the palm of my hand, but that's all. Whatever is in his system, needs to get out, I guess. I tried baby food, and he only licked his lips. I tried cat treats.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 318 We're back.

Okay, I just broke out the Evo, and gave him about 20 kibbles and HE ATE IT :) :-D :razz: :mrgreen: That makes me feel better! I know it's not good for him, but it's the first thing he's eaten, since I got home from work. I'll sleep better, now.

I just gave him another 15 or so kibbles and HE ATE THEM! :) :-D :razz: :mrgreen: There's hope.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top