03/21 Shadow PMPS 374 +4 317 +5 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
You guys are going to kill me! I overslept today and my alarm didn't get me up. I am 2 hours late testing and giving shadow his shot. Sorry, i am upset with myself.

How do I go about fixing his schedule now?

I tested him 2 hours late and he was 547.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560

Tested at +3 and he is 560. Any idea why it went up?
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560

:lol: you're thinking one of us is going to climb through your computer and kill you?

it happens to other people too. no worries. is it possible for you to shoot 12 hrs from this morning's shot? if not, he's so high we might be able to shift him earlier without a problem.

the difference between 547 and 560 isn't important. it's basically the same number. no worries.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427

Well that makes me feel a little bit better.

I could probably shoot him in 12 hrs but I don't know if i'll be able to get the +4 or any tests after that until the morning.

Just tested him again and he is 427 at +6
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427

i'm going to guess you may be able to shoot early, but let me consult with some lev users. i use lantus on punkin.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427

julie & punkin said:
i'm going to guess you may be able to shoot early, but let me consult with some lev users. i use lantus on punkin.
I would assume that also as he's still very high. Let me know. Thanks for all the help.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427

hi brad!

the consensus is that with these high numbers, in your particular case today, it's fine to shoot at +10 tonight. so assuming that he's still over 300 at +10, go ahead and shoot 2 hours early.

would you get a pm +4 tonight and post it for us to look at as well?

if he's still high (over 300) in the morning, we're thinking it would be a good idea to increase the dose to 1.5units for tomorrow morning's dose.

i just want to make sure you understand that this isn't following the normal protocol. we had you drop his dose significantly (from 7u to 1u) to start him on lev, cut out his dry food at the same time, and his numbers are high enough today that we think it's safe.

ordinarily, lantus and lev both do best with the shots being 12 hrs apart. so this advice is specific to today's situation and not a guideline for future shots.

how does that sound to you?

have you gotten a ketone test yet?

also, what is his "whole cat report" or WCR? how is he other than numbers? is he playing, preening (grooming), pooping, peeing, purring? is he eating ok? those behaviors tell us a lot about how Shadow is feeling and they help guide decisions.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427

julie & punkin said:
hi brad!

the consensus is that with these high numbers, in your particular case today, it's fine to shoot at +10 tonight. so assuming that he's still over 300 at +10, go ahead and shoot 2 hours early.

would you get a pm +4 tonight and post it for us to look at as well?

if he's still high (over 300) in the morning, we're thinking it would be a good idea to increase the dose to 1.5units for tomorrow morning's dose.

i just want to make sure you understand that this isn't following the normal protocol. we had you drop his dose significantly (from 7u to 1u) to start him on lev, cut out his dry food at the same time, and his numbers are high enough today that we think it's safe.

ordinarily, lantus and lev both do best with the shots being 12 hrs apart. so this advice is specific to today's situation and not a guideline for future shots.

how does that sound to you?

have you gotten a ketone test yet?

also, what is his "whole cat report" or WCR? how is he other than numbers? is he playing, preening (grooming), pooping, peeing, purring? is he eating ok? those behaviors tell us a lot about how Shadow is feeling and they help guide decisions.
Hello,

I added his +3, it must not have saved earlier. I will go ahead and give him his shot at +10 tonight since he is still high. I just tested him at +8 and he is 438. Atleast he is staying somewhat consistent and not spiking way up or any 600+'s.

I do understand this isn't following normal protocol and that this is a one time thing.

I haven't got a ketone test yet, I have sat and watched him for up to 30 minutes and he never goes when I am in there with him.

I haven't made a WCR yet. He seems up and down though. My mom says his coat looks greasy. He has always just been a cat to lay around and chill which is all he does lately. He's been sleeping a lot. I cleaned his catbox today and he's still getting large clumps. But i dont think it's as bad as it was previously.
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427 +8 438

that sounds like a pretty good wcr - punkin gets greasy fur when his numbers are higher too. as shadow's numbers come down, hopefully that will improve. a lot of 14 year old cats are fairly, uh well, they sleep a lot! :-D

good job trying on the ketone test! perhaps he has a shy bladder. :lol:
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow AMPS 547 +3 560 +6 427 +8 438

julie & punkin said:
that sounds like a pretty good wcr - punkin gets greasy fur when his numbers are higher too. as shadow's numbers come down, hopefully that will improve. a lot of 14 year old cats are fairly, uh well, they sleep a lot! :-D

good job trying on the ketone test! perhaps he has a shy bladder. :lol:
Yeah he has seemed like this for the past few months since he was diagnosed.

Just tested him and he was 374! I'm going to give him his shot now and feed him. 30 minutes late, i know, I'm sorry!
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow PMPS 374 +4 317

Hey guys.

Just tested him at +4 after his PM shot and he's 317! That's the second lowest number he's ever had so that's great! This has my hopes up a little bit. Hopefully at +5 or +6 he will be in the 200s, that will make my night.

Thanks for all the help, I'm glad to see some lower numbers!
 
Re: 03/21 Shadow PMPS 374 +4 317

Dyana said:
Ah, those numbers are much better :thumbup
Yes! I'm stoked. His numbers definitely seem to be dropping. Just tested him again and he was 345. He is letting me get his blood a lot easier now.

I'm still confused as to when I should be feeding him. Does feeding him affect his numbers? I think yesterday I fed him 3 small cans all together. I'm not sure if he should be eating more or not -- I'm sure he would eat more if I gave it to him.

I think I am heading off to bed though. Hope you all are doing well, as well as your cats! :smile:
 
Here's a picture of him so you can put a face to the name!

Here he is just chillin'. Excuse the picture quality, iPads suck for pictures!

2rh0kko.jpg


Goodnight :smile:
 
Have a good night, Brad.

If your cat needs to gain weight, then feed him more.

My J.D. is almost 14 lbs and he doesn't eat that much, maybe 2 FF cans a day or a little more, but ECID (Every Cat Is Different). Most of us feed small meals from PS time through about nadir time.

For right now, if he needs to gain weight; I would feed him several smaller meals (you don't have to feed the whole can at once, you can give him a half a 3oz can at a time) from shot time until around +7 or so (around 1 1/2 to 2 hours apart).
 
Shadow is beautiful. That picture just makes me want to reach out and pet him :razz:

Please see the post about food I just wrote. We might have posted at the same time.
 
Dyana said:
Have a good night, Brad.

If your cat needs to gain weight, then feed him more.

My J.D. is almost 14 lbs and he doesn't eat that much, maybe 2 FF cans a day or a little more, but ECID (Every Cat Is Different). Most of us feed small meals from PS time through about nadir time.

For right now, if he needs to gain weight; I would feed him several smaller meals (you don't have to feed the whole can at once, you can give him a half a 3oz can at a time) from shot time until around +7 or so (around 1 1/2 to 2 hours apart).
Thank you! I hope you have a good night as well.

I will start feeding him more then. I give him a full can with his shot and then half can servings thereafter. He eats it all 99% of the time. I have been mixing water in with each meal too. I guess I should start keeping track of his weight.

Appreciate the reply, I will post his numbers in the morning and actually get up on time!

Thanks for all the info and helping me through this, you have been a regular in my theads Dyana. So thanks a bunch!

Okay, I am heading to bed for sure now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top