03/21 Binie - AMPS 475 - fur shot again :-(

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-20-binie-amps-500-7-179.287915/

Hello everybody,

it feels I messed up this week. :banghead: Yesterday night I had the second fur shot in one week. And it was not Binies fault. I was just so tense, knowing that at the moment she is not so cooperative any more. This morning I concentrated on breathing and calming myself before giving the injection and it worked.

Looking at the numbers I think I messed up her depot. Today the numbers have been quite high all day. Wonder what happens tonight.

The next two days I have to be out of the house almost all the daytime between the shots. That makes me a bit anxious. A friend will have a look both days during the time of the estimated nadir but I don't want to bring her in a dangerous situation. Should I leave out high carb food or reduce the dose a litte? I want her to be safe but especially after the last days I don't want her to stay too high all the time. I would appreciate your suggestions so much! What are you doing, when you have to leave your kitty alone for the day?

Have a nice day! :bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-20-binie-amps-500-7-179.287915/

Hello everybody,

it feels I messed up this week. :banghead: Yesterday night I had the second fur shot in one week. And it was not Binies fault. I was just so tense, knowing that at the moment she is not so cooperative any more. This morning I concentrated on breathing and calming myself before giving the injection and it worked.

Looking at the numbers I think I messed up her depot. Today the numbers have been quite high all day. Wonder what happens tonight.

The next two days I have to be out of the house almost all the daytime between the shots. That makes me a bit anxious. A friend will have a look both days during the time of the estimated nadir but I don't want to bring her in a dangerous situation. Should I leave out high carb food or reduce the dose a litte? I want her to be safe but especially after the last days I don't want her to stay too high all the time. I would appreciate your suggestions so much! What are you doing, when you have to leave your kitty alone for the day?

Have a nice day! :bighug:
Tagging
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
Thank you ladies
 
Fur shots happen, I was a pro at it.:rolleyes: Some tips in here might help you, I liked the roll method for shooting. Testing and Shooting Tips

With the reduced dose a couple nights ago, and fur shot last night, the depot will be depleted. It'll take a few days to get back to where it was. In the mean time, the lowest Binie has been on this dose is 109, which is still a safe number. I don't think you need to reduce the dose. You can get your friend to put out new fresh regular low carb food when she stops by.
 
Fur shots happen, I was a pro at it.:rolleyes: Some tips in here might help you, I liked the roll method for shooting. Testing and Shooting Tips

With the reduced dose a couple nights ago, and fur shot last night, the depot will be depleted. It'll take a few days to get back to where it was. In the mean time, the lowest Binie has been on this dose is 109, which is still a safe number. I don't think you need to reduce the dose. You can get your friend to put out new fresh regular low carb food when she stops by.

Thank you Wendy, unfortunately I didn't read your post before, the last two days have been very full being outside all day and I missed it. I feel I was not doing a good job the last days. I reduced the dose because the preshot number was much lower and to be honest, I was scared to leave her alone almost 12 hours with the full dose. At the moment I always have to motivate her to eat during the day, very often I am handfeeding. I especially do this when I see, that the numbers are dropping. I think she would have been much lower than 109 without me taking action.

Do you think I can go back to the full 2,5 IE tomorrow? I know how important it is to be consistent and I was very inconsistent the last days. :( Was a preshotnumber around 100 lower than usual a reason to reduce or would it have been still save to shoot the full 2,5 IE?

Thank you for the shooting tips, I will read it tonight. This morning Binie hided under the bed, when I came with the syringe. I don't know if she can sense my nervousness. I really hope it gets easier again. Thanks so much for your help!
 
Yes, I would go back to 2.5 units. The goal with SLGS is to get her overall in the range with nadirs between 90 and 149 and preshots at or below 300. She's wasn't there yet at 2.25, and you haven't seen what 2.5 units can do yet.

Was a preshotnumber around 100 lower than usual a reason to reduce or would it have been still save to shoot the full 2,5 IE?
No. We look at dosing based on the nadirs, not the preshots. Unless of course she was under 90 at preshot time.

If you are nervous, try singing. It's hard to nervous when you do that.

Tomorrow, could you start a new thread. We ask people to start a new thread for each day that they post. People tend to ignore older posts as a result.
 
Yes, I would go back to 2.5 units. The goal with SLGS is to get her overall in the range with nadirs between 90 and 149 and preshots at or below 300. She's wasn't there yet at 2.25, and you haven't seen what 2.5 units can do yet.


No. We look at dosing based on the nadirs, not the preshots. Unless of course she was under 90 at preshot time.

If you are nervous, try singing. It's hard to nervous when you do that.

Tomorrow, could you start a new thread. We ask people to start a new thread for each day that they post. People tend to ignore older posts as a result.
Thank you Wendy! I went up with the dose and will start a new thread now.
 
Back
Top