03/20/22 MICIO: AMPS 105 Shooting full dose again after lowest nadir @ 50 last night

Nice cycle today. You must be exhausted after last night. If those kind of nights are too much to you, you might want to lower his dose a bit to raise the nadirs. Maybe down 0.25 units? I think he'd still be in good numbers overall there.

Here's the link to the original post on feeding the curve, in case you want to see the entire picture: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve However, I don't think it's really relevant to Micio. It's a technique used more for cats that like to dive at the beginning of the cycle and bounce a lot. Micio does neither of those and his range of numbers are ideal for an acrocat. Plus since are have to add enzymes to his meals, it's a lot more of a pain to implement.
 
Last edited:
Thanks..not sure what "feeding the curve" means though o_O
I am sorry about using that term. I was afraid you might not know what I meant. It’s really just about feeding them small amounts of food frequently- even every hour (could be just a tsp. even) in order to keep them surfing in green (so keeping them stable in greens.). I was just wondering if you were feeding small amounts during the day or if Micio was just doing it on his own!
 
My kitty didn’t need to be fed like this. With Levemir he stayed pretty flat for the most part. Although before he became sick he wanted to eat a lot, and I let him eat.
 
I found this posted by a member about feeding the curve
here are the basics:

what is meant by using food to manipulate the curve?
simply put, it's a method of feeding used to prevent kitty from dropping too fast and/or too low.
the amount of food usually fed to the cat is broken down into several mini-meals fed throughout the course of the day with the intention of flattening out the curve. lc is normally fed to all numbers except possibly in the case of a significant or fast drop or fed to a drop below 50.

the only time you might want to feed a little higher carb food at shot time is to bump the numbers up so the insulin is starting from a higher number when onset occurs if you're running out the door and will be unable to monitor.

if you're around to monitor, there's no reason to bump the numbers up at shot time. the beauty of lantus and levemir is being able to shoot low to stay low. shooting low is how you obtain the low flat curve with lantus and levemir.

whether you'd want to feed lc, mc, or hc to slow a drop depends on two things:
1. the carb sensitivity or lack of of your particular cat.
2. the point you're at in the cycle. a drop early in the cycle *may* require big guns. a drop at nadir (unless nadir is less than 40) or late in the cycle usually only requires lc to bump the numbers up. however, if you have a carb sensitive kitty, you may not have to use anything except lc to bump up the numbers. "KNOW THY CAT".

why would you want to manipulate the curve with food?
--- bouncers: kitties who drop low and then bounce to the moon benefit from food manipulation. using food to manipulate the curve will tend to flatten out the curve. flattening out the curve helps to prevent huge bounces.
--- carb sensitive kitties: kitties who experience large food spikes when consuming even lc benefit from manipulating the curve with food. strategically spacing out meal times will help flatten out the curve.

why do i want to use food to flatten out the curve ?
--- flattening out the curve allows you to get as much insulin into the cat as safely possible without having kitty bottom out on you.
--- flattening out the curve *usually* allows you to hang onto a dose longer
--- flattening out the curve allows you to shoot higher doses of insulin than you would have been able to otherwise.

why would i want to get as much insulin as possible into the cat?
lantus and levemir are known to have a harder time bringing down higher numbers. more insulin helps bring down the higher numbers in a bouncer's cycle. more insulin will help counteract the spikes in a food spiker. using food to manipulate the curve will flatten out the curve and help keep your kitty safe.


when using food to manipulate the curve, i generally recommend starting with dividing up the normal amount of food your kitty should be eating into 8 mini-meals to be fed at preshot, +1, +2, and +3 of each cycle. however, that recommendation is strictly a starting point. a plan customized for YOUR cat is YOUR goal. frequent testing and learning how YOUR cat responds not only to food, but to the insulin itself will help you tweak the plan.
Edited to add on 11/13/2015:
I was referring to manipulating the curve when using Lantus in the paragraph above.
Levemir typically has a later onset (usually around +4) and a later nadir. To accommodate the difference, when using Levemir one might start with dividing up the normal amount of food kitty should be eating into 8 mini-meals beginning at shot time, +3, +6, and +7 of each cycle. However, that recommendation is strictly a starting point. A plan customized for YOUR cat is YOUR goal. Frequent testing and learning how YOUR cat responds not only to food, but to the insulin itself will help you tweak the plan.
Thank you so much!
 
Nice cycle today. You must be exhausted after last night. If those kind of nights are too much to you, you might want to lower his dose a bit to raise the nadirs. Maybe down 0.25 units? I think he'd still be in good numbers overall there.

Here's the link to the original post on feeding the curve, in case you want to see the entire picture: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve However, I don't think it's really relevant to Micio. It's a technique used more for cats that like to dive at the beginning of the cycle and bounce a lot. Micio does neither of those and his range of numbers are ideal for an acrocat. Plus since are have to add enzymes to his meals, it's a lot more of a pain to implement.
Thank you, will take the time to read all that tomorrow...always amazed on how much to learn out there.
 
I am sorry about using that term. I was afraid you might not know what I meant. It’s really just about feeding them small amounts of food frequently- even every hour (could be just a tsp. even) in order to keep them surfing in green (so keeping them stable in greens.). I was just wondering if you were feeding small amounts during the day or if Micio was just doing it on his own!
Honestly, when I first read that, I though it was some sort of a joke or slang for something (laughing at myself right now)...one of these days I'll learn the American English!
I took a quick look at it but will read the whole thing tomorrow, thank you very much
 
Honestly, when I first read that, I though it was some sort of a joke or slang for something (laughing at myself right now)...one of these days I'll learn the American English!
I took a quick look at it but will read the whole thing tomorrow, thank you very much
Sorry. How often are you feeding him ?
 
Nice cycle today. You must be exhausted after last night. If those kind of nights are too much to you, you might want to lower his dose a bit to raise the nadirs. Maybe down 0.25 units? I think he'd still be in good numbers overall there.

Here's the link to the original post on feeding the curve, in case you want to see the entire picture: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve However, I don't think it's really relevant to Micio. It's a technique used more for cats that like to dive at the beginning of the cycle and bounce a lot. Micio does neither of those and his range of numbers are ideal for an acrocat. Plus since are have to add enzymes to his meals, it's a lot more of a pain to implement.
Finally got to read about feeding the curve, very interesting...although, not sure how I could apply that to Micio anyway cause I feed him raw meat diet. Also, his nadirs varies and so his numbers: he can have a day or two of flat lower bg's and then all of a sudden they jump up and down, even though I haven't change a thing. But overall, as you said, I'd be happy if he keeps in between green and low blues. Should get Cabergoline this week and hopefully that will somehow help too :)
 
Yes. You will have to watch him carefully when you start the Cabergoline, his numbers are very good right now.

What kind of meats do you feed him? Where do you buy the meat(s)?
Have been making recipies with Chicken (tenderloins or breast, Thighs are a bit too high in sodium) and Pork, Chicken and Beef, 2-3 times at year Chicken and lamb...wish I could find Turkey thighs at the stores, I don't buy preground meats, I rather do it myself. I usually buy meats at Costco but sometimes at local Kroger/grocery stores . As supplements, I use EZ Complete.
 
Back
Top