03/14 Boomer AMPS 239 :( :( +3 182 +6 151 PMPS 178+3 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 239 :eek::eek::(:facepalm:shooting 2u

Boomer let me sleep last night again! Well....he did call out a couple of times but I think he was telling me he was coming btb and wanted to cuddle because he immediately jumped up onto the bed and flopped down beside me.:bighug::cat: He ate all of his +3, all of his extra fuds, and about 2/3 of his +6 and +9 meals.

Allen ate well overnight. Somehow, we missed fasting him last week for his weekly alendronate. We will fast him tonight.

This is the last day our grandchildren will be here; their dad has the rest of the week off. I wish it were nice out but unfortunately we've been stuck in the house all week. And my knee still hurts so it's difficult for me to walk for any distance.
 
Oh, Boomer. Whatcha doing up there?

Sorry your knee is still bothering you. It is one of those things that it is almost impossible to 'rest'. Hope it is better soon.

Other than Boomer's PS # - good update! :D
 
I agree with Bobbie... having anyone in our house other than us is definitely NOT Elmos favorite thing :nailbiting: Maybe Boomer is a more hospitable host ;)
 
Thanks everyone! The visitors didn't seem to bother Boomer; he stayed in our bedroom or the spare bedroom most of the time (no hiding under the bed like he used to do) and I moved his auto feeder into our bedroom so he could eat in peace. I'm thinking it's NDW.
 
Aaahhh. Thank you!
Here's the stickie description of NDW:

The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir describes what we've fondly dubbed "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) here in L & L:

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

You might also see this happening while following the Start Low, Go Slow Method.


NOTE:
  • NDW usually lasts for less than 24 hours and is usually seen in the second day following a dose increase.
  • The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top