03/12 Gizmo PMPS=136, +2=142, +4=173, +11=168

Status
Not open for further replies.
Need advice on getting him to drink water. I think he may be a little dehydrated.

Eta - I do not have sub-q fluuds.
 
Need advice on getting him to drink water. I think he may be a little dehydrated.

Eta - I do not have sub-q fluuds.

I give Bronx extra water by sitting by him when he is eating and just keep adding water a little at a time to his food and he will keep licking the water if the food is one of the kinds he really likes. Yep, we started the cabergoline trial on Friday.
 
I just added about an oz to his next feeding. He us sitting by the food bowl waiting for it to turn so hopefully that will get a little into him. He already gets extra water added to his LC food along with a small ice cube in each.

I think I read somewhere to add some tuna water to the water bowl. Need to know if that is ok and what about phosphorus in reg tuna (human canned in water).
 
Mantra for the week.

ejosephcossman1.jpg
 
Nice numbers for Gizmo today. Some people have success getting a water fountain for their cat. Although some cats won't drink from a fountain and there are more than one different type. If you try one, make sure you can return it to where you get it from.
 
That is the one Gizmo doesn't like. I am going to try it again and if he still won't drink from it - I will send you the extra filters I have - I think I have 6-8 of them. I have to find it though - hubby has "cleaned" the garage and lord knows where it is - lol.
Thanks Lizzy! I actually reuse the ones I have by changing the inside charcoal every month or so by taking them apart.
 
Found the fountain. Set it up in the living room where he spends most of his time. So he has a bowl upstairs, one beside his feeder and one in the living room.
 
Woohoo! Keep on keeping green Gizmo. :D High safe greens are perfect for the work week.

My civie won't drink, didn't even go near the fountain I set up for a month. Thank goodness for return policies. I just add a tablespoon or two of water to each of his mini meals.
 
Thanks Lizzy! I actually reuse the ones I have by changing the inside charcoal every month or so by taking them apart.
Where do you get the charcoal part From?

He was a bit curious about it. Walked over to it and checked it out. We shall see. I did sneak in an additional oz or so in his +6.5 snack which he just finished.

My sweet Missy cat drank all the time, plus she was on sub-q's for the last two years of her life. She would drink out of the bathroom sink in the mornings and loved her fountain. I can't find one like I had for her but it was similar to this

https://smile.amazon.com/PetSafe-Dr...tain/dp/B00063446M/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
just add a tablespoon or two of water to each of his mini meals.
That is what I do too. He goes in cycles where he will drink (plus gets the extra in the food) and then he will quit drinking from the bowls. His fur feels dry and skin doesn't seem to be bouncing back like it usually does. I will just keep an eye on it. It could be the crazy weather we are having too.
 
PMPS 136

History:
AMPS=258, +1=279, +2=146, +4=101, +6=99, +8=107, +10=121, +11=125

Been a looong time since I shot that low of a PS.
 
How are you doing? Don't know all the details but I know you had surgery. Hope you are recovering. :bighug: I looked for an update late last week but didn't find one.

I finally feel like we are on track. Gizmo may get a field trip or two to work with me this week but I am going to [try to] hold firm on this dose.

My whole department is out - spring break and another is having a mass removed from her breast. So I have to be there.
 
How are you doing? Don't know all the details but I know you had surgery. Hope you are recovering. :bighug: I looked for an update late last week but didn't find one.

I finally feel like we are on track. Gizmo may get a field trip or two to work with me this week but I am going to [try to] hold firm on this dose.

My whole department is out - spring break and another is having a mass removed from her breast. So I have to be there.
Hiya! I'm still kicking as they say...
I'm recovering from eye surgery, carcinoma removal. It's at the annoying recovery stage, stings and itches like mad so I guess that means it's healing! :joyful: Found some cool Hollywood star ginormous sunglasses that cover my bandage so I'm set!:woot:
Thanks for looking for me:bighug:
Gizmo is looking good!
On the fountain, can you leave it out unplugged? I did that when I had that similar drinkwell. They had to work up to the shape I think..
I then turned it on the lowest setting to start.
I use ones I bought at catfountains on Etsy. They are more like a big bowl with a bubbler in the center..
Sending use that fountain vines to you! :bighug:
That's pretty cool that he may be able to take a staycation to your work with you!
Hoping your week is not too grueling....:bighug::bighug:

Work that juice gently Gizmo, no need for drama, just sweet numbers for your mama Bean please!:bighug:
 
That's pretty cool that he may be able to take a staycation to your work with you!
Would rather not have to but set up just in case. Because I do receiving and am in charge of all computer equipment I am in a secure room that has a coded lock. Hopefully no one will be the wiser but boss knows it is a possibility.

Glad to hear you are on the mend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top