03/12 Casper AMPS 584 again, +3 653, +6 475; PMPS 473, +2 597

Yuling & Casper (GA)

Member Since 2020
After last night a low 48, this morning AMPS bounced at 584 again.
Reducing the dose to 0.5U this morning, +3 at 653 :banghead:

Can anyone pls let me know if I am doing anything wrong?
 
Last edited:
He’s a bouncer. You need to get a +1 and +2 to avoid the big drop and having to reduce. Remind me of your feeding schedul3, when and what % carbs each time.
 
Breakfast is at 8:40 right after AMPS test, then he gets a snack around 10 or 11 depends on his activities; lunch around 12:30-1:30; followed by a snack around 5, if he is not napping. If he gets up from afternoon nap after 6:30, I gave him 1/3 of a can; dinner at 8:40 after PMPS testing. Leave food for him in the night, either shrimps (now eliminated), chicken fillet or tuna with juice.
If his number is blue during the night, I gave him another treat.
I am just getting really tired recently, after giving him the shot at 9 PM, I am in bed pass out. Will start to train my husband how to take the readings in the night, just to help out a little bit.
 
Training your husband is a great idea. Are you over the nausea? Feeding at 6:30 at night is too late in the cycle and may be causing the high PMPS. It’s best to try and feed most of the calories by +6. Treats after testing are fine. The only other thing is waiting until +3 is too late to prevent a big drop. It’s hard with a bouncy cat. You have a lot to manage s blame yourself for his swings. Some of tge cats that bounced like Casper suddenly stopped and even went OTJ. Your have gotten Casper so much healthier. :bighug:
 
Not yet, I get worse in the late afternoon and evening. I am trying everything I can now to reduce the nausea. I will move his lunch to +6 (3PM) this weekend, see how that goes.
Last night really scared me and my husband has been talking about taking care of him in the night. We are going to start sharing more responsibilities, will not delay the +2 testing in the night anymore. Lesson learned.
 
The thing about the +2 is that that’s when Lantus kicks in. If there’s a big drop it will be an active cycle and you need to feed and test to prevent a drop under 68 or 50 depending on which meter you use. The difficult part is if it’s not lower it doesn’t assure you he won’t nadir later in the cycle. He’s not making it easy. :bighug:
 
You are so right about the Lantus. I also noticed some lowest numbers happened in Casper's cycles are after +9. During the night is always harder, unless I know he is up all night playing. Just wish he will play by the book. I need to do some research on the food we give him now, but those are the ones having high protein, low carb.
 
You will need to feed higher carbs if he drops at the beginning of the cycle. It’s good to have 10-14% to give if there’s a drop at +2. Then of course you need 20-25% hc if a drop in the 30’s or 40’s. I hope your husband can help you.

I know you said you are a night owl. I used to shoot at 6 so that I was free in the afternoons to help out with my mom and go to sleep by 12 or 1:00 if Max dropped into the 50-70 range
which he did in the first half of the cycle. If Casper can somehow stay in the 68-100 range more hours he will stop the huge extremes.
 
Back
Top