03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +6=74, PMPS=92, +3=52, +3.5=72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawn & Nova

Very Active Member
Readers Digest:

Nova had dental surgery 1.5 weeks ago.. has been mostly feeling blah since.. couple days ago I had planned to increase to 1.75U yesterday morning.. but I chickened out.. the night before she was in a really good mood and was in the am as well.. I told my husband "I'm probably wrong, but I just have this really weird feeling about it".. (the last few increases I had no queezy stomach over) and decided to wait until this morning for a increase.

Well Nova gave me surprises all day yesterday.. 178 in the door from a vet trip (she wasn't happy, I expected a higher number).. a break last night (I fed her like crazy at +3 last night..and again at +6 so I could get SOME sleep), with a crazy surf until AMPS..

I hesitated shooting.. haven't seen a PS like that in a while..but took a few deep breaths and did it anyways (shot 1.5U). I'll be home for the day to test and watch her.

Tomorrow after AMPS I leave for the weekend for my mini (6 months late) honeymoon.. a vet assistant from the vet hospital my cats go to is coming after work tomorrow and staying here for the weekend until I get home Sunday night (with her Doctor and other tech on stand by, by her request, in case she has any problems).. so they'll probably be in better care health wise then I provide myself hahaha..

My only concern about Nova being low.. is that my heart disease cat NEEDS his medications to live (where as in the grand scheme of things, short term, Nova doesn't), and he is difficult (to say the least) to medicate.. and that will likely make for a rather stressful weekend for the assistant.. I know she could handle dealing with Nova as well, but she's doing me a huge favour and I don't want it to be emotionally awful for her (all the staff really cares about my kitties, obviously, with an entire medical team being willing to help this weekend if there are any issues haha, with 3 special needs cats, the vet hospital is our second home).

So I sort of want to back off dose wise.. because I think whatever is going on right now isn't the last of what crazy fun Nova has planned.. but I think I'm going to go with leaving instructions to just leave food out all the time so she can eat whenever she wants.. how today goes may change my thoughts..but that's where I stand now..

Agree/Disagree?

yesterday's
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119 - eyes please

Tomorrow after AMPS I leave for the weekend for my mini (6 months late) honeymoon.. a vet assistant from the vet hospital my cats go to is coming after work on tomorrow and staying here for the weekend until I get home Sunday night (with her Doctor and other tech on stand by, by her request, in case she has any problems).. so they'll probably be in better care health wise then I provide myself hahaha..


Hi Dawn

just a few questions that others may ask, sorry if it's been answered before,
will petsitter be testing preshots and spotchecks?
will she have access to your spreadsheet?
will she have a "no shoot" number?
does she know about LC, MC and HC and when to use?
and where ya going for your honeymoon? :lol: I'm noisy yea.

hang in there, suggestions will be on their way!
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119 - eyes please

Ronnie & Luna said:
just a few questions that others may ask, sorry if it's been answered before,
will petsitter be testing preshots and spotchecks?
will she have access to your spreadsheet?
will she have a "no shoot" number?
does she know about LC, MC and HC and when to use?
and where ya going for your honeymoon? :lol: I'm noisy yea.

She'll be testing pre-shot.. spot-checking amount will depending on how much problems there are with the other cats..

As for no-shoot number.. my brain hasn't totally worked that out yet.. I figured I would come up with no-shot and 1/2 shot ranges.. but am not really sure where they should be? No-shot <100, 1/2 <150 maybe?

She knows about feline diabetes .. walking through the kitchen she saw the corn syrup on the counter and said "oh good, now I know where this is".. I figured something like <100, make sure there's one of the LC foods out that Nova isn't crazy about (labeled).. so she'll only eat if she feels she needs to.. <60 and <+6 feed a tablespoon of HC gravy and then put out LC food she likes.. Nova's pretty good about eating when she gets low.. she turns into a wild and crazy hoover.. and the assistant of course knows the signs of hypo (she's seen them many times, where as I haven't yet) and knows what to do.

The only "concern" really.. our vet (as with most I think) has higher numbers in mind as far as what is good and safe, then I do.. The assistant will follow whatever directions I leave.. but I just don't want to wreck her nerves :).

We're going to Banff.. it's about a 4 hour drive away, so easy to sneak off to for a weekend :)
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +1=135, +2=79 - eyes please

Getting just a tad concerned about where she's headed with a +2 of 79 (considering where we have been on this dose).. geezus Nova.. what the heck!
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +1=135, +2=79 - eyes please

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd feed a teaspoon or so of LC and re-test in 30 min.

Oops.. just saw.. I had fed her 1/8 can of FF.. close enough to a teaspoon I guess.. and tested an hour later (she's been sleeping beside me on the cat tree so I've been watching her ;) ).

+3 is 68..

I sent the husband out for more flavours of HC.. have a few, but want more options in case she gets fussy on me.. he's in town (rare occurrence..sigh) because of the weekend trip tomorrow.. expecting (hoping??? :) ).. for her to level out a little bit and not need it.. but better safe then sorry.

So much emotions.. after the last two weeks I wondered if we'd ever be here again.. and now I'm here thinking.. I leave tomorrow.. maybe "here" isn't such a warm and fuzzy place :). Now I'm just hoping she doesn't bounce..so I can get some real data to make some decisions about while I'm away.

I have been frequently telling her liver that I'm going to take care of everything and won't let Nova get too low.. and it can take a break for the day :).

Edit: +4 is 67 yay!! Going to feed her lunch (would have been at +3.. but gave her a snack at +2 so wanted to see if she was leveling out).
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +1=135, +2=79, +3=68, +4=67

My (at least to me) funny story for the day..

Last night the vet assistant came over for a run through of all the kitties medications.. I showed her how I test and then got her to do it.. took her a bunch of pokes (they use a needle at the vet, so the lancet device was a new experience for her).. as you can tell by her picture it's not easy to find her vein... in fact, I think an airport spotlight would be required, I've never actually seen the thing, just figured out by trial and error where it is... with how fussy she is about having her ears touched and not being the greatest bleeder.. it takes some getting used to with her..

She used to get weekly curves at the vet, before I started home testing.. so all the staff has had lots of experience testing her BGs (and other cats obviously).. and I've been told Nova is a lot more difficult then "normal".. (she's a half siamese tortie, her being difficult about something is not exactly surprising to me)..

While the assistant was poking around (feeling guilty for repeatedly stabbing her).. she was also sort of chuckling.. "she just...sits there?? and doesn't really care??".. had me thinking back to when I started.. what a gong show.. so I've been pretty much gloating to myself all day about how far Nova and I have come.. I think Nova may be too.. and that's why she's pulling greens :).

Maybe if I gloat to you guys too, it makes me less insane ;).
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +3=68, +6=74, PMPS=92 - BCS

Well Nova Nova Nova.. aren't you having a fun time before I go on a quick vacation (thanks for the stress!).

I shot 1.25U.. I have shot full dose lower then this before, however, I would definitely not feel comfortable asking the cat sitter to do it.. will be up most of the night to watch the 1.5 clear.. and hopefully tomorrow AMPS will be a little less crazy.

Having 5 days of mostly yellows and blues on this dose.. and then this sort of crazy action.. I just don't know if this is where she is going to settle, or if she's still going to go lower from here on it over the next few days.

Ugh.. I already have so much guilt leaving.. I've never been away from any of the cats I currently have, for even 1 overnight before.. there's always been "mission critical" medications for my heart disease cat and he's terrified of people.. I finally decide to take a tiiiiny break.. and now I feel like I'm a crappy mommy for it :(.
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +3=68, +6=74, PMPS=92 - BCS

I think many of us feel the same way when (if?) we travel. I had a conference last week. At least Nova will let your petsitter test. Gabby wants no part of anyone getting near her but me. (It's gratifying but crazy making.) I'm happy that my petsitter, who's also a vet tech, is able to give her a shot! And, of course, after 10 days of very flat yellows and bluse, I'm about to leave for the airport and she's giving me a 63. They know. They absolutely know. I was a wreck.

I hope Nova is kinder to you than Gabby was to me. Of course, you'll have to deal with your kitties exacting retribution for your having left them when you get back. But that's a different matter altogether.
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +3=68, +6=74, PMPS=92, +2=61

Ok.. I officially retract calling shooting 1.25U at PM - BCS. :)

I fed (1/2 can FF) late at 0.5 (instead of 0).. so +2 of 61 is craaaaazy.. I know I'm still dealing with the 1.5 from the AM.. but wow am I glad that hopefully things will settle by tomorrow (I leave after AMPS, and nobody is here until after work.. will be leaving food out.. everywhere haha).

When I saw the 61, I fed 1/4 can of FF.. she inhaled it.. and begged for more.. gave her another 1/8 can and she's now content. She's so packed of food now that I expect the next couple tests to be high comparably..

If they aren't.. I will be here.. freaking the heck out about the idea of even leaving instructions to shoot 1.25 while I'm gone..
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +6=74, PMPS=92, +2=61, +3=52 - eyes

At +0.5 I fed Nova 1/2 can FF.. At +2 I gave Nova 3/4 can of FF (she was oh my goodness I'm low starving, would normally only get 1/4 at this time).. I expected +3 to be up.. not down..

So I'm thinking test in 15 mins, if she's still dropping at all, give a teaspoon of gravy, test 30 mins after that.. thoughts?

Edit: It's all good.. at +3.5 she's 4.0.. food kicking in as well as the zillion treats she got at 3 doing the trick ;)
 
Re: 03/11 - Nova - AMPS=119, +6=74, PMPS=92, +2=61, +3=52 - eyes

Is the FF low carb, high carb?

This is GOOD! It means Nova's pancreas is healing, yay!

Yes, keep your eye on her. 15 minute intervals might be a good idea since this is unchartered territory for you and Nova. Keep in mind, this could be overlap, it could be a full shed, could be lots of things, so don't panic. Make sure she stays safe tonight and see what tomorrow brings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top