? 03/09 SweetPea: AMPS: 320; +6: 68; plz help with PM dose?

Do you have plenty of test strips, higher carb food if needed and are you able to test this cycle?
When did you last test for ketones?ETA I see you had negative ketones this morning.
 
Last edited:
She technically didn't earn a reduction because she didn't go under 68. If you can monitor and have plenty of test strips and Higher carb food, I would shoot. The DKA is just too close in the rear view mirror. She is likely to bounce from being in a lower number.

Can you get a +1 and +2 number and post and I will look for you.
 
So, he is dropping a bit. Give him a couple tsp to LC food now to keep him surfing and not dropping too fast.

ETA: And get another test 30 minutes after the couple tsp of LC food and post.
 
So while we are waiting for the next number, here are some observations. The dose has not been consistent for either TR or SLGS and has been jumping around. You went for 3 unit to 1 unit to 2.5 to 2.75 to 1 unit...... it's been all over the place and it's hard to know where the dose should be. Please do not feel like I am criticizing you. I am trying to help you. Also, since most kitties go lower in the PM cycle, some more testing is required. If you get a +2 test in and if it is lower than the PMPS, then some more testing is required. That is my favorite test! :) It's like looking into a crystal ball.

And please don't ever shoot without a pre shot number. Maybe you got one and didn't post it on the SS.
Also, the SS is missing some dates of testing. Let's go back to 2/3 PM where the PMPS was 130. There was no more test in that cycle and no more on the SS until 2/25 It is very difficult to know what the dose should be right now. Is she going lower and then bouncing up? Remember, we are basing the dose on how low the dose takes her and not how high the pre shot number is.

If you will post each day with a new thread and the date and her AMPS number, peeps here will gladly help you. Meantime, please read up on the stickies for Tight Regulation , TR, and Start Low, Go Slow , SLGL and see which one in best for you and your lifestyle.

If no dry food is in the picture, it would be a good idea to follow TR with the recent DKA in the picture. You can get kitty into better numbers faster. For TR and using a pet meter, AT2, the reduction point in under 68.
 
Sorry, just saw the tag as I was out of town at a regatta today and just got back. I am glad Bobbie was around to help you. I am not a fan of tagging individuals, for exactly that reason, they can be unavailable. Doing the ? mark prefix and question on the subject line as was done here is the best way to get eyes on you in a timely manner.
 
Thanks for all the advice and feedback. The vet gave me directions when SP was discharged to vary the dose of the Lantus based off the pre-shoot values. (1U for <15, 3U for 20-25, using my “common sense” to adjust the dose in between those values.) That’s why I was jumping around before I learned on the forum that I should stick with the dose and only adjust by small increments when specific nadir values are reached.

SP had 12.4 PMPS last night. I must have accidentally deleted the value when editing the form today.

In February and before I was only testing when the vet told me to do so, which is why there’s gaps in between tests. I was doing the curves in the way that my vet directed me, which never involved PM values. I only created the spreadsheet earlier this week and added in these historical values at that time.

SP’s +4 is 9.4.

How much later should I be staying up to monitor her BG tonight?

169 or 9.4 is a nice safe number. If you can grab one more test before you go to bed, that would be great. If you are ready to go to bed now, if you get up to pee ( I am showing my age), I would grab one then to make sure she is safe.

Remember all data is good data.

I would not follow your vet's advice about testing. Testing all the time prior to shots is so important. And then getting at least a mid cycle test in and in both cycles is always a good idea. I am so glad that you found this forum to help you help SweetPea.

After a dose has been held for 6 cycle without going under 68, then do a curve. Keep posting and keep asking questions. That is how we all learned. :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top