03/07 Eddie AMPS 263 +2.75 171 PMPS 340 +2 297 +3 196

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
here's yesterday's story:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-06-eddie-amps-277-4-180-pmps-308-2-121.260282/

I was at work in the afternoon so couldn't get a test but it numbers went into pink.

I am now giving Eddie some food @ PMPS +2 and, when I can, at around +7 or +8 (I wake up), which I've done in the past couple of nights with the aim of keeping him steady until AMPS.

So, the question: It looks for the most part that Eddie is in blues with the occasional green for the past 18 or so cycles, except for AMPS and PMPS.

He's on 7.75u Lantus. I'm wondering what is the best way to get him into the blue zone at those times.

Thank you.

@Wendy&Neko @FrostD
 
I think Eddie is in control of this one. You don't have room for an increase with the greens you're getting, so I think you just have to sit tight :)

(With my usual plug for Levemir as an option lol)

I am really quite happy with and for Eddie, tbh. I was just wondering about a holding pattern because it seems the only way to go at the moment.

He is also been a real sweetheart over the last few days. Coming around out of his introversion (which he never was before the surgery, etc), and being a bit more social, less reactive.

Could you remind me of why Levemir over Lantus?

Thank you!
 
Time for patience pants. As he gets more used to greens, the height of bounces will come down.
This is good to know, Wendy. Perhaps that's why the AMPS + PMPS are not going sky-high but there's a less dizzying wave.

I'm soon to be going away for two nights (for work), which is another reason why I'm starting to think about the AMPS/PMPS and the holiday dose recommendations.

Thank you!
 
I am really quite happy with and for Eddie, tbh. I was just wondering about a holding pattern because it seems the only way to go at the moment.

He is also been a real sweetheart over the last few days. Coming around out of his introversion (which he never was before the surgery, etc), and being a bit more social, less reactive.

Could you remind me of why Levemir over Lantus?

Thank you!
Aw good to hear!

Levemir just tends to be flatter, that's all. I'm certainly not pushing anything. Mr Kitty isn't the best example, because the Lev switch was shortly before cabergoline, and he was doing alright on Lantus - just started stinging him, primary driver behind the switch
 
Aw good to hear!

Levemir just tends to be flatter, that's all. I'm certainly not pushing anything. Mr Kitty isn't the best example, because the Lev switch was shortly before cabergoline, and he was doing alright on Lantus - just started stinging him, primary driver behind the switch
Oh I didn’t think you were pushing a switch. I’ve heard it before but couldn’t recall the reasons. So, it’s mainly about the sting?
I’ve also heard about Cabergoline but haven’t really done research on it since we’ve been knee deep in recovery over the last year from surgery snd SRT.
:):cat:
 
Oh I didn’t think you were pushing a switch. I’ve heard it before but couldn’t recall the reasons. So, it’s mainly about the sting?
I’ve also heard about Cabergoline but haven’t really done research on it since we’ve been knee deep in recovery over the last year from surgery snd SRT.
:):cat:
Most high dose cats, yes. Stings somewhere around 10U. Plus it can be flatter, and often the naidr is close to preshot - which is scary at first but I actually like better because then I'm not waiting around all day and night. ECID of course
 
Most high dose cats, yes. Stings somewhere around 10U. Plus it can be flatter, and often the naidr is close to preshot - which is scary at first but I actually like better because then I'm

“not waiting around all day and night.” ECID of course
that would be such a relief. But I’ll hold off for now because he seems to be regulating for some reason. Maybe it’s the extra little snack before I go to bed and when I can, before AMPS…
 
Some cats notice Lantus stings at much smaller doses. Neko never got to 10 units but reacted to it, Marge’s Gracie was on less than 3 when she noticed it. But chances of noticing increase with dose size. Having said that, I have seen cats on 25 units of Lantus do fine. ECID.
 
Back
Top