03/07 Bert PMPS #262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy

Member
I am sorry for being MIA for a few weeks, but it has been a hectic, crazy time for me :(

If you look at Bert's SS you can see his numbers.
For the most part since I last posted I have only been able to get AMPS & PMPS.......no spot checks :oops:

So tonight I checked him about 1.5 hours before his PM shot, he was 129.
I just tested him now when he should be getting his PMPS and he is 122.

What should I do!!!!!!
I am scared as this is the lowest Bert has gone for us since being on insulin.

Should I shoot???
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

let me have a look.

Are you going to home to monitor, do you have strip and gravy on hand?
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

I have about 5 test strips left, but can make a quick run to walmart if I need to.

I have a hypo tool box ready to go....I DO NOT WANT TO USE IT THOUGH nailbite_smile
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

Hi Kathy

nice to see u and Bert! Take a deep breath! :lol:

This is prob gonna require you to grab some spotchecks tonight, and as the numbers get better, the spotchecks are crucial to determining dose and reductions.

Hope you can work this into your schedule, we have missed you guys, keep in touch!
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

You'll be okay, it's always great to have the toolkit on hand, just in case.

I would definitely prepare to go out and get more test strips.... let's wait and see what others say.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

So should I hold off on his PM shot and go get some more strips?

It would take about 1/2 hour round trip to get to walmart.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

Bert may be a double dipper - typical in some cats on lantus (Feb 4 of your SS may be an indication of it).

You don't have too many spot checks lately, we can't guess what's going on with Bert.
Your increases have also been agressive for lantus with little data to back up the dose.

If you shoot and feed, you should have enough time to go to walmart and back before needing another test - however, because you don't have enough data... I suggest to hold off shooting until Bert is at least 150. So please don't feed him yet and test him in 1/2 hour.
 
BUMP

I hope u haven't fed him yet., cuz we dont want food in there yet.

its been about 30 min since the 122 right?

can u retest please?
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

I agree with Helene, if you have time to stall tonight then I would check again in 1/2 hour to see where he is. Shoot when he gets above 150-ish, then go to Wal Mart. We'll want to get a +1 and +2 test after the shot (or as close to +1 as you can get it). That will give us the data to use next time he forces us to make a decision like this. :smile:
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

As I said in my first post life circumstances have prevented me fro being here or spot testing.
I feel badly about this and feel like I am doing Bert a disservice, but it could not be helped.

Bert is starving, so I am going to test again and decide to shoot or not.
The increase in insulin was per his vets instructions....I hope Bert will be OK :cry:
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

don't forget that you actually have three choices. Shoot, don't shoot, or shoot a reduced dose. All three have advantages and disadvantages but it doesn't have to be all or nothing. :smile:
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

Life does get in the way, but you can move on from that, so dont be hard on yourself ok?

If you can, maybe from now on, try for at least one spotcheck in the evenings, a +3 would be a good start ok?
:YMHUG: It'll be ok, Kathy. You can do this!
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

here is how it went so far this evening:

6:10PM-129
7:10PM-122
7:42PM-111

I am going to go get strips now and will test when I get back.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

some nice blue numbers for Burt, Kathy, hopefully this is the beginning of something new. I can imagine your shock..surprise...frightfulness when you saw these numbers today! I will be checking in on your condo a little later for more info!
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

OK I am back with 100 test strips in my hot little hands :lol:

While I was gone DH fed Bert!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cat(2)_steam

I have not given Bert his PM shot.
I am going to go test him now.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

it's ok, let's get another test and see what's up.

You're quite a bit behind your regular shot time now. If you shoot late tonight, can you still shoot 12 hours after this in the morning, or do you need to be back on schedule in the morning? I know your schedule tends to be pretty tight. How late are you now?
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

OK...Bert ate about 12 hour ago and his BG is 173 right now.

Do you think I should skip his PM shot?

It was suppose to be given at 7:15PM.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

If I shoot now I can do it at 8:30 AM.
My schedule is a bit more regular now, so I do not have to be to work till 10AM.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

ok, so he's 173 and you can shoot 11.5 hours from now, that should work if you're comfortable. The plan is to shoot at get a +1 and probably a +2 to see where Bert is going, then we'll see from there if additional tests are needed. Does that sound doable or comfortable for you?
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

I just tested at 9:15, two hours after he should of had his shot.

262 is his number now.
Should I give him the full dose I have been giving?
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

I would, he's clearly on his way up. Then shoot at 8:30 tomorrow (which will be about +11) as long as he is high enough for you to be comfortable.

In the morning if he isn't high enough for comfort at +11, then you can shoot a reduced dose before you leave in the AM.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

Just gave him his full dose...will sleep on the couch and test through the night.
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

ah great! Yai - Bert has some juice! :lol:

hey Kathy, can u update ur subject line 03/07 Bert PMPS # - now you're good to go!
 
Re: Holy Cow Guys...Need help for PM shot!!

Welcome back Kathy. Hope you don't have a loooong night. Give Bert a big hug from me please. :mrgreen:
 
Things have settled down here tonight.
All the humans and the drooler are in bed.
Time for some cuddles with my Berty boy and I.

He gives such a good kitty massage when he is on my tummy :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top