03/06 Rupert PMPS 437, +3-392

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65429&p=710096#p710096

yesterdays numbers:
AMPS: 549
+2 489.6
+6 484.2
+11 430.2
PMPS 460.8
+3 194.4
+ 4 192.6
+ 9 147.6


Starting out in the pink today. hopefully he comes down slowly and we don't have another dive...least he didn't bounce quite so high this time around. He's bright and happy this morning. Probably because he was out and about last night .. yawn ~O) ~O) ~O) . I was determined to get a +7 or +8 (1:30 or 2:30am).. but woke up at 3am instead... had to go cat hunting! it was cold (for us) outside last night, hovering around freezing, and really super windy. Guess he was enjoying himself outside because it took me half an hour to get him in. grrrr. Still, got my data and went back to bed. nearly overslept this morning, woke up right at 6:30! mad dash downstairs, grab cat, poke, give him his shot and now he's just finished eating his breakfast. Luckily pre-shot number was both high, and rising from +9 so no worries that I didn't get an earlier test. phew!

hope everyone had a good day,. . I'm off in search of much needed tea!

caffeine-coffee-lol-cat-cup.jpg
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340

Hi guys .. rupert, what were you doing outside last night at 3 a.m.?? Don't you know that is the time to be in bed all snuggled in? Hoping for a nice slow drop today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340

Definitely a better start to the morning! Have you tried Neosporin with pain relief for Rupert's ears? Anne puts some on Zener's ears after the last poke at night and they are amazingly healed in the morning. We use the ointment. Have a good day!
Liz
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340

I've used the ointment but I find that it makes it difficult to get a blood drop, I know it's supposed to make it bead up better, but it really seems to make it spread and run. But I think I'll put some on today after his +2 poke and then I'll just really alcohol swab his ear before I poke it at +5.

Off to feed the horses now. My animals get waited on hand and foot, wish I could teach one of the cats to make tea at least! ttyl
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

darn, +2 and back to red, guess he ran out of juice early! He's having another couple of tablespoons of Ocean breeze with his Lysine powder mixed in.

I'm off to work +6 test shold be interesting. I predict he'll be hovering red/pink. now lets hope he proves me wrong!
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

Anne puts the neosporin on after the last poke at night and I wipe it off in the morning. Have you used the "pain relief" version? The alcohol might sting...
Liz
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

We use the pain relief neosporin as well. It really seems to help. Ugh on the red. Come on down Rupert. Wrong way buddy!
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

Taking Rupert in tonight (if hubby is home to help!) at 5:30 to see the vet. Hoping to get her to check his mouth and to schedule a dental.

He gets HIDEOUSLY stressed going to the vet so I assume his numbers will be thru the roof tonight.. poor fella. Hopefully he starts from a nice low place before we stuff him in the cat box! Hoping to get him home by 6;30 for his regular shot time. I'm going to get a pee sample and take with me. Am wondering if she'll suggest antibiotics immediately until he gets his teeth done. This will affect his levels right? but wouldn't that also indicate that the infection IS a problem? I know that when we first took him in and he was on a/b for a few days (before diagnosed as diabetic), he immediately looked a TON better. Wonder if she'll suggest a/b without scheduling a dental? in which case..a gain.. would that be a good 'test' of the theory that something is going on anyway or do the a/b lower blood sugar just by themselves?
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

Ouch on that bounce Rupert! Plus you're headed the wrong way. Slide on down, nice a slow.
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426

not sure what you're asking re the urine sample/infection. do you have reason to think he has some sort of infection? it's true that infection, pain, stress all can increase BG, but it can also just be high because he's diabetic.

to get a good urine test, if you're thinking he has a urinary tract infection, it needs to be a cystocentesis - not sure if i have that spelled right. a needle is inserted into the bladder and a sterile sample is withdrawn, then cultured. cultured is important, because just throwing antibiotics at an unknown issue doesn't help.

re the neosporin - you want it 99% off before you test, but i wouldn't use alcohol. i think with all the pokes that would hurt. just wipe it thoroughly with a tissue or cotton. that's why i put it on at night as well - by morning it's mostly gone.

your question about the pill pockets - the duck & pea doesn't have sugar in it and is ok for diabetics. the other flavors are too high in carbs. even so, if you're going to use them for treats, i'd probably use a very small, pea-sized amount.

punkin's up in the rafters with rupert today. bouncy bouncy bouncy.
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428

staying in the red, steadfastly.. he tends to dropp around the +7 mark.. be interesting to see what he is at +11... will test before we go to vet, hopefully be home in time for his regular scheduled shot time.
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428

was thinking of taking urine sample because the vet had mentioned us bringing one in 'next' time anyway. She likes to run tests! and i want her to get on with this rather than stalling and doing more waiting for test result. I am convinced it's his teeth, but she suggested it could be a urinary infection (he really shows no signs of it being that) so I want to have everything there so she can test immediately!

however.. Stu just called (he's been working for 22 hours straight and is totally exhausted!) and he won't be home till tomorrow night, so vet appt. moved to Saturday morning. Maybe between now and then we can get Rupie to stop bouncing quite so much. disappointed with the +6, and am assuming the PMPS will be thru the roof again. of course he likes to surprise me! Hopefuly he won't be super low because I seriously need to get some sleep tonight.

I really wonder how it works for 'regular' people (!!) who just do what the vet says and shoot the poor cat with 2 units morning and night with no tests in between and bring the cat back in to the vet a MONTH later to see what's happening?!!! that's what we were started on and Rupert very quickly went down to 49 on that amount... I think we ARE going to have to creep him up a bit, but starting that high and not monitoring, whilst meaning that the beans get to sleep a lot more.. just seems so :shock: to me!
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428

Pip & Rupert said:
I really wonder how it works for 'regular' people (!!) who just do what the vet says and shoot the poor cat with 2 units morning and night with no tests in between and bring the cat back in to the vet a MONTH later to see what's happening?!!! that's what we were started on and Rupert very quickly went down to 49 on that amount... I think we ARE going to have to creep him up a bit, but starting that high and not monitoring, whilst meaning that the beans get to sleep a lot more.. just seems so :shock: to me!

What happens is you get a heap of cats go hypo and then you get a proportion of those vets that see that decide it's better not to treat diabetic cats at all - the morons :evil: Vyktor's old vet was one of those so Vyktor didn't get any treatment until about 6 weeks after diagnosis when he went DKA and I kicked that vet to the curb :evil:
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428,PMPS 437

PMPS 437. No diving action today, little action at all. Not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing?!

will give him his regular 1.5 tonight. Awaiting further instructions re dose for tomorrow perhaps? He's had his usual Ocean breeze (man that stuff is runny and stinky but he loves it!), been out for a pee, and is now hiding under the dining table! I just got the woodstove started so he'll be in here shortly, they just can't resist!!!! hope everyone has a good night.
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428,PMPS 437

Hi Pip, if you want some dosing advice, use the question icon and put "dosing Q" in the subject line of the first post. That will let the dosing experts know that you would like their advice. The wood stove does sound irrestible. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428,PMPS 437

i've bumped up jill's post on counting cycles for you - the late shot on 3/4 started your count over. you're looking at nadirs under 100.

btw, you want to be extra-accurate with your spreadsheet. while i was counting cycles on f1.5 dose, i saw no entry for a pm shot on 2/28. we really depend on the spreadsheets, so it's the place to put some extra attention. i assume you didn't skip a shot there, if you did, that would matter too.

also, when you change doses, make it a full .25u change instead of fattening or skinnying it. that's for people who have honed in on a dose and learned that their cat is extra sensitive to just a drop. at this phase, you want to give the full .25u changes.

re your question in punkin's condo - i do use R because punkin is a high-dose kitty. he has acromegaly, a tumor in his pituitary gland that has caused him to be diabetic. that's why his voice is so sexy! hahahaha we don't use R on most cats. it's harsh and most cats simply don't need it.
 
Re: 03/06 Rupert AMPS 340,+2-426,+6-428,PMPS 437

thanx again guys.. didn't think I was ready to up the dose. just thought I'd ask.
 
+3 and he's at 392.. slight dip, at least it's pink. will be interesting to see where he is AMPS tomorrow. Having the data is interesting, twice he's dipped to yellow PMPS from a Pink at this time, and once he's dipped to blue. rest of the time pink or nasty red. Hopefully he's just clearing a bounce and we'll hit something nicer tomorrow. of course I'm stressing a little seeing such a huge band of red on his SS. Tomorrow is another day. He seems fine. came for a cuddle on the couch this evening. course I had to ruin that by poking at him after about an hour, but he seems bright and happy. Was actually surprised to see the 392, was expecting lower given his demeanour. If he goes out on one of his midnight prowls tonight he'll get some exercise. I'll leave a little LC food out for him.

I'm going down to give the horses their nighttime snack, Rupie will come with me for his evening pee. Hubby called, he'll be back home tomorrow night. I miss him, it will be nice to have someone else to monitor Rupie and give me feedback on how things are going. I think Rupert misses him too.

have a good night everyone, I"m off to bed after the animal feeding rituals!
 
Hi Pip

On the neosporin, be sure you have the pain relief ointment, not cream. We also put it on after we poke. I have a bunch of baby washcloths and clean her ears of the ointment with those. The alcohol will sting but will also dry his ears out which you don't want.

One other thing I wanted to address was being sure we have the most accurate info in your condo and that it is the same as your SS. For instance, you said in your condo on 2/22 that you shot a skinny 1.75u.  ss says a fat 1.5u.  later, in the same thread you said you would shoot a skinny 1.5u the next morning. ss says you shot a fat 1.5u that next morning.
 
These kinds of little differences will affect the numbers and it will affect what kind of advice is given. We are here to help and are happy to help and the better the info we have, the better we can help :-D thanks Pip!

Glad DH will be home soon...always helps to have the moral support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top