03/05 Pookie, AMPS 160 , +2 193, +4 155, +7.5 263, PMPS 259

Fog123

Member Since 2021
Good Morning,

Pookie is in the blue this morning after a mostly fasted night.

We were going to up his dose today based on last week's results to 1.5U.

His normal dose has been between 8:00-8:30 am and last night was dosed at 8:15 pm.

We are around and can monitor today.

Thanks
 
Link to your previous condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-293-increase-tomorrow-or-maintain.244129/

Just to be clear, are you asking whether to give the dose or whether to take the increase?

Since you are following SLGS, you hold the dose a week. And today is day 7, so the increase is not due yet.

If you can monitor, I would shoot. Today may be a good day to see how low this dose is taking him. Yesterday's AM cycle was a bounce cycle and the curve was therefore flat and high.
 
OK, will shoot. Will also check into what a bounce is. Still very new to this. Thanks for the advice.
 
OK, will shoot. Will also check into what a bounce is. Still very new to this. Thanks for the advice.

I hope you have enough strips and HC/MC food.

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Ordering more strips today and he loves Friskies shredded. We have honey and maple syrup at the house as well.

Thanks for the information on the bounce - it makes perfect sense.
 
Dosing at 1.25U. Thus completes day 7 of 1.25U (I would have bet $100 that yesterday was day 7, you'd think an engineer can count). Will try to take one or two more tests tonight and see what happens. Will likely be asking what to do tomorrow (hold or go up to 1.5) but will wait to see how the night goes and what AMPS looks like.

We've just broken our lancet jabber thingy so are using the lancets as is. I'm OK with that for now.
 
Back
Top