03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305; +9 360 PMPS 385

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
Frankie weighed at the vet 4.9 Lbs on Saturday 2-23, which is under weight, She has gained weight since changing diet. I don't have a baby scale, but I can tell this just by looking at her and picking her up. TR Protocol states that underweight cats "frequently" get .25 units per kg. So being conservative and basing her weight on what she was at the vet, which is 2.2 KG, the proper dose would be 0.55 units. So I am pretty comfortable with starting here. Also based on what the vet had initially said she would start on which is 1 unit, I am being conservative.

So the Shot went well.. I ended up doing it at 6:30 because I was practicing with syringes and water to make sure I was doing it right (I threw the practice syringe out and used a new one to shoot) I never realized how really small this dose is until now. At first I was drawing 5 ML of water and logic set in that, if I was giving that much insulin, then how can the 100 U last months? Thank God I figured that out before I shot her!! :shock: I did the .5 ml and tented her neck skin and came in from the top side while she was eating and she didn't even flinch :-D
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Whew glad logic set in...lol Yes .5 is a very tiny dose, but then again Frankie is a tiny little girl. Sounds like you have the same shooting method as I do for Autumn only difference is that I come in from behind with her, but that is because I want to make sure I shoot the right cat since they are all busy eating lol

I still think that learning to test is far harder than learning to give shots. So you already have the hard part over with, before ever having to add the shot part in.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Since this is your first time shooting ever and it's Frankie's first time ever.....please post on the tight regulation board too and let them know it's the first time ever (just so you have lots of eyes on you if you have questions) Hope all goes well today and glad to see you're getting started
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Dan

Where you post is entirely up to you, but if you do post on BOTH boards then please link them so everyone can keep up with all the replies. Although personally I see no reason to post in both places as there are eyes over here as well as there. Since I knew you were going to be shooting the first time I was already planning on keeping an eye out for you today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

I will probably remain on one board because I have other things to do today (work), so time factors play in. Frankie just jumped up into my lap and was purring, so I think thats a good sign. I will test her bg at 9:30 (+3).

Thanks everyone!!
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Purring is always a good sign! :-D I'll be keeping an eye out for you throughout the day, but will probably be in and out as I also have plenty to do today as well...16 litter boxes, a dog that thinks he needs to go outside to bark periodically..lol. But will make sure that I'm on should you need a hand.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Being new, you do NOT want to be posting multiple forums because not everyone looks in all forums, so your replies will piecemeal, all over the place.... it will be up to you to figure out which advise from what person on which forum to follow.
If you post over on the Lantus forum, you will have more people around to see your posts but you will still have to weed through the replies.
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Good job Dan. :thumbup

Shots were always the easy part for me, testing was tough. Took a while but we got it. :-D

My only advice, is make sure you can see skin when you shoot. At that small a dose, it's hard to tell if you gave a fur shot, as I found out. So I make sure I SEE the needle enter the skin. Since I can't get down to Lucian, I put him up on the table, so I have a better view. :-D And I shoot while he eats his treats.

You're doing fantastic! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

I agree with Blue and with Mel as far as where to post.
While there's nothing wrong with posting here, in TR and in Health, it really depends on the subject matter and the specific situation.

Since this is your first shot, and you've already got eyes on your adventure today, keeping it all in one thread on one forum is the best way to go.

So, what happened at +3?

Carl
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Been waiting on that too...curious to see how our girl likes a little bit of juice today. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383

Sorry, I got side tracked with work, Just tested, so it was +4, she is at 282, when should I test next? +6, or check her at +5? what ever it is, I'm setting an alarm this time as I know this is the most important time.
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282

Grab a +6 since that should be right about her lowest point or her nadir. Then probably today the next one at +9 unless she drops really low at +6, but I don't think she will since its taken her 4 hours to drop 100pts, so that is a nice easy onset. Only about 25pts an hour on average.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282

MommaOfMuse said:
Grab a +6 since that should be right about her lowest point or her nadir. Then probably today the next one at +9 unless she drops really low at +6, but I don't think she will since its taken her 4 hours to drop 100pts, so that is a nice easy onset. Only about 25pts an hour on average.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.

Will do... Alarm set for 12:30
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282

Yeah I have the alarms on my cell phone set to Autumn's test times...She now hears it go off and goes running for her testing spot to get her chicken, unfortunately, all 14 including the drooler have figured out that alarm going off means treat time and come running too...lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282

Mel

To funny, I would like to see a picture of that, all 14 cats and the drooler sitting around while Autumn gets tested. :lol:

Terri
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305

305... odd? I thought it would be lower, maybe she is not responding to such a low dose.... but then again it could be depot effect?
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305

Since you just started shooting not all of it is going to her but to build up the shed. It could be 2 or 3 days before she shows improvement. But it is worth it being on an L insulin.

I actually shave Sneakers so i can make sure she was getting the shot. And at 20+u a shot those fur shots were getting expensive :shock: ! Now I know I've shot her b/c I can see the needle go in. She also had dandruff and matts in her fur so that make it difficult as well. Change of food and her coat is looking far better.
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305

There are two L insulin. Lantus and Levemir both are human depot insulin. So we just call them the Ls. The other insulin for cats is ProZinc which is an in and out insulin.

That 305 really is about the same number as the 282, given the variance in all meters. So she really didn't rise that much and is more than likely just kinda surfing. But as Heather pointed out since this is her first shot ever most of the insulin right now is going to form the depot. We usually don't expect to see much action in the first couple of cycles but there are some cats that respond immediately which is why its good to start on a day when you have the time to monitor.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305

Back up to 360, next in injection is 6:30 MST, I'll post PS then.

She has been hangin out with me in my office all day and seems to be very happy... :smile:
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305; +9 360

Looks like she is giving you a nice normal beginning curve for just starting out. You will probably see a little more action on each consective cycles as her shed begins to fill and more and more of the insulin starts going to her to help bring down her BGS.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305; +9 360

MommaOfMuse said:
Looks like she is giving you a nice normal beginning curve for just starting out. You will probably see a little more action on each consective cycles as her shed begins to fill and more and more of the insulin starts going to her to help bring down her BGS.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

So does this mean I'm up all night? Or should a lights out test around 9:30 (3+) be okay? I can do it if necessary... probably is necessary, so I'll just work after everyone goes to bed
 
Re: 03/04 Frankie AMPS 383; +4 282; +6 305; +9 360

You should be fine with just a lights out test tonight. If she doesn't drop any faster than she did today. I very seldom stay up with mine after her lights out test unless she has done something unexpected like drop from 300 to double digits in 3 hours. Then I will stay with her or set my alarm to get a midcycle test in.

If Frankie is still in the 200s by bedtime then call it a night. If she has dropped into the low 100s you will want to get up to test her at +6 again. Although I don't really expect her to, since it takes about 3-5 days for the initial shed to build. If I was a betting woman I would expect her to be back up close to her amps tonight, but perhaps a little lower tomorrow morning on her amps test as her shed begins to fill. This is one of the reasons we hold the dose for a week before deciding to go up or down in dosage to give them a chance to build/readjust the shed and settle on the dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
385 PMPS. Shot went well... I can see how you can get a fur shot, however, I will not be shaving this kitty... you want to talk about shredded... that would be me.... my dinner timing (for the family) was off and since the breakfast bar is the only surface I could do the testing on, she was not very comfortable with the poke... I have to tell my son to be quite and my wife to back away from the sink and stop doing the dishes for a minute. Then dinner got over done because I miss timed the noodles and the spinach going in... so the spinach was too soft and the chicken was too tough :-x
 
Yep right about where I thought she would be by this evening...it all gets easier as you both get into the routine..including timing dinner, showers, etc around shots and testing.

Although I have to admit with the list of ingredients...just what were you making? It sounds yummy.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
http://www.food.com/recipe/balsamic-chi ... ato-427292

Although it wasn't that great...But I think if you served it on a bed of raw spinach it would be better but Amy is having trouble stomaching salads due to preggers, so I thought cooked would be better for her. Also the breasts I had were huge (no pun intended but :shock: ) and it took too long for them to cook, so it was tough. All in all it was eatable, but not my best work.
 
Oh that does look good...think I my just have found dinner tomorrow night. Yeah I remember when I was preggers everything I actually wanted to eat gave me heartburn. But oh the prize at the end makes up for all the inconvience of being in that condition.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Glad I didnt waste my good balsamic on it :roll: Honestly the whole meal would have been better if it was more of a chicken cachatorrie (with spaghetti like sauce), but I had fresh tomatoes that needed to get used and I'm too lazy to make spaghetti sauce from scratch... actually, I should say I don't have the time...maybe some fresh parm chips on top would be good too... but defiantly would do it over raw spinach... just let it sit for a few minutes and let the spinach cook with the chicken and sauce sitting on top..
 
Well, since there is no risk of her going in to hypo with that kind of number, I'm going to bed, but I think I might come check her at +6 just to be safe.
 
And yes going up still at +3 is fairly normal right now as it is a little bit of a food spike from her dinner.

Seeya in the morning.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top