? 03/04 Chippy PMPS 130; 149 1 hour after eating; considering skipping shot?

Chippy & Ingrid

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2753364/

Hi All,
Once again Chippy is low (130) at shooting time, and I don't know what to do. DH
thinks we should shoot anyway based on previous drops, but I feel like we can't be sure of anything based on his previous behaviors.
I'm feeding him now -slightly higher carb food than normal -and will test again in an hour. My questions are:

How much of a food bump would be "safe" for shooting?
Does he need to eat more if we do shoot in an hour?
Should we do a partial dose?

I'm so confused!
 
Your spreadsheet says you are following SLGS. Do you might adding that to the signature, just makes things a bit faster for us to respond.

It's unfortunate you fed. One technique is to withhold food for 20-30 minutes and test again to see if he's coming up to a point you are comfy shooting.
How much of a food bump would be "safe" for shooting?
That's where getting a few +1 tests after feeding his regular meal will help out. Cats differ on how food sensitive they are. I knew Neko got a 30 point food bump from dinner, but that might be a completely different number for another cat. So if Neko went higher than 30 points an hour later, I knew she was on the rise above and beyond what food would do to her numbers.
Does he need to eat more if we do shoot in an hour?
No, you don't have to feed more. Did you feed all his meal just now? Several smaller meals are general easier on a healing pancreas, so spreading out meals is in general a good thing to do.
Should we do a partial dose?
A partial dose is one option. The Dosing Methods Sticky section on SLGS describes options for when you get a preshot value lower than you are used to. Test again in an hour and post here. Delaying a shot acts a bit like a dose reduction already. Shooting an hour later (if you do) means tomorrow morning's shot is 12 hours after that. So keep that in mind with your schedule.
 
Thank you! As I said, I'm very confused. I thought the SLGS protocol suggested feeding and retesting if the number was lower than expected. However, I've read so many things at this point that I feel a bit cross-eyed.
Do you know how long a food bump typically lasts?
 
Shooting an hour later (if you do) means tomorrow morning's shot is 12 hours after tha
Sorry, one more question. Are you saying that we need to do his morning shot an hour later than normal if we shoot an hour late tonight? How do you work back to your normal schedule?
 
Thank you for the link. I just tested at 1/2 hour after eating, and he's lower. Is that normal that it would drop before the "bump"? I just feel like I have no idea what he's going to do. :(
 
So Chippy is flat so far. A 121 and 130 aren't that different. Normally food kicks in within 30 minutes. Can you test again @+1 just in case the food spike happens then? If flat at +1, you could feed a little more LC if you're worried. And get a +2.
+2 is when lantus onsets for most cats. If lower than preshot, you are likely in for an active cycle and will need to test more.

It takes a while to collect enough data...that's step one. You'll get more comfortable. This all just takes time. Keep reading the stickys, other people's condos and spreadsheets, and asking lots of questions.
 
did you actually shoot?
Sorry, no I didn't shoot. I was just treating the boxes like a clock. I just tested again and he's at 149 so am considering giving him a shot now, but still not sure. We skipped his dose 2 nights ago because he was too low. What are the risks of skipping another dose so soon?
 
He didn’t register ketones or DKA when diagnosed? If not a skip might just result in higher numbers for a cycle or more. If you shoot will you be able to monitor if needed? Can you be off s he duke in the morning?
 
He didn’t register ketones or DKA when diagnosed?
No, he didn't register ketones, and we've tested his urine several times at home (including yesterday) and he was still negative for ketones. I know that can be an issue with missed doses, so will try to test again tomorrow if I can catch him in the litter box. We decided to skip for tonight just to be safe and to avoid being up all night worrying. Thank you all, once again, for the hand-holding. This is just so unbelievably stressful, and I really appreciate all the great advice and reassurance.
 
Back
Top