03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57 +5.5 75R +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Higher than last night PMPS, but better than yesterday's AMPS. I was really hopping his number would be lower. Come down my sweet boy!!

Started using Rex's feeder. Had to lead him over to it - Not afraid of it, just not the normal routine - usually watches me put his food down.
There is also a way to record a message. So I recorded my phone alarm for his feeding.

Also split is food up 1/4 can Merrick at 0715 and scheduled his feeder for 1/4 can Merrick at 0815.
I am sure I will have to take him over there at 0815.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex AMPS 323 +2 299

Thanks Rex - Down a little from AMPS - Keep going!

Will give his ears a rest and check @ +4

Feeding Plan Tonight - Unless he is low, I will feed him 1/4 can at PMPS and 1/4 can by auto feeder PM+1
 
Re: 03/03 Rex AMPS 323 +2 299

Hi Dyana,

At least he is NOT afraid of it. Just doesn't associate it with food, yet.

I have the AF 105 Pet Automatic Feeder.

I think Rex associates my phone timer alarm with food, so I recorded it on the Auto Feeder to plays at feeding time.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex AMPS 323 +2 299 +4 267 +6 249 +8 201 +11 222

Rex is lovin Yellow today! I think he should try for some blue and then mix it up to make green! :)
 
Re: 03/03 Rex AMPS 323 +2 299 +4 267 +6 249 +8 201 +11 222

Sometimes a flat yellow cycle means action the next cycle. Paws crossed for those blues and greens tonight.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151

Wendy - You called it! :lol:
I was worried his last dose reduction would not hold. :-D

Just fed Rex 2nd half of his evening dindin.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124

BGs still dropping. Will be interesting to see what his Nadir will be.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124 +3 94

Rex has put 1 paw into the green lagoon and turned his yellow and blue to make green.

:lol:

** Question - He has dropped 30 points in 1 hour. Will check his BG in 30 minute and see if need to give a little food to slow things down. Good plan?
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124 +3 94

Nice greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

If this was a workday, would you have fed the +2? Think about what you'd do with the autofeeder and when Rex would get his meals during a day you are gone. Here's a chance to see what would happen with Rex on such a day.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124 +3 94

Wendy - that is good food for thought!

I would have panicked and fed @ +2 to be on the safe side. But I took a reading at +3, +3.5, & +4.

+4 shows him turning around. Grrr this is going to be very stressful!

Looking at yesterdays number he turned up at the same time - between +3 and +4
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124 +3 94 +3.5 83 +4 85 +4.

** OK he is at 63 BG

Gave him 1.5 tsp LC food - Merrick Cowboy Cookout. ** Retest in 30 minutes

** Suggestions ??? Don't know why he is going to low again and so quickly after a reduction! Grrrr
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS 186 +1 151 +2 124 +3 94 +3.5 83 +4 85 +4.

Feeding the LC now is perfect. You want to see if you can get him to start surfing and the 60's are a great place to surf.

Your +3.5 and +4 are virtually identical. With my Relion Confirm, I've tested the same drop of blood with the same meter but two different strips and gotten a much bigger difference than that. The specs say up to 20% difference are allowed.

Take a look at Rex's SS since you changed back to Merrick and started getting those lovely colors. After his first deduction on the 23rd, it took him a while to bounce and settle into the dose, then 7 cycles later he flirted with deduction, but didn't do it until the cycle after that for a total of 8. Then he only did one cycle with a bit of pink bounce, then got back to business and it only took him 4 cycles for the next deduction. Rex bounced a little longer after that one, and now he's back in business again 5 cycles after the last deduction. I think you are seeing pancreas healing happening. :-D

Remember, if you are nervous before going to class and Rex is dropping, you can always leave HC in the autofeeder. Worst case, he gets a bit more gravy and has slightly higher numbers. But he'll be safe and that's what is important.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57

Yes, another tsp of LC. He has slowed down, hopefully getting to nadir.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57

So Wendy, Rex would need to get down to a 50 to get an automatic reduction, right?

Not 51, 52, or 53
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57 +5.5 75R

64 on left ear
75 on right ear

@ +5.5

Should be good to goto bed, right?

And NO reduction?
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57 +5.5 75R

Looks like he's turned the corner. The general rule of thumb is two rising tests without food before going for bed. So go get your jammies on, brush your teeth, get ready for bed then a last test at maybe +6 before you hit the pillow. If you are worried at all, put out a little LC for Rex. You both did great tonight!

The protocol is indeed below 50 for a deduction. I wouldn't be surprised if Rex goes there soon.
 
Re: 03/03 Rex PMPS+4 85 +4.5 63 +5 57 +5.5 75R

84 @ +6

Rex should be fine now. Going to bed!

@Wendy - Thanks for helping! Have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top