? 03/03 Leela AMPS 138 +2 157 +4 171 +6 151 +8 144 +10 138 - Vet says OTJ trial?

Anna & Leela

Member Since 2026
Hi all! I’m sorry I’m new here and I’m still trying to get the hang of things.

Leela has been speed running this whole thing as far as I can tell. Two weeks into starting insulin and we’re regularly in the blue and sometimes green. We’ve had some rapid reductions (I think due to a high starting dose), at one point going back up at the vets advice before it becoming clear that was not going to work. I think I may have missed some reductions but hopefully have them all now. I didn’t really know what dosing method the vet was trying to follow and I think now it’s SLGS or a version of that.

Today the vet wants me to quit giving the insulin and see how that goes. I’m a hesitant because her numbers seem high for a human monitor. I thought about doing 0.1U if I can measure that.

To complicate matters she’s having an IBD flare up and we’re having a hard time getting her to eat.

Is it possible to get input on if an OTJ trial seems reasonable? Thank you!
 
Here is the link to your last post here for continuity: Low numbers right after shot

To answer your question, she's doing well for a newly diagnosed cat, but she isn't yet ready for an OTJ trial. We like to see most of the numbers under 100 when they are ready for a trial. And any above 100 should be barely above. How about giving 0.5 units a try? Yesterday she earned a 0.25 unit reduction down from the 0.75 unit dose.
 
Here is the link to your last post here for continuity: Low numbers right after shot

To answer your question, she's doing well for a newly diagnosed cat, but she isn't yet ready for an OTJ trial. We like to see most of the numbers under 100 when they are ready for a trial. And any above 100 should be barely above. How about giving 0.5 units a try? Yesterday she earned a 0.25 unit reduction down from the 0.75 unit dose.
Thank you for the response! So we would normally be giving her PM shot in about 20 minutes, but her BG is now at 93. I’ve noticed she keeps hitting her lowest points right before her PM shot every night. We give food every couple hours when we’re home, or every four hours for her timed feeder when we’re gone. But she’s not hardly eating no matter when or how often I give it so I’m not sure what to do if it’s a food timing issue. We gave mirtazapine tonight to try to help.

I’m unsure about giving the PM shot tonight when she’s this low.
 
Hi Anna,

Leela seems to be in a similar position to Arya. Maybe looking at her spreadsheet might be helpful although we didn’t have any problems with her eating fortunately. We are 5 days into our OTJ trial.

Paws crossed that your baby gets her groove back 🦋
 
When following SLGS, you don't shoot below 90. Hopefully she'll come up for you.
Yeah I haven’t been giving her a shot when she’s that low. The problem is it keeps happening. Is there anyway to avoid this or do I need to switch to TR to get her where she needs to be? We’re trying to get rid of the dry food because I know you have to do SLGS on dry food. It’s just been difficult with her low appetite (she was exclusively on wet food for years prior to this, so I don’t think it’s a dry food addiction, it’s just more enticing at the moment). She has an appointment with internal medicine next week to get a second opinion on her IBD treatment.

Unfortunately, we have to stay on schedule and don’t have much flexibility in times in the morning.
 
If on dry food, stick to SLGS. At some point, when you are home to monitor, you can try shooting a lower number than you have, and see what happens.

Can you hand test with a BG meter? Often the Libre tests much lower than a blood glucose meter does. 93 on a Libre might not be as low as you think it is.
 
If on dry food, stick to SLGS. At some point, when you are home to monitor, you can try shooting a lower number than you have, and see what happens.

Can you hand test with a BG meter? Often the Libre tests much lower than a blood glucose meter does. 93 on a Libre might not be as low as you think it is.
Is there a timeframe after switching to fully dry that she can start TR? Or right away after the dry food is gone? We’re down to about one tablespoon a day so hopefully in the next couple days we’ll be done with it.

We have a Relion but the Libre actually consistently tests quite a bit higher than the Relion, not lower. I’ve seen others here mention that can happen but it does seem like it’s usually the other way around.
 
Give it a couple days after giving the last dry food before switching to TR. The dry food can hang around the system longer.
 
Back
Top