03/02 Tinka 200 AMPS, 63 +5, 72 +7, 65 +9, 74 PMPS, 90 +2, 79 +3, 108 +4, 112 +5

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, hope you're all having a good week! We took a dose reduction for Tinka 8 cycles ago from 2 to 1.75. Whilst it wasn't technically earned she was surging the lagoon so much we were struggling to keep up with all the monitoring. She seems to be doing really well on the new dose. Pretty much back to mostly green and some blue with a bit of yellow from bounces which she seems to be clearing quickly. She seems to doing a fair about of surfing again. I'm loving all the green and knowing that its helping her to heal :)

I will say though that it does require a lot of monitoring and when I'm home its fine except when the pj parties are so regular it gets exhausting. If she keeps doing well on this dose and surfing low a lot I may need to take another dose reduction so that she can stay safe when I'm not at home and also so I have the time to rest for my own health's sake. Even though she didn't earn the last one she's doing well on the new dose I believe so hopefully will be the same if reduce again in a few days. Will see how it goes. Would love to know thoughts from others? Thanks!
 
Tinka's looking great! :D Love how well she's working the new dose. Another way that kitties can earn a reduction is a week spend all in normal numbers. At some point, Tinka may decide that's the way to go.
Thanks Wendy! :) What would constitute as normal numbers?

Just took her +3 and she's 4.4 / 79. I'm feeding her LC late dinner now and a drop of honey as I need to head to bed. If I leave it out im concerned she may drop low. As she didn't drop since AMPS and im feeding a little honey in her LC meal now do you think I can call it s night or do you think she needs more monitoring? I can leave LC treats out for her.
 
Last edited:
Tinka is looking awesome, Tanya! Nice work. I guess she really wanted that reduction, even though she didn't technically earn it. :D
Thanks Tricia :) I'm really pleased we're making progress too! I just got up to get another BG at +5 as wanted to make sure she was safe as the last test at +4 was influenced from the food bump and honey I gave her at +3. Technically she could still be influenced by the honey but she looks like she's surfing now. +3 was 79 (LC+honey), +4 108, +5 112. Shes pretty hungry just gave her some LC treats and will leave some more out now too. @Wendy&Neko thank you for your help tonight too :) I was having internet issues our comupter sometimes disconnects and I can't update the SS on my phone which is why it was missing last few BG's and I could only put them on the thread subject. I'm wondering how to go about updating the SS from my iphone, not sure if thats possible? Anyways thanks everyone we are heading to bed, hoping Tinka surfs safe the rest of the eve. Hope you all sleep well too :)
 
I'm wondering how to go about updating the SS from my iphone, not sure if thats possible?
Check the Apple store (or whatever they all it - I have Androids) and see if you can download Google Sheets. You should be able to access your SS from that.

+3 was 79 (LC+honey), +4 108, +5 112. Shes pretty hungry just gave her some LC treats and will leave some more out now too.
What a lovely surf tonight! This is really good, Tanya! :) We have so many people struggling right now, it just helps to lift the mood to see a kitty doing so well. (anti-jinx)
 
Check the Apple store (or whatever they all it - I have Androids) and see if you can download Google Sheets. You should be able to access your SS from that.

What a lovely surf tonight! This is really good, Tanya! :) We have so many people struggling right now, it just helps to lift the mood to see a kitty doing so well. (anti-jinx)
Thanks Tricia I'm really pleased to see the progress too. The itch has increased since yesterday not sure why. I'm going to start the homeopathics again and see if that helps. If it doesn't then I may need to up the steroid a little termporarily. She's on a pretty low dose. At same time she's on apoquel but im not sure its working. Spoke to the vet today and they say it should work within 40 days. So from Sunday we go cold turkey with it two days he says and if she's much more itchy then we know its working. If there's no difference then we know it wasn't helping. Tbh I don't think it is as we are still having to use a low dose steroid to control the itch. She has been doing pretty good with very little itch but last night I noticed her starting up again so I'm really hoping the homeopathics helps as I don't want to have to up the steroid after all our hard work reducing it down and getting BG more controlled. I'm temporarily using the e-collar today but hoping it just brief for today. She really seems to be doing better on the diabetes front though so thats really positive. Thanks to you all for your wonderful help!!! :)
 
She has been doing pretty good with very little itch but last night I noticed her starting up again so I'm really hoping the homeopathics helps as I don't want to have to up the steroid after all our hard work reducing it down
You're smart to jump on this as soon as you see a change. Don't let it get ahead of you. It'll be good to rule the apoquel in or out, too.
 
You're smart to jump on this as soon as you see a change. Don't let it get ahead of you. It'll be good to rule the apoquel in or out, too.
Thanks Tricia :) Just makes me wonder though what it is that made her skin feel itchy again. I can't seem to do the elimination diet as there is not one protein she'll eat for more than a few weeks without going off it. So I'm not sure which protein may be bothering her. Or may not be one of the proteins she's eating it may be something in the environment, could be trees or pollens outside blowing into the house, who knows. If the homeopathics dont work I'm gona look into this hair analysis testing in australia as its pretty affordable just not sure how much suppplements and shipping will cost. If that doesn't work then we looking at like at least $1k to go to the dematologist. Poor baby is looking glum in the e-collar but i'm hoping it breaks the lick itch cycle and hopefully homeopathics can help the detox process. The do work best when not on steroids the homeopathic vet said but unfort right now without the steroids the itch is really bad. It will be good to see on sunday and monday if apoquel is working. No point burdening her body with a drug thats not working not mention its costing us over $100 for a months supply! I was really hoping it would work in place of steroid though as it doesn't affect the BG like steroids do, but unfort I don't think it is. I may try the antihistamine as an option too as we've not tried that yet. These kitties hey, like to keep us busy;)
 
Itching has got to be the worst - at least with most other issues you can figure out what's causing it, or at least narrow it down. Itching is so often (at least with my cats) a big old aggravating mystery! :mad:
 
Itching has got to be the worst - at least with most other issues you can figure out what's causing it, or at least narrow it down. Itching is so often (at least with my cats) a big old aggravating mystery! :mad:
I totally agree its really frustrating and I tends to stress me out a lot as I can't stand seeing Tinka hurting and down. I was just thinking I gave her the tiniest piece of tuna the other day as I was making DH I tuna salad and she was desperate for some. She only gets raw food now and thats only rabbit, pork, duck and lamb. I though I teeny tiny piece the size of my nail would be fine. That was Wed eve. Increased itching started very next day on thursday and more itching today. Its seems crazy to react to that small of an amount but I guess their systems can be really sensitive with allergies and their immunity is compromised. Will not be doing that again. The thing is with the homeopathics is that sometimes it gets worse before it gets better. Only way to get through the worse is e-collar or increase steroids, both not great options :( Anyways I just got to hope and pray its a short flare and that the its decrease by tmrw so the e-collar can come off. Really dont wana up the steroids when she's doing so well with better BGs numbers.

I am working with the other vet now as my vet was being so controlling with Tinka's diabetes and didn't want me home testing more than once a day. This other vet is way more open for me to do things. He's funny though when I originally told him I was fine dosing like giving 0.75 when we started out near the beginning he was like "how do you even give that small of a dose??" I'm like I learnt about fine dosing on this group. He was amazed as had never heard of it. Today I tell him Tinka is getting 1/8 steroid in eve and 1/16 in the morn and he says same things. "How do you even give that small a dose??" I say I'm using a pill cutter, its a little challenging but it works ;) But I like that he's happy for me to do it as long as its working for Tinka :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top