02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 +6 286 PMPS 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Strange rise at +4 as per last night, not sure if the same thing happened during the day.

If no action tonight I am thinking I should increase again tomorrow morning. Nadirs have generally been close enough to 300, should I go up by 0.5 instead of 0.25? Should I try a new cartridge of insulin first? It would be very coincidental if that was the problem but it does occur to me that I dropped this cartridge once no so long ago. Also there is quite a bit of air in there, does that matter? It's not air bubbles just that the cartridge (not solostar) is half insulin and half air.

I don't have anyone to give Vyktor's shot if I go my friend's funeral. I am really concerned about missing particulary given what's happening now after one reduced and one missed shot. The details have not been confirmed yet but based on the rumours and the flights left available he would miss a morning shot and be 2 1/2 hours late for his evening shot. As much as I want to be there if I can't go I can't go, Rob would understand he knows Vyktor. If he has a chance for remission I don't want to stuff it up for him. What are your views?

Recap:
362 AMPS
313 +6
281 PMPS
310 +4
284 +7

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64832
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

Sorry Serryn, no dose advice, but as for the funeral, if you think Vyktor will suffer from you going, then I think Rob would understand. I'm a big believer of the spirit being around you for a while, so he will know whats going on, and will forgive you.
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

Hi Serryn, if you're in doubt about leaving Victor, I'm sure your friend would understand. I always have some bubbles no matter if the insulin is new or getting older. I thought it was the syringes.
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

hi serryn!

the TR protocol would have one increasing every 6-10 cycles - you've only had 3 at the 2.25 dose.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Is Vyktor on post-dental antibiotics?

regarding Rob's service, you skipped and reduced for the dental. my gut reaction is that his prospects for going OTJ will not be changed by a week of wonky numbers as you try to get him back on track. but i'm sure others will be along with their 2 cents worth as well to try to help you decide.

i think a big factor is how you will feel if you don't go. when i was in college my roommate was killed in El Salvador (sem abroad) and it was just before finals, the service was 900 miles away and i didn't go. that's been a lot of years and i still regret not going. perhaps as people give you their thoughts it will help you weigh things and make a decision that works for you. there's not really a Right Answer, just the one that helps you most.

eta: air in the insulin vial/pen in itself doesn't hurt anything. if you get a zillion tiny bubbles that you can't get to coalesce, that's different. our pen did that when the lantus went bad. but air alone shouldn't be a problem.
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

I think that if you want to go to the service, then you should go. All of us have missed shots, whether accidentally or on purpose, and all of our cats have survived the experience. Any setback, if there is a setback, would only be temporary. I missed a good friend's memorial service when Lucy was on insulin, and I regret it.

Look at Jazzy's spreadsheet to see how often I missed shots with her. :roll: I was sick and kept either forgetting or falling asleep and missing shot times, but she kept right on rolling.

About dose, I wouldn't increase too quickly. Looking at Vyktor's spreadsheet, he hardly ever shows movement until at least the 4th cycle of a dose increase, and sometimes in cycles 6-8. This could still be "New Dose Wonkiness" so don't be in too big a hurry to increase.
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

I'm a big believer in facilitating grieving, so I'm weighing in on the side of you going as well, Serryn.
Vyktor will be back on track in no time...
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

Hi Serryn,

I would think that it would be fine for you to attend Rob's memorial service if you think that Vyktor has recovered enough from his dental. Does he also have a medication schedule that must be adhered to, or it is just the insulin shot? If just one shot has to be skipped, I don't think that is a problem. If, however, you will be stressed by worrying about being further delayed because of changed flight schedules, missed flights, etc. etc., then I'm sure that Rob would understand if you attended his service in your thoughts.

Whatever you decide to do, it will be the right decision for you, for Rob and his family, and for Vyktor.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

Serryn, I see both sides of the story..I find it so hard to leave Moonie for long periods of time, but even I have skipped shots, when I had somewhere important to go to. and sometimes for many hours...She did bounce back in a day or 2..She was really fine, I just left lots of food.
I am also a spiritual advisor, and believe that a person on the other side feels the love from here, and stays around for a period of time..Since the other side is all Love, whatever you decide, your friend will still hold you in high esteem.
I am sorry for your loss.. Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 - increase tomorrow AM?

Serryn, if I have a decision to make and I feel a disconnect between my head and my heart, I put my heart aside and focus on all the facts I can gather, pro and con. If that doesn't change my heart, I go with whatever my heart says. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/29 Vyktor AMPS 356 +6 286

Serryn, I believe that funerals and/or memorial services are for the family and friends of the deceased, not for the deceased. The point of one going to such rituals is to mourn with the others attending and to support each other. Whether you choose to grieve publicly or privately is a personal choice, and I don't think there is a right or wrong way. Do you want to be there for and with his family? Do they need you? Are there mutual friends you want to see that will be there? Do you feel emotionally strong enough to participate? In general I find such gatherings to be unbearable, and the closer I am to the person the more unbearable it becomes. I have gone to some and others I've chosen not to go, but I haven't regretted either decision.

I can't speak to how Vyktor's health will be affected by not receiving a shot or shots, but I do think it should be a consideration in your decision-making. I think it's wise of you to seek counsel here on the Board.

big hug,
R
 
Thank you for your advice beans. I have decided to go, it does feel important for me to see some of the friends that we shared and to remember him together (I haven't seen some of them since I left Melbourne almost 4 years ago). Also my very bestest friend (who also knew Rob) lives in Melbourne, he came for a visit last year but he is very eager to see me since we have been reminded how quickly someone can be taken from us.

I got slightly better timed flights. I will be home until +5 of his PMS so I should know by that point if I need to leave out any HC or just plenty of his regular LC. He will miss his AMS and then I will be home 1 hour late for his next PMS. I avoided the cheap tickets of the unreliable airlines so expect the flights to run on time.

Vyktor's appetite finally curbed today so I think he is over trying to make up for his 22 hours without food. I haven't been poking around his mouth but he wants his under the chin scritches and doesn't flinch from our head rubs - we rub cheek bones. He was washing his face today too so whatever pain he has it seems he is able to cope well. Poor kitty must be used to a sore mouth anyway. Vet said he'd had other resorptive lesions that had resolved themselves ok by absorbing. He is one tough little fella.

I saw him yawn today and he does look a little odd with just one fang but I am loving his skinny little shaved hips, they are like velvet and must be kissed!

Itchy finger has been removed from the insulin increase trigger and patience pants have been donned.
 
Have a safe trip! Vyktor will be fine. I agree with Julie though on the increase. I would wait the full 6 cycles just to make sure. NDW can take awhile to clear and you don't want to give him too much insulin.
 
Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me either, but I think it is good for you to go to your friends funeral ... Vyktor will recover from a missed or late shot .. We have all had to make these choices at one point or another and all our kitties came through ..
 
:YMHUG: Serryn :YMHUG: I'm glad you decided to go. Vyktor will recover, we all do furshots once in a while and just look at it as one. I will give you closure to go and that is important for the long run.

Glad to hear that Vyktor is feeling better, he is one tough kitty and will bounce back in no time.
 
Serryn, I am so sorry for your loss and glad that you have decided to go. Vyktor will be just fine.
 
I'm glad you decided to go...these things, as hard as they are, are important. And Vyktor is a special kitty; I'm sure he understands, and he'll bounce back quite nicely for you when you return.

Be safe in your travels...we're still holding all of you in our prayers.

Amy
 
Vyktors Mum said:
I saw him yawn today and he does look a little odd with just one fang
It sounds like Vyktor is on the mend. :-D
For some weird reason I was sad to see BK lose 2 fangs. The 2 fangs remaining are upper right and lower left - it does look goofy :lol:

Safe travels Sherryn.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top