02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 203 +10 248 PMPS 367 +4 418

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
We missed on half his AB dose this morning, he's having doxycycline paste once a day. It was split between 2 pill pockets but one went over the edge of his bowl into the plate of water underneath it (note to self remove plate of water before feeding AB). I fished it out and he ate it but there didn't seem to be much if any AB left in there. I'm hoping that won't matter in the overall scheme of things.

His numbers look like a cat that needs more juice to me. I'm thinking increase tomorrow morning if we don't see some better numbers tonight. Is that right or should I give him a little more time?

Don't know if we need to take into account that he'll be missing another shot shortly. I plan to fly to Melbourne for Rob's funeral. Given the distance there will be no way I can avoid missing one shot. Depending on the timing (the details have not been settled yet, I think an autopsy has to be performed) it will possibly be two shots but I will try my best to avoid this.

There is a possibility I can get someone to give him his shot but if I do it will be a half dose because they won't be able to do a PS test or monitor (I assume that is the safest idea). She may not be able to do the shot anyway as the girl I have in mind has a houseful of animals herself. I am really really nervous at the thought of someone else doing his shot with no one to monitor, she is a recently qualified vet nurse with a diabetic dog but has never dealt with Lantus and I know they use a pen rather than syringes.

If she does do the shot do I need to reduce the shot just prior as well to drain his shed?

Thank you for your support.

Recap
311 AMPS
275 +4
265 +6
346 +8
311 PMPS
248 +4
293 +6

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64669
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

I'm not a dosing expert but I think I would wait to increase, since you are going to be heading out of town soon. It doesn't sounds like you'll be gone long, so you can re-evaluate when you get home. You don't need anything extra to worry about right now, and you will have to reduce/skip his dose while you're gone anyway. Although your pet-sitter sounds like she might be trainable - have you talked to her about home testing?

I'm glad you are able to get to Rob's funeral, I think it can be helpful. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

I think I'd wait too, Vyktor is still feeling the effects of the dental and his numbers could be effected by the pain and any infection that hasn't cleared up. Add on top of that the stress from routine change.

Ask Sienne, I think she has reduced the dose when she has to go out of town, but see what she thinks.
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

I would probably go ahead and increase, unless you think you're leaving tomorrow. He has plenty of room and it would be good to get his numbers down. When the petsitter is there, you can reduce for those cycles.

As far as skipping/reducing the shot before the one the petsitter is giving, just wait and see where his numbers are running when it's almost time to go. Unfortunately it is hard to plan more than a day ahead for these things.
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

Good luck with the new dose! I know Vyktor will work that juice!

I'm sure everything will fall into place for when you leave. If you have to miss a shot or two, Vyktor will get right back on track when you return - I'm sure he understands the importance of your trip. I don't blame you for being nervous about having someone else do the shot. I'm the same way, even though I also know a great veterinary nurse who could do it...she woudln't be here for tests, etc.

We're here for you :YMHUG: !!
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

(((((Serryn))))) You are such a good bean for Vyktor. He will be fine while you are gone and he will get back on track.
Liz
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

Serryn: Just wanted you to know we are thinking of you. Have a safe trip. Good luck with the dosecrease for Vyktor.
 
Re: 02/27 Vyktor AMPS 308 - more juice?

I would go ahead and increase.

I do cut my dose back when I travel. I have a petsitter come by who shoots but can't stay around to monitor. Like Libby said, let us know when you'll be traveling and we can work on dose with you about a day before you leave.
 
He's not bouncing so I don't understand the increase since PMS. New insulin was started on 02/02 so that should be okay.

Dosecrease will be effected for AMS.
 
Hi guys .. no shooting advice from me, just wanted to say again how sorry I am for your loss .. If you decide to reduce while away for the funeral I am sure vyktor will come down without any problems ..
 
I'm sure Vyktor senses your grief and is probably reacting to it. Hopefully the increase will help. I'm sending prayers of love and comfort for you and Rob's family through this heartbreaking time.
 
I don't have shooting advice either, but I also think he's probably picking up on your feelings and responding a bit. Take care of you, too. You're in our thoughts.
 
Hi Serryn, I know you'll be able to make the right choices as you know V the best. Sienne helped me decide how to reduce Simon's dose for some trips. He actually looked great after those trips--he was in a different situation as very newly diagnosed. I bet you can do one shot safely. Perhaps leave lots of LC out and available for peace of mind (or MC in a feeder timed to nadir?)

Hugs and prayers to you both!

You have me thinking I should get Simey a dental soon. With his progress, i'm thinking now and not later while he is using insulin and I can control his bg. With humans, dental and periodontal health is a big issue with diabetics, so I'm sure cats are similar. He hasn't had a dental visit and he's 13. Shoemaker's child with no shoes :) I sometimes try to scale him, but I know it is impossible to do a good job on a conscious, fighting cat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top