02/27 Bayley amps 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me and Bayley

Active Member
Kind of been all over lately - so trying to get some stability and figure out the dose - it seems we may have a less active period for her tumor. Went witn CS last night because she was starting in blue. I went back to 8u this morning - at +1.5 she was coming down and was at 227. i can do some spot checks today to see what happens :)

WCR - she seems really good today - just came in to get me up by rubbing and kissing my hand and then seemed like she was asking for a test... but I figured out that her plan was really to get a treat and was willing to test to get it - haha She seems happy today :) That makes me happy.
 
Hi Leslie!

8u seems a very reasonable dose decision. :)

You are seeing what me and Lorna see when we have to do reductions. When I have to do a reduction on Leo, I have to skip a dose and then BCS another couple of them over the next few cycles until that shed drains and ultimately I find the dose I was looking for was about 1-3u off where I was (currently at 28.5). The backtracking takes a while but it's the best thing you can do for them even though it's clumsy and pure guesswork. When in doubt, BCS or even skip the dose. I use a green number or very low blue number as my cue to skip. My last skipped dose came with a PS of 103.

I came to this method of Skip/BCS/BCS after much trial and mostly error LOL but I also watch very closely. Leo gets extremely agitated anywhere near or below 100, he's very uncomfortable. I find he is most comfortable in the 150 region so that's what I "aim" for. I also have found if I shoot a BCS anywhere near 100, he will go to and stay in the greens. He can build a serious shed, so I have to take a brute force approach to emptying it. Here's why I dump the shed when he's heading for greens: I can feed him 3-4 cans of HC and his numbers won't budge. Because of this response to HC, I know that if he were to enter the low greens, my only treatment option would be Karo or a trip to the vet.

Remembering that dose increases and dose decreases are nothing to do with your treatment of your cat is very important. You are chasing GH output 100% of the time and fluctuations in that output can really make you feel like a poor caregiver. Don't let that happen to you, ok? You're doing a great job, and I can see by your SS that you have made some wise decisions over the last few days.
(((hugs)))
..C
 
Re: 02/27 Bayley amps 286, +4 149

Thank you so much Carolyn ! I am going to have to read that a couple of times to take all that in I think. What do you think I should be planning to do from here then....

at +4 we are at 149 so she I do think that she needs a decrease in dose - in your much more knowledgeable opinion, what do you think i should be considering for dose starting tonight? Should I just hold the decreased dose for a few days and let the numbers roller coaster a bit until they steady out?
 
Hi Leslie,
Hope you are here, I see that 59 and I don't like it. I think you should BCS or skip the dose tonight. Also drop a full can of HC right now. I see by your notes that you have trouble pulling her up at low numbers. Don't waste time with teaspoons of HC.. you gotta go with the whole can.

I am having a hard time thinking of where her dose is, I might cut to 7u and hold til she climbs into ugly colors and then bump quickly 1/2u every 2 doses til you see her coming down.
 
Well - at least we are heading in a better direction right now. +10 up to 124. I will check her again at pmps and skip the dose if she is low or BCS it for sure :) I'll update. Thank you :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top