02/26 Sly AMPS 424, +2 378, +4 342, +10 372, PMPS 365, +2 320, +4 259

Gave his 5 Units.

I'll check him at +2.

I have read it multiple times, but I read all the overlap, carry over, and insulin depot material again last night, and I'm just confused :confused:
 
Need to devise a game plan for when that happens again. Maybe shoot half the dose?
Yes. In fact, if you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose without stalling. The reason i suggested a skip was because you were 3 hours behind schedule, had to go out today and the food change. Hopefully in the next few days you will have an idea of how low he is going on this dose with the high carb kibble out of the picture. Like Wendy said, a food change can take a few days to show fully in the numbers.

He is high this morning because of a combination of a bounce and no insulin to counter it.

I have read it multiple times, but I read all the overlap, carry over, and insulin depot material again last night, and I'm just confused :confused:
What are you confused about? Can't promise that I can help with it. :-)
 
Yes. In fact, if you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose without stalling. The reason i suggested a skip was because you were 3 hours behind schedule, had to go out today and the food change. Hopefully in the next few days you will have an idea of how low he is going on this dose with the high carb kibble out of the picture. Like Wendy said, a food change can take a few days to show fully in the numbers.

He is high this morning because of a combination of a bounce and no insulin to counter it.


What are you confused about? Can't promise that I can help with it. :)

I guess I'm just so shocked about the power of carbs! You think I would know, because I lost alot of weight on a low carb diet over 20 years ago, but I wasn't or am still not diabetic... So naturally, that's a huge factor at play.

I wondered about how long it would take to filter carbs out of the system, and was trying to determine if maybe it could have been a combination of the insulin depot kicking in, and possibly also the duration of the injection is better because of no carbs.

The last 2 days he stayed pretty level through the +7 area, but it just went too far for me last night. He had a really nice day.

I won't lie, I would have been a little scared dosing him the 5 at a 151 reading, only because he has onset early, and hits nadir before mid cycle, but with the carb decrease, it looks like his nadir point could be different now..?

Sorry if this sounds like I'm babbling, still on the first cup of coffee!! Lol

Thanks Bhooma!
 
Yes. In fact, if you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose without stalling. The reason i suggested a skip was because you were 3 hours behind schedule, had to go out today and the food change. Hopefully in the next few days you will have an idea of how low he is going on this dose with the high carb kibble out of the picture. Like Wendy said, a food change can take a few days to show fully in the numbers.

He is high this morning because of a combination of a bounce and no insulin to counter it.


What are you confused about? Can't promise that I can help with it. :)

In hindsight, I should have set my alarm and tried to grab a +8 or 9 last night, just to see when he started to rise, might have given me a better idea of an acceptable dose for a weird cycle like that.
 
I wondered about how long it would take to filter carbs out of the system, and was trying to determine if maybe it could have been a combination of the insulin depot kicking in, and possibly also the duration of the injection is better because of no carbs.
If it's wet food, we work with 2 hours for the carbs to leave the system. Dry food metabolizes differently and can affect numbers longer. Feeding carbs does reduce duration so he got longer duration yesterday plus he was clearing a bounce which means later nadirs.

I won't lie, I would have been a little scared dosing him the 5 at a 151 reading, only because he has onset early, and hits nadir before mid cycle, but with the carb decrease, it looks like his nadir point could be different now..?
Yes, it's possible that he will surf lower numbers for longer without the carbs giving him a bump and reducing duration. Normally the size of the dose does not affect a decision to shoot a lower preshot provided it is a good dose. In his case, the food change adds an element of uncertainty.

You aren't babbling at all! :-)
 
If it's wet food, we work with 2 hours for the carbs to leave the system. Dry food metabolizes differently and can affect numbers longer. Feeding carbs does reduce duration so he got longer duration yesterday plus he was clearing a bounce which means later nadirs.


Yes, it's possible that he will surf lower numbers for longer without the carbs giving him a bump and reducing duration. Normally the size of the dose does not affect a decision to shoot a lower preshot provided it is a good dose. In his case, the food change adds an element of uncertainty.

You aren't babbling at all! :)


Ahhh... What you said about clearing the bounce at the same time, this makes sense to me now. So quite possibly a few components to the whole scenario.

I imagine the next few days will show the true values of where the dose needs to be. For instance, if he achieves any lower numbers than we even had the last few days ( due to the diet change).

I am anticipating him to be higher than usual for several cycles due to the missing shot. If I wasn't going out today, I would have been comfortable giving him a slightly lower amount at the usual time.

I didn't feel like I had enough data with these numbers vs diet change to push through. Last week, I was ok with the abridged dose at +3 but he jumped to 174 within an hour, so I felt safe.

Thanks for listening to me!
 
I guess I'm just so shocked about the power of carbs!
We had one kitty here, Scooter, who was on 5.5 units of Levemir. Caregiver thought he wasn't getting any dry food because her "little old man" couldn't jump up high enough to get it. She decided to remove the dry from the house. A couple very scary days later, he was OTJ. Apparently he had been sampling the forbidden fruits! A couple interesting reads on cats getting rid of dry:

Dry Food Carbs - Scooter from 5.5u to OTJ:
...and Scooter's ss (look at February 19th)
...Spider got rid of dry food starting 6/4 and ending 6/8, otj trial started 6/15

Not saying that's what'll you see, but we do generally see lower doses happening.
 
We had one kitty here, Scooter, who was on 5.5 units of Levemir. Caregiver thought he wasn't getting any dry food because her "little old man" couldn't jump up high enough to get it. She decided to remove the dry from the house. A couple very scary days later, he was OTJ. Apparently he had been sampling the forbidden fruits! A couple interesting reads on cats getting rid of dry:

Dry Food Carbs - Scooter from 5.5u to OTJ:
...and Scooter's ss (look at February 19th)
...Spider got rid of dry food starting 6/4 and ending 6/8, otj trial started 6/15

Not saying that's what'll you see, but we do generally see lower doses happening.


No, I'm not going to get over excited yet, but yeah, I started wondering yesterday if the dose is going to require a decrease.

I'll be home all week sans the next hour or so, so I will be keeping my eyes open, because that's scary!!!

Thank you for sharing this!
 
We had one kitty here, Scooter, who was on 5.5 units of Levemir. Caregiver thought he wasn't getting any dry food because her "little old man" couldn't jump up high enough to get it. She decided to remove the dry from the house. A couple very scary days later, he was OTJ. Apparently he had been sampling the forbidden fruits! A couple interesting reads on cats getting rid of dry:

Dry Food Carbs - Scooter from 5.5u to OTJ:
...and Scooter's ss (look at February 19th)
...Spider got rid of dry food starting 6/4 and ending 6/8, otj trial started 6/15

Not saying that's what'll you see, but we do generally see lower doses happening.


Just finished reading Scooter's thread, oh how terrifying!:eek:

I'm curious to see what his numbers look like once he levels off again.

I'm going to test in 2 minutes and give his 5U.
 
Back
Top