02/25 Carbonel AMPS 351

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweetcherrypie

Member Since 2010
I cut down Carbonel's food to 75g on the 17th, which is what I used to give her. The vet instructed me to increase the food because Carbonel had become so thin, but I have not been able to control her blood sugar on the increase. We are seeing some better numbers now but I cannot understand the extreme highs. I have locked her in the last few days as I thought she may be getting other food outside. People around here leave unwashed containers in their recycling :roll: Any experienced ideas? Should I stick with the 1.25 u of insulin? I would be grateful for any comments.
Many Thanks,
Carol and Carbonel

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
 
previous post

Hello. I was noticing your condo and thought I'd come say hi.

Carbonel is probably very hungry and will stay that way until she is at least regulated.
I wouldn't decrease her food since you said she's losing weight.
I think you might want to explore food options instead to find one that is a lower carb.
 
I went and found the food lists for international... Maybe you can find some other options while you get the supplements lined up for the raw.
Most of us are feeding less than 10% and we prefer 5% when we can find one our cats like....



canned cat foods for Europeans

Good luck with the raw. I wish my cat would switch but she's not cooperating ... so far...
 
Carol --

I would love to provide some guidance. Is there any way you can get some consistent tests during the PM cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle. You don't adjust the dose based on your pre-shot numbers. It's important that you get some PM tests. I'm not sure if you work at night or during the day. If you work at night, then getting tests on weekends, holidays, when you get home, when you leave, etc. will be very helpful.

I have no way of knowing if Carbonel's numbers are dropping during the PM cycle and she's bouncing and that's what you're seeing with the higher numbers. (For example, on 2/22 Carbonel's PMPS was 119. You really needed more tests to know how far the numbers dropped.) I do want to encourage you to follow either the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low and Go Slow approach. I'm not entirely sure I understand how you are making your dosing decisions. Either one of these sets of guidelines will help you know when and how much to increase or decrease Carbonel's dose.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
I have not been on here for awhile, but I see that my last response to all your advice has disappeared. Thank you again for all your help. I am in the process of changing Carbonel onto Natural Instinct Raw food.
Carol and Carbonel
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top