02/25 Blackie PMPS 142, +1.5 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114334&p=1205122#p1205122

Recap of yesterday's #s (lump removal surgery day):

AMPS 94, 2.0u, 31g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount given due to slightly lower #)
+1 69 - 21g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount due to slightly lower #)
+11.5 90
PMPS 101, skipped shot due to anesthesia possibly still in system, gave wet food with Zobaline mixed in, didn't eat much
+1 99
+2 100 - 2g FF Tender Liver/Chicken Classic (tried to get her to eat something, even if it brought #s up a bit)
+3 107

WCR: Blackie is doing well, for the most part. I woke up nervous this morning since I didn't know what to expect with regards to getting her to eat. I was preparing myself for a battle of trying to syringe feed her if necessary. I opened a fresh can, presented it to her, and she immediately started in on it, but I had to take it away until I gave her the shot. I wanted to make sure that she WAS going to eat on her own before giving her the shot, otherwise, I would've skipped it again. At test time, I expected her to have a higher # due to the skipped shot from last night, but she surprised me yet again. This morning, we went back to the full dose of 2u, and she was given the Tramadol (pain ointment) that is to be massaged into the hairless part of the ear after she ate about 1/2 her meal (I managed to get her to eat the rest, thank goodness). She'll get another one at 6:00 this evening, and then I'll repeat the process tomorrow.

The incision looks a bit larger than I thought it was going to be, so I'm guessing that they had to remove a bit more than expected. I was so happy to have my Blackie come back to me that some of those questions failed to come to my muddled brain. I can ask them on Monday when she goes in to have her sutures removed.

She peed a huge amount yesterday when we got home, and she also pooped later on. I'm guessing that she held it for the entire duration that she was at the vet's. She was disoriented due to the anesthesia still in her system, and she went from room to room to make sure that it was her home. :lol: That's what it seemed like to me anyway.

As I'm sure some of you already know from my previous posts (yes, I stupidly created 2... One the regular condo, the other being a separate condo from that one), at first, the vet suggested that I give her the insulin at 8 instead of 6, but I said that it was a 2 hour delay. So, she suggested 7 instead. Due to her still being a bit disoriented last night, and per a member (or 2 or more.. Thank you!) on here, it was suggested that I skip. And skip I did. I've dealt with higher #s before. She looked so uncomfortable last night, and I knew that she was in pain, but I couldn't do anything for her as she already had a pain med given to her. The Tramadol wasn't to be given until this morning after she ate (well, it was after she ate a bit, was given the Tramadol, and she ate the rest).

This morning, she did eat most of her 41g of Evo, and I fed her again at +1. She ate the full amount save a very small amount. She's been drinking, which is good. She seems to be back to her normal self now. I will be testing her here and there today just to keep tabs on her. I'm really pleased that her #s are as they are. I really expected her to have wonky #s, and am beginning to wonder if her pancreas is starting to kick in. I still think she may give me slightly higher #s since we're back to our regular routine, but with her I can never tell anymore. :lol:

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

+1 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 99

Thank you, Amy. One part of the area is a bit red, but I'm guessing that's bruising. Otherwise, it looks pretty good. There may a very minute amount of swelling, but the oozing has stopped last night. Now, her healing begins.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Morning Angela ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOO HOO! What an awesome Blackie report his morning. I am so glad that she is herself this morning. That is wonderful. It was a good decision last night to skip. Looks like the shed carried her through. YAY! We had a similar procedure done to BJ sometime ago, what you are seeing with the swelling the oozing last night, is what I remember from her surgery. I hope Blackie continues with a speedy recovery. Heal well Blackie!

Have a great day Angela. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Thank you, Michelle & Mannie (GA). I know Mannie's helping up there. :-D If her shed has carried her through, it makes me wonder in a small way if her pancreas is starting to work a bit. That would be nice if it was. :-D I need to do some chores around the house today, but will be here to monitor her. She doesn't go anywhere until Monday morning when she'll get the sutures out. Oh, I hate to put her in the carrier now. *sigh*
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Hi guys .. what a great update on blackie! So glad her numbers didn't go crazy (I didn't think they would) and that her wound is starting to heal up .. I hope the rest of the week is an easy stress free one for you guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Thank you, Devon. Unfortunately, I'm next in line to get numbed up. Dental appointment scheduled for Thursday.

Right now, Blackie's resting comfortably on a pillow in the bedroom. I think the Tramadol is working for her. I'm afraid to get the vacuuming done as I know she'll freak out, but I need to do it.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Hi Angela, nice report on Blackie. Her numbers are so good today, too. Sending healing vines for a good recovery. Maggie (GA) used that same Tramadol ointment as you're using on Blackie, and it was very effective in controlling her pain and helping her rest. Hugs and scritches from us.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99

Morning Angela!

Oh I am so happy to see Blackie's report! I am glad she is hungry and stable with good numbers. It makes leaving for the day much easier. :-D

Rest today Blackie!!
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99, +5 77

+5 77

I decided to give her a small amount (3g) of her Evo as a snack. If her #s rise, oh well. :lol: I wanted to give her a treat as she's been a very good girl. Plus it's an experiment to see what really happens, and the others were getting their midday snack, also.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie AMPS 111, +2 99, +5 77

How wonderful that Blackie is doing so well. Sending prayers for a quick healing.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie PMPS 142

PMPS 142, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food; Tramadol ointment applied.
+1 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+1.5 95

I think I'll hold off on doing any further food experiments like that, for now and/or forever. I'm not sure if this evening's # is a bounce from the lack of insulin last night, or the snack at AMPS +5, or both. I'll continue to hold this dose for the duration of this week, and into late next week to see where she goes. I may have to increase again soon, hence the holding of this dose for a bit.
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie PMPS 142

She definitely could be wonky because of the events from the past few days...very wise to hold the dose to see how she settles out. I hope she's feeling great tonight!!
 
Re: 02/25 Blackie PMPS 142

Hi Angela,
I wouldn't worry very much about Blackie's numbers this close to her surgery. She needs time to heal and to get over the shock. Don't do anything with her dose until she's really back to normal. We are continuing to send lots of beautiful healing vines to Blackie.

Have a good evening,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top