Angela & Blackie & 3 Others
Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114334&p=1205122#p1205122
Recap of yesterday's #s (lump removal surgery day):
AMPS 94, 2.0u, 31g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount given due to slightly lower #)
+1 69 - 21g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount due to slightly lower #)
+11.5 90
PMPS 101, skipped shot due to anesthesia possibly still in system, gave wet food with Zobaline mixed in, didn't eat much
+1 99
+2 100 - 2g FF Tender Liver/Chicken Classic (tried to get her to eat something, even if it brought #s up a bit)
+3 107
WCR: Blackie is doing well, for the most part. I woke up nervous this morning since I didn't know what to expect with regards to getting her to eat. I was preparing myself for a battle of trying to syringe feed her if necessary. I opened a fresh can, presented it to her, and she immediately started in on it, but I had to take it away until I gave her the shot. I wanted to make sure that she WAS going to eat on her own before giving her the shot, otherwise, I would've skipped it again. At test time, I expected her to have a higher # due to the skipped shot from last night, but she surprised me yet again. This morning, we went back to the full dose of 2u, and she was given the Tramadol (pain ointment) that is to be massaged into the hairless part of the ear after she ate about 1/2 her meal (I managed to get her to eat the rest, thank goodness). She'll get another one at 6:00 this evening, and then I'll repeat the process tomorrow.
The incision looks a bit larger than I thought it was going to be, so I'm guessing that they had to remove a bit more than expected. I was so happy to have my Blackie come back to me that some of those questions failed to come to my muddled brain. I can ask them on Monday when she goes in to have her sutures removed.
She peed a huge amount yesterday when we got home, and she also pooped later on. I'm guessing that she held it for the entire duration that she was at the vet's. She was disoriented due to the anesthesia still in her system, and she went from room to room to make sure that it was her home. :lol: That's what it seemed like to me anyway.
As I'm sure some of you already know from my previous posts (yes, I stupidly created 2... One the regular condo, the other being a separate condo from that one), at first, the vet suggested that I give her the insulin at 8 instead of 6, but I said that it was a 2 hour delay. So, she suggested 7 instead. Due to her still being a bit disoriented last night, and per a member (or 2 or more.. Thank you!) on here, it was suggested that I skip. And skip I did. I've dealt with higher #s before. She looked so uncomfortable last night, and I knew that she was in pain, but I couldn't do anything for her as she already had a pain med given to her. The Tramadol wasn't to be given until this morning after she ate (well, it was after she ate a bit, was given the Tramadol, and she ate the rest).
This morning, she did eat most of her 41g of Evo, and I fed her again at +1. She ate the full amount save a very small amount. She's been drinking, which is good. She seems to be back to her normal self now. I will be testing her here and there today just to keep tabs on her. I'm really pleased that her #s are as they are. I really expected her to have wonky #s, and am beginning to wonder if her pancreas is starting to kick in. I still think she may give me slightly higher #s since we're back to our regular routine, but with her I can never tell anymore. :lol:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114334&p=1205122#p1205122
Recap of yesterday's #s (lump removal surgery day):
AMPS 94, 2.0u, 31g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount given due to slightly lower #)
+1 69 - 21g Evo 95% C&T (3/4 food amount due to slightly lower #)
+11.5 90
PMPS 101, skipped shot due to anesthesia possibly still in system, gave wet food with Zobaline mixed in, didn't eat much
+1 99
+2 100 - 2g FF Tender Liver/Chicken Classic (tried to get her to eat something, even if it brought #s up a bit)
+3 107
WCR: Blackie is doing well, for the most part. I woke up nervous this morning since I didn't know what to expect with regards to getting her to eat. I was preparing myself for a battle of trying to syringe feed her if necessary. I opened a fresh can, presented it to her, and she immediately started in on it, but I had to take it away until I gave her the shot. I wanted to make sure that she WAS going to eat on her own before giving her the shot, otherwise, I would've skipped it again. At test time, I expected her to have a higher # due to the skipped shot from last night, but she surprised me yet again. This morning, we went back to the full dose of 2u, and she was given the Tramadol (pain ointment) that is to be massaged into the hairless part of the ear after she ate about 1/2 her meal (I managed to get her to eat the rest, thank goodness). She'll get another one at 6:00 this evening, and then I'll repeat the process tomorrow.
The incision looks a bit larger than I thought it was going to be, so I'm guessing that they had to remove a bit more than expected. I was so happy to have my Blackie come back to me that some of those questions failed to come to my muddled brain. I can ask them on Monday when she goes in to have her sutures removed.
She peed a huge amount yesterday when we got home, and she also pooped later on. I'm guessing that she held it for the entire duration that she was at the vet's. She was disoriented due to the anesthesia still in her system, and she went from room to room to make sure that it was her home. :lol: That's what it seemed like to me anyway.
As I'm sure some of you already know from my previous posts (yes, I stupidly created 2... One the regular condo, the other being a separate condo from that one), at first, the vet suggested that I give her the insulin at 8 instead of 6, but I said that it was a 2 hour delay. So, she suggested 7 instead. Due to her still being a bit disoriented last night, and per a member (or 2 or more.. Thank you!) on here, it was suggested that I skip. And skip I did. I've dealt with higher #s before. She looked so uncomfortable last night, and I knew that she was in pain, but I couldn't do anything for her as she already had a pain med given to her. The Tramadol wasn't to be given until this morning after she ate (well, it was after she ate a bit, was given the Tramadol, and she ate the rest).
This morning, she did eat most of her 41g of Evo, and I fed her again at +1. She ate the full amount save a very small amount. She's been drinking, which is good. She seems to be back to her normal self now. I will be testing her here and there today just to keep tabs on her. I'm really pleased that her #s are as they are. I really expected her to have wonky #s, and am beginning to wonder if her pancreas is starting to kick in. I still think she may give me slightly higher #s since we're back to our regular routine, but with her I can never tell anymore. :lol:
MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.