02/25 Blackie PMPS 138, +1 114, +2 69, +3 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64518&p=700383#p700383

I think I get it now... I think...

I'm to flatten the curve and raise the nadir by adding some carbs BEFORE adding a smidgen more insulin. Correct? Not do them both at the same time.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139

i've read through your past couple of days and think i'll stay out of the discussion. you've got jill, sienne & marje suggesting this plan and i don't want to muck up things.

this will bump you up . . . but i did want to make sure of one thing. i heard you say your goal is to be diet-controlled and not insulin dependent. so you want blackie to go off of insulin, right? just clarifying.

also wanted to clarify your shot routine. the usual recommended plan is to test, feed and shoot within a few minutes, basically as quickly as you can move through all of it. is that what you're doing?

enjoy your saturday!
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139

julie & punkin said:
i've read through your past couple of days and think i'll stay out of the discussion. you've got jill, sienne & marje suggesting this plan and i don't want to muck up things.

this will bump you up . . . but i did want to make sure of one thing. i heard you say your goal is to be diet-controlled and not insulin dependent. so you want blackie to go off of insulin, right? just clarifying.

That's what I'm hoping for, yes.

julie & punkin said:
also wanted to clarify your shot routine. the usual recommended plan is to test, feed and shoot within a few minutes, basically as quickly as you can move through all of it. is that what you're doing?

enjoy your saturday!

I test, shoot, and then feed within minutes of her shot. I don't test, shoot and then feed.
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139

if the whole process happens within 5 minutes or so, it doesn't matter if you feed-shoot or shoot-feed.
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74

I'm to flatten the curve and raise the nadir by adding some carbs BEFORE adding a smidgen more insulin. Correct? Not do them both at the same time.
No. You are raising the dose. Because Blackie is in good numbers, you can expect that her numbers will drop. You try to prevent the numbers from dropping by using food. You can use LC, MC, or HC to prevent her from getting a reduction. It doesn't matter. You are using food to prevent numbers from dropping below 50 and keep her surfing so you start seeing more and more green.
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74

Another beautiful day for Blackie. I hope this new plan gets your desired results, which I will refrain from mentioning for fear of jinx. :-D
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74

[quote="Sienne and Gabby]No. You are raising the dose. Because Blackie is in good numbers, you can expect that her numbers will drop. You try to prevent the numbers from dropping by using food. You can use LC, MC, or HC to prevent her from getting a reduction. It doesn't matter. You are using food to prevent numbers from dropping below 50 and keep her surfing so you start seeing more and more green.[/quote]

Ok, help me understand, please. At which point do I need to increase the insulin, and to what amount would I need to increase it to?

Also, do I add a small amount of LC to each mini meal, or do I need to also include that with her snack, too?
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
+1 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.20 oz. raw turkey cutlet
+4.5 74
+5 71

hi angela. i have a little different take on how to proceed. blackie is already dropping into low 50s on this dose. in order to increase the dose without allowing her to drop too low i think it would help if you were able to raise her nadirs before increasing. about the easiest way to do that is to slightly increase the amount of carbs in the food she's eating. if i recall, the evo 95% C&T has 2% kcal from carbs. you might want to try feeding a 4% @ +2 to bump her up a little before her usual nadir at +3. if that doesn't work, you could try feeding a 4% at +1 or even at shot time. there's a whole lot of trial and error involved in hitting on the right combination for each individual cat.

increasing the percentage of carbs will prop her up a little which will then in turn allow you to increase the dose safely.

make sense?
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74 +5 71

Ok, so I don't boost her up each meal, then, and only at the +2 mark each feeding, and if that doesn't work, then try it another time. I have FF T&G, which is 4%, which I'll be using. I don't want to boost her too much more than that.

I think I'm starting to get the hang of this. Forgive me if I sound ignorant on all of this. This is extremely new territory for us both.
 
Re: Revised Question 02/25 Blackie AMPS 139 +4.5 74 +5 71

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Ok, so I don't boost her up each meal, then, and only at the +2 mark each feeding, and if that doesn't work, then try it another time. I have FF T&G, which is 4%, which I'll be using. I don't want to boost her too much more than that.

I think I'm starting to get the hang of this. Forgive me if I sound ignorant on all of this. This is extremely new territory for us both.

feeding 4% at +2 is somewhere to start. try it for a week to see what happens. if it doesn't raise her nadirs then you'll have to experiment with feeding 4% at +1 or at shot time. there's no set formula which works for each and every cat. it's all about experimenting to find the right combination for blackie.

once you raise her nadirs you'll have room to increase the dose.



edited to add: when making changes, it's imperative to commit to testing at night... at the very least a before bed spot check.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top