? 02/24 Tinka 50+5(HC),56+6(HC),45+7(HC),52+7.5(HC),50+8.5(HC),58+9.5(HC),67+10,74+11,85+12,88+12.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, Tinka I just took Tinka's +5 and she is 50, thats her lowest BG yet. I took the reading twice and I'm using a Freestyle lite now which is suppose to be more accurate. I gave her 2 tsp food with 2 drops honey but she only ate about 1/2 to 3/4's of it so she prob ate 1.5 tsp with 1.5 drops honey. Cant understand why she's not hungry?? She didn't finish all her breakfast either. Either getting bored of her food again or maybe not feeling great I'm not sure. Thought they get really hungry when they low. She usually gets 46g at +6 must I feed her that or do a smaller amount over the next few hours? Thank you!

Yest condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-meal-63-1-5-hc-77-2-5-86-3-5-94-5-lc.173699/
 
Last edited:
We usually wait until they go under 50 before bringing out the high carb food. Test again in 1/2 hour. Not sure why you think a Freestyle Lite is supposed to be more accurate. Might be a good time to compare against the Accu-Check.
 
We usually wait until they go under 50 before bringing out the high carb food. Test again in 1/2 hour. Not sure why you think a Freestyle Lite is supposed to be more accurate. Might be a good time to compare against the Accu-Check.
Hi Wendy I brought out the drop of honey as she's not eating well and also I can't be home all afternoon and have to leave in 2 hours max. I just got in a +2 and she's 3.1 I just gave her another 2 tsp LC with 1 drop honey which she has now eaten. We usually use accu-check but it requires a lot more blood from the ear and we get error's fairly often which requires us to throw out a strip which adds up. We switched to accu-check yesterday as the pharmacist we spoke to has a diabetic family members himself and thats the one they used, he showed us how much less blood the freesytle requires which is really helpful. He also told us the accu-check is an older model which is why it requires more blood and that the freestyle lite has tested more accurate by up to 0.5. So we will keep our accu-check as a back up. I'll try test both at +3.
 
I hope she comes up a little more for you. The smaller blood drop makes a huge difference, which is why I went cross border shopped for my strips. I started with the Freestyle, but at that time it was really inaccurate in the high numbers - which is where Neko was at the time. But that was years ago and older Freestyle meters. It's also hard to say that if a meter is "more accurage" for humans, that the same holds true for cats.
 
I hope she comes up a little more for you. The smaller blood drop makes a huge difference, which is why I went cross border shopped for my strips. I started with the Freestyle, but at that time it was really inaccurate in the high numbers - which is where Neko was at the time. But that was years ago and older Freestyle meters. It's also hard to say that if a meter is "more accurage" for humans, that the same holds true for cats.
Thanks Wendy :) I just tested her now and she's dropped to 2.5 / 45. I took the reading twice. I just gave her 2 tsp LC and 2 drops honey now.
 
I guess that's official on the reduction now. Rotten cats and their timing!:eek: Is she eating now?
 
I used the Freestyle lite for a while, after I bought one in an emergency, when George sent his meter for a swim:rolleyes:

At the time he was running in high numbers pinks, and his overall range dropped, coincidence or real difference??? I really don't know. It took a while for me to get a replacement and when I eventually did the swap George was having a green cycle and the freestyle lite measured 16pts lower than the SD codefree.
My SD codefree uses a larger blood sample.
I really liked the ease of use of the freestyle with it's tiny sample, but was too expensive to use over here.

Not sure if any of that is significant, just thought I'd share, maybe one day I'll do some comparison checks when I'm doing his ambg.

Congrats on the reduction.
 
I guess that's official on the reduction now. Rotten cats and their timing!:eek: Is she eating now?
I know right! I'm really surprised as with the honey with ususally see an increase. I guess she wanted the reduction. She ate about 2/3rd of her food. Hopefully she'll go back for the rest shortly. I'm here for another 30 mins. But my mom can do 1 or 2 tests if needed. What is the protocol from here? Thank you!
 
Hey Tanya,
sorry to just cut and paste this for you, but here's the info from the handling low numbers sticky

f your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
I know right! I'm really surprised as with the honey with ususally see an increase. I guess she wanted the reduction. She ate about 2/3rd of her food. Hopefully she'll go back for the rest shortly. I'm here for another 30 mins. But my mom can do 1 or 2 tests if needed. What is the protocol from here? Thank you!
Can you check again 20min since the snack/test @ 45
 
I used the Freestyle lite for a while, after I bought one in an emergency, when George sent his meter for a swim:rolleyes:

At the time he was running in high numbers pinks, and his overall range dropped, coincidence or real difference??? I really don't know. It took a while for me to get a replacement and when I eventually did the swap George was having a green cycle and the freestyle lite measured 16pts lower than the SD codefree.
My SD codefree uses a larger blood sample.
I really liked the ease of use of the freestyle with it's tiny sample, but was too expensive to use over here.

Not sure if any of that is significant, just thought I'd share, maybe one day I'll do some comparison checks when I'm doing his ambg.

Congrats on the reduction.
Thanks Gill that is helpful to know. I'm wondering if the freestyle lite is accurate now or if its reading lower :(
 
To be fair, she's been angling for a reducie, I wasn't surprised to see her below 50.
Just wish she had better timing from your point of view.
I know right timing is not ideal! Ok so her +3.5 is 2.9 / 52 on the freestyle lite. I also got out the accu-check and she was 3.9 / 70. So thats quite a big difference. Either way I agree I think she has been looking for a reduction. Just wondering what I should use going forward to check. Do I feed more LC with honey now or do I wait?
 
At 52 you haven't got much margin for error, so I would give a drop more honey now and check in another 20, we'd like to see her above 60.

That's a difference of 18, not dissimilar to the 16 difference I go when I swapped. George was 79 on the old meter and 63 on the FSlite.
 
Comparing meters can make you crazy. That's why when I swapped back to my old one because the strips were cheaper, I never did anymore comparisons, because it would have driven me nuts. After the dust has settled guess you'll need to make a decision and stick with it.
 
Comparing meters can make you crazy. That's why when I swapped back to my old one because the strips were cheaper, I never did anymore comparisons, because it would have driven me nuts. After the dust has settled guess you'll need to make a decision and stick with it.
Thanks Gill you are spot on it is causing me to be very confused and concerned. Ill stick with the freestyle lite for today or for at least this cycle and then make a decision on what to do. I've got to leave now but my mom will test every 20 mins and keep giving the LC with honey until she's above 60. I'll be back in about 1.5 hours. Thank you! ps i may get my mom to post for help on here if needed :)
 
Can you print out the handling low numbers instructions for her, just in case you get delayed.
Thank you Gill i just gave her the instructions sent them to her email and spoke her through. She'll test every 15-20 mins and feed LC with honey till she's in the 60's. I told her to write on here if she needs help but should be good hopefully. Be back soon!
 
hi all, im back my mum did a great job of monitoring Tinka while I was away. She gave her HC at each test at first 1-1.5 tsp raw LC food with 2 drops honey but then for the last few tests Tinka wouldn't eat anymore so she had to use HC which was 2 drops honey on her paw for her to lick off. Gill had recommended feeding her HC until she was at least in her 60's. She finally got to 67 at +10. I'm going to take +11 in 10 mins. Really hoping she will be the same or higher. If she's higher what should I do put more honey on her paws? I don't think we should shoot tonight as she's not going to even eat her dinner at this rate.
 
Hi Tanya.

Tinka sure put you and your mom through your paces today. Did you get that +11? Sorry I wasn't around. I would have told you that unless it was lower, now would be a good time to stop feeding and see if she stays up on her own.
 
Hi Tanya.

Tinka sure put you and your mom through your paces today. Did you get that +11? Sorry I wasn't around. I would have told you that unless it was lower, now would be a good time to stop feeding and see if she stays up on her own.
Thank you Tricia :) Her +11 was 4.1 / 74. I just gave her one small LC treat as a reward so hopefully that won't influence her next BG. She's now due for her +12/PMPS. She's usually really hungry by now but suss not showing any interest. I'll test her now and report back on the reading. Do you think I should skip the dose? I dont think I can get her to eat much tonight.
 
If she's not eating and still so low, skipping might be your best option. Another would be to stall without feeding 30 minutes and see if she keeps coming up.
Thanks Tricia :) She was 85 at +12/PMPS. I'll stall 30 mins and retest (which is in 20 mins time). If she goes up or stays the same and we do shoot how would that work if she's not eating much and she starts dropping? What would be a safer number to shoot if she's not eating much?
 
I reached out to some other veterans for their opinions on what is best to do tonight. I'll be back within the next 10 minutes to share any thoughts they have, assuming I get feedback.

We like to say "shoot low to stay low", so there's a chance she would just surf. There's also a chance she would bounce from that 45, but she hasn't really been doing much bouncing lately. Let's see where she is at +12.5. (how's that for a wishy washy answer?:p)
 
I reached out to some other veterans for their opinions on what is best to do tonight. I'll be back within the next 10 minutes to share any thoughts they have, assuming I get feedback.

We like to say "shoot low to stay low", so there's a chance she would just surf. There's also a chance she would bounce from that 45, but she hasn't really been doing much bouncing lately. Let's see where she is at +12.5. (how's that for a wishy washy answer?:p)
Thats sounds great thanks so much!! She's due for a +12.5 in 5 mins so I'll report back soon. Poor baby is not happy about all the BG testing and wont come down for her perch like she usually does, i'm having to do them up there. She looks quite put out and very tired.
 
Ok her +12.5 reading is now 88 which I believe is considered pretty much the same number as 85 from +12. @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey let me know your thoughts to shoot or skip? I'm going to try feed her now hoping she'll eat some and get her steroid in, but I don't think she'll eat much more for the night. I'm thinking maybe a skipped dose may be best as not sure how she'll surf or curve up if she wont eat. I'll wait on your and others response. Thank you again!!
 
Unfortunately, everyone seems to be busy tonight - no responses yet!. :( I think, if it were my cat, I'd skip tonight. Give both of you a break and get a good night's sleep. Just love on her tonight so she doesn't think you're going to test her every few minutes (although I think I'd get at least one more test before bed). Start fresh with the new dose of 2.0 in the morning.
 
Unfortunately, everyone seems to be busy tonight - no responses yet!. :( I think, if it were my cat, I'd skip tonight. Give both of you a break and get a good night's sleep. Just love on her tonight so she doesn't think you're going to test her every few minutes (although I think I'd get at least one more test before bed). Start fresh with the new dose of 2.0 in the morning.
Thanks Tricia I think that would be best too! Btwn all the testing today we both have had enough and her not much appetite I think it would be safest. Let's hope no big spikes or drops tonight. I'll def get at least 1 or 2 tests before bed to be safe. I think an earlier night and starting fresh on 2u tmrw sounds really good :) Thank you so much for all your help!
 
You probably could have shot safely, but I don't think it's a bad idea to give you both a break, everything considered. She'll get back on track and maybe be less inclined to try to get away when you come to get her!
 
You probably could have shot safely, but I don't think it's a bad idea to give you both a break, everything considered. She'll get back on track and maybe be less inclined to try to get away when you come to get her!
Thanks Tricia yes seeing those numbers in hindsight maybe we could have shot but I'm glad we aired on the side of caution tonight as we both really tired and she's not eaten much tonight so we'll just a restful sleep and start fresh tmrw. Its been a pretty long and stressful day, so i'm grateful for the rest for us all tonight. I'll feed her in next hour and get one last BG before in to be safe. Thank you for your help again, I really appreciate it! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top