02/24 Blackie PMPS 101, +1 99, +2 100, +3 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114270&p=1204297#p1204297

Recap of yesterday's #s:

AMPS 113, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T
+1 84 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 64
PMPS 116, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food
+1 - 31g Evo 95% C&T

WCR: All is well with Blackie, including the small lump on her back. Thankfully, it hadn't grown back, and I think the Convenia is doing its thing with it. I need to make a mental note to ask the vet where she administered it (i.e. either around the site, or in the site itself... Thinking it's the latter).

Of all the rotten, but good luck to have such a beautiful # this morning. And on vet day, too. This morning, I take Blackie to have that small bump removed. Since I had to give her 2.0u, and about 1/2 her food amount (I gave her 31g instead of 21g as I wanted her to have a bit more food in her system since she did get the shot, then will give her 15g +1 before we head out), I'm guessing that the vet will be giving her a local anesthetic as opposed to the general. She said that it was a very quick procedure.. About 15 minutes providing Blackie doesn't create a scene (in my mind, that is). I may suggest to the vet to have Blackie's front end wrapped up in a towel to ensure everyone's safety... Hers, the vet tech's, and the vet. I know I don't need to be nervous, but I am.

Sending tons and tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts for anyone who needs them.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 - Vet Appt. This Morning

Morning Angela ~O) ~O) ~O)

What a terrific start for Blackie today. LOVE that green. Hopefully the vetty appt won't mess with her numbers too much today. I wish for a successful appt. It is so nice that they can give local to have that removed. I hope Blackie will be a good kitty. Sending good vetty vines.

Have a great day Angela, I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. This Morning

+1 69 - 21g Evo 95% C&T

I got back from the vet's, and it was suggested that they will be doing a sedation, and since she is diabetic, she'll be having IV fluids to keep her hydrated. Now, I get sit and worry. I just hope that there won't be any other complications with her like there was with Daisy. I'm sorry for being such a downer, but when you have so many cats pass away, you can't help but think about the worst. I just hope that they don't put her under for too long.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. This Morning

Lots of good procedure vines coming your way and some extra hugs for you Angela. ((((HUGS))))
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Good vines for the vet, and the sedation. Perhaps it will be a milder version - my vet has a method she uses that mildly sedates the kitty without the full anesthesia routine. They are under for a very short time. This allows her to work quickly efficiently without a kitty that is awake and dealing with their reactions to being at the vet. Since Blackie's is a minor procedure maybe that will be the case here. Paws crossed. I can so understand on your worry. Hugs!
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Many vines for Blackie's procedure to go smoothly. Hugs to you, Angela.
Liz
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Sending many many positive thoughts and prayers for Blackie, (((Angela))).
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

I have been thinking about Blackie all morning. I am sure everything will be ok but like you said they are our babies and worry is a part of it.

Big hugs to you Angela while you wait. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Hi guys .. ((hugs)) Try not to be nervous, it is a very quick procedure and it sounds like the vet is doing all she can to make it easy on Blackie .. Update us when you can ..
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

That all sounds really positive. Hugs to you who I think must be struggling more than Blackie right now!

Elise
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Sending good vetty vines :-D ! Paws crossed you hear from them soon. It's so hard to leave them there :sad: . Big hugs to you, Angela! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 - Vet Appt. Update

Piling on the positive thoughts and safe sedation vines. I hope it all goes quickly and smoothly. Blackie will be home before you know it.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 +11.5 90

+11.5 90

We're back home, and she's oozing a bit of blood, but I checked with the vet's office, and they said it was normal. The rest of the area is fine. Thank goodness. It's nasty, but I'm sure that it'll heal nicely. She was an angel of a kitty there. Didn't give them any trouble whatsoever. She was given IV fluids to help keep her hydrated. She was given a rabies shot in case she decided to dart out the door, or perhaps bite someone who may want to visit (like we have visitors here anyway). I have some pain cream to put in her ear after her meals every 12 hours starting tomorrow. She gets the stitches removed next Monday at 10:45 a.m. I can start putting the Neosporin with Pain Relief on the stitches in a couple of days. I may do that to help speed up healing, and hopefully make it less painful for her. As it is, I'm very gently dabbing the oozing with a Q-Tip. As I sit here, she's just walked into the office, purring. She looks perky, and is definitely bright eyed. All of her vitals sound good per the vet. This is good.

I posted another thread with regards to Blackie's dose. Since the vet wanted me to give her the dose at 7:00 (initially she said 8, but I told her that that's a 2 hour difference as she normally gets her shot at 6), the vet moved to 7 instead. Providing she'll eat. Blackie's food driven; don't think she'll not eat her food.

Skip it tonight?
 
Re: 02/24 Dose ? (Last Post) Blackie AMPS 94 +1 69 +11.5 90

I'm so glad she's back home and purry. Sending prayers for a quick recovery and healing.
 
Re: 02/24 Dose ? (Last Post) Blackie PMPS 101

Good luck. I'm glad Blackie is back at home safely.

Elise
 
Re: 02/24 Dose ? (Last Post) Blackie PMPS 101

it's a little confusing having 2 condos for today - it might be helpful to close out the other one, link it here and then just continue here.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie PMPS 101, +1 99

+1 99

All this without insulin, and only food. This is good. I'm hoping that she was given a pain med before we left. Right now, she's on her pillow on the couch, and she's extremely purry. Just tried to give her a bit of water, but she won't drink. Will give her more food in a bit, but will add more water than normal to it. I may have to feed her a few times tonight. I'd rather do that, than not have her eat.

I don't know how to close out the other condo. Sorry for the confusion.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie PMPS 101, +1 99, +2 100

+2 100

Gave her 2g FF Liver/Chicken Classic to get her to eat something more, but she only ate 1g. Expecting her #s to rise because of it. No more interest in her own food. No interest in water right now. Major purring, and I think she had a poop. Still seems very groggy, and out of it. I'm not sure if she's in pain, but I know that they gave her pain meds and I was given some pain meds to rub into her ear, but that's not to start until tomorrow morning after her meal. I hope she relaxes and very soon.
 
Re: 02/24 Blackie PMPS 101, +1 99, +2 100

Sounds like a pretty happy kitty all things considered. She prolly just needs to sleep it off. I don't know about skipping the shot. Maybe a BCS? I'm sure she'll get back on track soon no matter what you decide.
 
Surfing along real nice.

If you skipped the shot, it says 2.00 on your ss.

Sending nice easy healing vines to Blackie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top