02/23 Vyktor PMPS 346 +4 346 - 1/2 dose dental back on

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Linda provided bounce be gone curses yesterday - I think she's lucky we don't burn witches at the stake anymore :lol:

Recap:
164 AMPS
387 retest 436 +6
392 PMPS
272 +4
176 +7
101 +10
101 +11

Vyktor has his dental and removal of the matted fur on his hips tomorrow so, on vets instruction, will only be getting a half dose of Lantus tonight - food will be removed at 9pm - and will get no insulin in the morning so I'm enjoying these lower numbers while I can. Expecting some ugly numbers following all that...

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64287
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS - coming soon

I'm sending good dental and dread begone vines for tomorrow, but don't burn me for it! :lol:
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS - coming soon

hmm, i'm thinking i'd be asking for a little neck lift, perhaps a little tummy tuck, while i was under that anesthetic! :lol:

vyktor, i'm sure you're going to be dashing and debonnaire when you get home tomorrow - clean teef and lovely fur! amazingly nice numbers today, serryn! yes, they'll probably get all ugly with the lack of insulin tonight and tomorrow, but he'll get back on track.

do you know to tell the vet no on convenia or metacam, and after he comes home after the procedure, only give him a teaspoon or so of baby food (meat & broth only) at a time so he doesn't scarf and barf? if they have to remove teeth, ask them if they are certain they got all roots. in fact, you might have them call you if they have to remove any teeth, and ask them how they will know they got all of the roots. if there's an option of post-removal x-ray that's excellent.

good painkiller (since you're saying no to the metacam) would be Bupe - buprinex is the whole name, i think.

convenia is an antibiotic that was developed for use on the skin - it's a shot that lasts weeks in the body and if a cat is allergic to it you have a long haul ahead dealing with its long effects. it's not that effective against other infections anyway. clindamycin is good for anerobic bacteria; clavamox is good also, although i think it gave punkin diarrhea. baytril is another good one, although i'm not sure which kind of bacteria it works on. punkin loathed the liquid compound they gave us ($45, i believe) and walked around foaming at the mouth and vomiting it back up. nice.

punkin had post-dental infections and when i said no to the convenia, he didn't get any AB. took us 40 days of clindamycin to get him back on track. he may have had roots left, we don't know, but it was a not-so-great few weeks for the little guy.

i trust you're armed with information and vyktor will do better than punkin did! i didn't know enough.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Thank you Julie, because I knew it was coming (and thanks to the resources here) I am well prepared. I have been through every drug they can and cannot use with the vet (he has a big note on his file that he's not to be given Metacam). There will be at least one extraction since a resorptive lesion is visible so I have asked for xrays to be taken post as well as pre. The vet was keen to give Convenia since Vyktor is impossible to pill and I might have to fall back on that but he's had a shot of that within the last couple of months and although we didn't have any problems I've heard more than one person say that it worked for them a couple of times and then stopped so I'd rather keep that in reserve. I'm going to try Doxycycline paste in a pill pocket (many thanks to Julie in QLD who sent us some pill pockets that had managed to get past quarrantine somehow - we don't have them in Australia). Melissa had never heard of the paste so I'm not sure you guys have it. It is caramel flavour (sweetened with saccharin) so hopefully it doesn't taste too bad and I get away with it. I tested him with an empty pill pocket and he was keen on those. They're not the low carb version but I think this is still our best option if I want to try and get an appropriate AB into him.

I have been looking for appropriate baby food for weeks but have not been able to find any plain meat ones (which I must admit as a vegan makes me very happy since I think feeding babies meat is ridiculous!) To the vets great amusement I did get him baby booties to help with maintaining temperature - he'd never heard of that one before.

He will get pain relief with his pre-op (multiple) and also afterwards. They prefer Tremadol for afterwards and I have no problem with that one. I have been through every step of the operation with the vet and his fluids will be warmed, he will be kept on a heating pad and someone will be there just to monitor his vitals and also to stay with him until he wakes up. I took in the list from the cat hospital of Chicago website and ticked all the boxes so logically I'm as prepared as I can possibly be, but still nailbite_smile

I don't know how debonnaire he'll be straight after with massive bald patches but his rear end will be so much more comfortable that I think he'll forgive me :lol:
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

WOW! you are prepared! way to go - i hadn't heard of all of those, but vyktor is going to have it as easy as possible.

ok, i must say though, now i am going to need to see before and after pictures of his hair "issues." :-D
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Beautiful AMPS! What time is Vyktor's appointment tomorrow, Serryn? I like to know so that I can be thinking of him during the procedure. I hope you and sweetheart Vyktor are having a great day with lots of cuddles.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Best of Luck with the dental.
I'm a big fan of dentals - they can make all the difference - especially if you know there is a bad tooth/teeth - it sure made a difference for BK.

Get some sleep while you can - once he recovers, Vyktor may slide on down the dosing ladder :-D
(fingers crossed)
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Serryn, you are super well prepared for tomorrow. I'm adding my dental vines for Vyktor, too. I hope you can get some rest. That's a very nice AMPS, too.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Lovely AMPS! It sounds like you've got it all covered. I'm a broken record on this, but I have to repeat it. have you considered brushing his teeth once this is all done? Tess has always had bad teeth and needed dentals yearly. After her DX I started brushing her teeth and She hasn't needed one in 2 years! Her vet is very pleased w/ her teeth now. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Wow, you are very prepared! We had heaps of help from LL for Zener's dental in Dec, and the info from the Chicago Cat Hospital that Sienne sent to us was invaluable.

Zener had complication post-surgery which seem to have been related to pre-existing stomach motility issues from his diabetes, and the long-term use of the bupe for pain probably made that worse. He would only eat if on the bupe and we kept thinking it was something with his mouth. It took another vet and a period where his tummy kind of stopped working and we had to syringe feed before things got better and we now think his current change in numbers and flatter cycles may finally be the beneficial results from having the dental.

You are so prepared, things will go great! Our paws are crossed all goes well with Vyktor and we are sending healing energy to him. Keep us posted! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115

Look at this beautiful number!! Serryn, Sounds like you have everything covered for the dental tomorrow!
I will be thinking of you both,and know that Vyktor will do terrific, and come out with beautiful shining teeth!! You are really well informed and have a good handle on this--
Please post when you hear from the vet that he is doing great--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52

Vyktor self fed LC at +3 (about 40g / 1.4 ounces) and +3.75 (about 25g / 0.9 ounces). Am I right to leave him for an hour before retesting with that lot under his belt or should I restest in 30 mins?

If he is still that low at the next test but over 50 should I give a little HC to ward off the reduction?

So glad I decided to give work a miss today - but so much for getting the shopping done!
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52

Hi Serryn & Vyktor,
We are adding our bouquet of good-dental vines to the others for tomorrow. Vyktor will do fine. You have all the right info. and you know how to use it. We'll be thinking good thoughts for your boy to have a successful procedure. And he'll be free of the dreadlocks, too! I remember when we had to have our GA Alice's hindquarters shaved. She was relieved not to have those awful mats, and her fur grew back quite fast (she had sebhorrea [sp?] and had trouble with greasy mats all her life).

So, Vyktor, be a good, brave kitty tomorrow and don't be angry with your mamabean when you don't get your breakfast. Mamabean knows best!!

Really nice numbers today,

Have a good day and evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I bought avocados today to try the avocado mousse; can't wait for them to ripen!
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52

Now the vet doesn't want to do Vyktor's dental tomorrow because his BG is too low, we are going to touch base this evening before his shot to confirm but looks like I get to worry about it for another week :YMSIGH:

Only a few minutes to the 30 mins from last test. I guess I'd better take the test if no one tells me otherwise in about 3 mins but I'm still interested in the answer for next time.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52

Tee hee I told him Sienne made me do it :lol:

I thinking because that test probably has food involved that another test in half an hour is called for?
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56

Tramadol is fine as a pain med. For some kitties, it has the effect of lowering BG so don't be surprised if you see that happen.

My vet gave Gabby an injection of clindamycin after her dental. It gave her some puddingpoo but other than that, it was fine.

When you bring Vyktor home, get an "in the door" test. Anesthesia often does two things. First, it can lower BG values. Getting a test when you get home and then again at your PMPS will tell you if numbers are going down.

Anesthesia also slows GI motility. This is why you don't want to give too much food all at once. If you can't find an appropriate baby food, if there's more than one extraction or if Vyktor is having trouble eating, I'd put his food in a blender with some liquid so it's as easy as possible to eat. If he's fine with his regular, pate-style food, that's fine, too.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54

DF here Serryn has lost internet access. Will try and keep numbers posted here but no updates for spreadsheet.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

No worries about the spreadsheet. Thanks for posting for Serryn. Vyktor's numbers look great. Whatever she's doing, have her keep doing it.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

And I'm back, what a bad time to lose the internet. I think the whole network I am with went down because couldn't get through to them by phone either. Those numbers are much more scary when you're on your own :shock:

So it seems either he's surfing or the LC food that he ate at +3.75 is wearing off. Will continue to test half hourly and get the HC and syrup at the ready.

Given the gusto with which he ate around his +3 this morning I suspect he was lower then than he is now too :shock: still good to see he went and ate and looked after himself.

Updating spreadsheet now
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

Hi Serryn, yikes is rights, what a time to lose your internet. What a lovely green surf for your guy! :-D Paws crossed for a successful dental. I'm sure Vyktor will do fine. He will feel much better in the long run.
Liz
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
So what number is the boundary of the vets comfort zone?

Comfort zone for the vet to operate is above 90. He has a heart attack when he sees Vyktor's green numbers but he also knows I'm not stupid and have done my research so he doesn't tell me to keep him higher.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Tramadol is fine as a pain med. For some kitties, it has the effect of lowering BG so don't be surprised if you see that happen.

My vet gave Gabby an injection of clindamycin after her dental. It gave her some puddingpoo but other than that, it was fine.

nailbite_smile with dosing on the tramadol then but I'll worry about that a bit later

Did Gabby just have one injection of the clindamycin, does it last a while?

Time for +6
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52 +6 52

He said no to his after test treat this time - I hope he knows what he's doing!
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

Clindamycin is available both as an oral med and as an injection. I think my vet uses the injection after extractions. I think it lasts for a few days. I honestly don't remember. Many vets don't use ABs after a dental unless there is clear evidence of infection/inflammation. She also gave an injection of buprenorphine which is now available in a long acting form. That lasted about 48 hrs.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52 +6 52

Oh Serryn, sorry Vyktor's dental is postponed, I know how much you prepared and now you have to do it all over again. I've been there, what a pain, but better safe then sorry.

Sending white light and vines to the both of you.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52 +6 52

Serryn...your vet does know you use a human meter right and that the 50s are equivalent to 80s on most vet meters like Alpha Trak? My vet also freaked out about 50s until I reminded her about the meter and then she was fine with the 50s.

Also....just watch him with the tramadol...it made two of my cats hyper.

Good luck and hope vet will change his mind. Nice curve mgmt tonight.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52 +6 52

BK got clindamycin during and after his first big dental (8 extractions). I shot during and Liquid (I think) to administer for 7 days after.

I didn't like how the Tramadol affected BK - it made him really spacey and I think it was a pill, which was awful to try and give after 8 extractions.
I want to ay it made him foam at the mouth as well. I ended up getting some bupronex which he has had before and works fine for him.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52 +6 52

Vyktors Mum said:
He said no to his after test treat this time - I hope he knows what he's doing!


Looks like he know what he was doing ;-)

We don't have pet meters available for private use in Aus and although they do have their super dooper machine to test bloods they also use a human meter to do it. Guess it wouldn't hurt to remind him though. Does anyone have any idea what a reasonable too low figure would be?

There won't be any pills for Vyktor - he just won't do them. He'll have to go back for more injections if he needs more pain relief after he comes home
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: , FWIW for Tess I give a little (1/8oz) LC when she is in the 50s. I don't resort to the heavy duty stuff until she drops into the 40s and not always then. It depends on where in the cycle she is too.

but bummer that the vet wants to reschedule the dental. If Vyktor only gets half a dose tonight and none tomorrow there should be no chance of a hypo. The shed will be depleted and there isn't that much carry over. Chances are he will be bouncing any way. :roll: Can you get your vet to wait to see what the AMPS is before he cancels?

You asked about the tooth brush in Tess's condo. I've tried several, even one that looks like an ultra mini human brush. The one that works for us is a small slightly angled round brush from C.E.T. It is used in this video, which is a great way to slowly get him used to the idea.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +4.5 56 +5 54 +5.5 52

[quote="Ann & Tessbut bummer that the vet wants to reschedule the dental. If Vyktor only gets half a dose tonight and none tomorrow there should be no chance of a hypo. The shed will be depleted and there isn't that much carry over. Chances are he will be bouncing any way. :roll: Can you get your vet to wait to see what the AMPS is before he cancels?
[/quote]

Will be touching base with the vet just before the PMS so I know whether to give a full shot or just half. I wonder if he's had diabetics hypo on him under anaesthetic before or if he's just very cautious.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor AMPS 115 +4 52 +.5 56 +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.

I was just checking BKs ss
For his first dental:
Our out the door number was 255 at +7.5, at the dentists office he was 156 at +10.
During the surgery he was 50 and in recovery, which was around +14, he hit 30 and they gave him some baby food.
When we got home he was 77 at +17.5.
At +24 he was 335 and we skipped. He was at 13.0u at the time and I didn't want to take any chances that he would not eat if ihe went low.
At +35.5 I BCSd it (7u) and then I went back to 13u next shot.
48 hours later I had a green PS.

his 2nd dental, 5 months later (no extractions):
our out the door number was 105 at +6.5, at the dentists he was 155 at +10.5.
When I got him home he was 69 at +16.
By +23 he was 371 and I BCSd (4.5u, he was at 5.25 then)
24 hours later I had a green PS, however he had some R AMPS that day.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor +4 52 +.5 56 +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.5 59 +6 6

No wonder the vet's a bit nervous then BK dropped quite a lot during the first dental. I think this vet would hook him up to a glucose drip if they saw him that low - they certainly wouldn't be offering baby food!

Did you do the half shot the night before none on the day of thing?
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor +4 52 +.5 56 +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.5 59 +6 6

Serryn....my cats do great using a qtip with eat toothpaste on it. I rub all along their gum line and teeth...they are very good. We do it every morning.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor +4 52 +.5 56 +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.5 59 +6 6

No, we didn't.
the first time we did full 13u shot at PMPS - appointment was at PM+8.5 or so - but he didn't have surgery until +12 or so
the second time we did a BCS of 4.5u vs. 5.25u due to a low PMPS of 62. appointment was at PM+7.5-ish, surgery at PM+11-ish.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.5 59 +6 68 +7 74

does seem if you're giving 1/2 dose tonight and none in the morning there wouldn't be any possibility of a hypo . . . i don't know, but i'd sure want to go ahead and get it done. perhaps if he's not high "enough" tonight you could skip tonight's shot too?

on an ordinary day i'd be cheering this string of greens today - vyktor's in wonderful numbers. i just hope it doesn't mess up your plans for the dental.

we'll be thinking about you both tomorrow. let us know how things go.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor +5 54 +.5 52 +6 52 +.5 59 +6 68 +7 74

Hi Serryn, I hope you are able to get the dental done tomorrow! You will feel better once it's over. Sending good dental vines! BTW gorgeous numbers today! :cool: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor PMPS 346 - half dose tonight dental back on

I'm glad the dental is back on! Let's get it done and back to business. Vyktor will be better for it and it will no longer be the cloud hanging over you. You know you'll have multitudes of good dental vines coming your way, including from me.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor PMPS 346 - half dose tonight dental back on

Sorry, I did not have time to read your whole condo this morning (for me), but I am sending Good Dental Vines for Vyktor tomorrow.
 
Re: 02/23 Vyktor PMPS 346 - half dose tonight dental back on

Hi again, Serryn,

I missed all the excitement about the on-again, off-again dental, but I'm glad that your vet now feels OK about going ahead with it. I'm sure Vyktor will be fine. Another beautiful bouquet of good-dental vines is on the way.

Ella & Rusty (who, after numerous extractions, still has 6 teeth)
 
Well, not happy to see that number, but I'm glad that it means you get to go ahead w/ the dental. Sending loads of good dental vines down under.
 
Hi guys .. so glad the dental is going to happen .. I know it's so nerve wracking for us beans, I would not want to wait another week .. Mocha had 8 teeth extracted along with 1 that was already missing .. She did fine and I am sure vyktor will too .. keeping you guys in my thoughts!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top