02/23/22 MICIO: AMPS 129 / 87@ +3 / 69@ +5.5 / 62@ +8

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 118 / 102@ +2 / 93@ +3 / 106@ +5 / 141@ +9 / pmps 160 / 98@ +3 / 122@ +5.75

Just got Micio's lowest BG ever, 62@ +8...is this a "late" nadir and should be worried about? The previous 69 BG was right before lunch and this 62 BG were 2 hours after lunch... Just gave him a tsp of LC with a little piece of cooked meat ad will test later again.
 
He’s actually flat since +5. I’d test at +10 and if any lower feed a little lc. Beautiful cycle.
 
With TR you can shoot. Post for help if worried. Stall, don’t feed until you get an answer. Test again in 20-30 minutes and if the same or on the way up you should shoot. You have reached a good dose so now you will need to start shooting lower numbers so as not to lose momentum. You shot a 95 on 2/7. The dose should not deter you.
 
Why not? You've got this. As long as you will be able to do your usual excellent job of monitoring, then you can shoot the full dose. He's doing REALLY well on this dose.
 
12 days after dental, 5 days after starting Clavamox. Could be that some of his inflammation/infection is starting to go away. The result is an awesome flat cycle of green. :D If this keeps up, he may be looking to go the other way in dose at some point.

Late nadirs are quite common in acros. If forces you to learn to shoot lower numbers. And allows you to feed a snack a little later in the cycle, which can help ensure a safe number to shoot.
 
With TR you can shoot. Post for help if worried. Stall, don’t feed until you get an answer. Test again in 20-30 minutes and if the same or on the way up you should shoot. You have reached a good dose so now you will need to start shooting lower numbers so as not to lose momentum. You shot a 95 on 2/7. The dose should not deter you.
So... you're saying that shooting either 4u or 7u at let's say 70-80 or 90 BG it doesn't matter? I mean, a higher dose won't lower the numbers more than a lower dose?
 
I mean, a higher dose won't lower the numbers more than a lower dose?
Nope. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at keeping lower numbers low and flat. Regardless of dose. Neko's sweet spot was a PS in the 80's, meant she'd move no more than 10 points the entire cycle most of the time (unless she bounced). And it didn't matter what size her dose was. Her "good dose" varied some due to tumour growth and waning (from SRT treatment).
 
12 days after dental, 5 days after starting Clavamox. Could be that some of his inflammation/infection is starting to go away. The result is an awesome flat cycle of green. :D If this keeps up, he may be looking to go the other way in dose at some point.

Late nadirs are quite common in acros. If forces you to learn to shoot lower numbers. And allows you to feed a snack a little later in the cycle, which can help ensure a safe number to shoot.
If I remember well you mentioned on a previous post that, when you switched to Levemir, you had to adjust your scheduled a bit cause nadirs moved to a later time? Not quite sure what you mean by that but in my mind I thought if with Levemir nadirs happens later does it mean I have to test Micio through the night? o_O
 
On Lantus, I spotted Neko's nadirs between +3.5 and +13, though most commonly between +7 and +9. On Levemir, the range was a couple hours later, nadirs most commonly from +9 to +12. Lev actually worked better for me, as 4 out of 7 days I get up at +9 for a workout. And she was flatter, so I could test every 3 hours overnight (unless really low) instead of every hour. I got more sleep when she was on Lev.
 
Nope. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at keeping lower numbers low and flat. Regardless of dose. Neko's sweet spot was a PS in the 80's, meant she'd move no more than 10 points the entire cycle most of the time (unless she bounced). And it didn't matter what size her dose was. Her "good dose" varied some due to tumour growth and waning (from SRT treatment).
Dose doesn't matter because of type of insulin, because being Acro or because in all cats? Sorry for all of this questions, still trying to understand insulin
 
On Lantus, I spotted Neko's nadirs between +3.5 and +13, though most commonly between +7 and +9. On Levemir, the range was a couple hours later, nadirs most commonly from +9 to +12. Lev actually worked better for me, as 4 out of 7 days I get up at +9 for a workout. And she was flatter, so I could test every 3 hours overnight (unless really low) instead of every hour. I got more sleep when she was on Lev.
I see...not sure it'll work for me though, by the time I'm done feeding the cats last meal and go to bed it's about 1am and then get up at 5:15 if I'm lucky...many times I have to get up a couple times in those 4+ hours to either check on them or clean up their litter box
 
Dose doesn't matter because of type of insulin, because being Acro or because in all cats? Sorry for all of this questions, still trying to understand insulin
Both Lantus and Levemir are depot type insulins. Depot insulins are really good at keeping cycles low and flat when you start out with a lower preshot. We call lower preshots a gift for that reason. And that is for all cats, acro or not. Some people don't switch to Levemir because the schedule doesn't work for them, for some people the schedule is better. Depends on your life style. Micio is actually pretty flat overall on Lantus so I'd only switch if the shot is bothering him. I've seen cats on over 20 unit doses on Lantus.

Out of curiosity, how many cats do you have?
 
Both Lantus and Levemir are depot type insulins. Depot insulins are really good at keeping cycles low and flat when you start out with a lower preshot. We call lower preshots a gift for that reason. And that is for all cats, acro or not. Some people don't switch to Levemir because the schedule doesn't work for them, for some people the schedule is better. Depends on your life style. Micio is actually pretty flat overall on Lantus so I'd only switch if the shot is bothering him. I've seen cats on over 20 unit doses on Lantus.

Out of curiosity, how many cats do you have?
I mght give Lantus a try as I think it may be me not doing the shots right (keeping the bevel up as I should), will pay more attention from now and on.
I only have Micio and Missy (13-1/3 yrs old female long hair calico cat); she also have IBD, arthritis (both of her meniscus are calcified ) and tons of emotional issues.
 
Both Lantus and Levemir are depot type insulins. Depot insulins are really good at keeping cycles low and flat when you start out with a lower preshot. We call lower preshots a gift for that reason. And that is for all cats, acro or not. Some people don't switch to Levemir because the schedule doesn't work for them, for some people the schedule is better. Depends on your life style. Micio is actually pretty flat overall on Lantus so I'd only switch if the shot is bothering him. I've seen cats on over 20 unit doses on Lantus.

Out of curiosity, how many cats do you have?
...and I also feed all the birds, bunnies, squirrels and whatever alive out there :bighug:
 
Me too. Don't forget chipmunks (well, they eat lots of my birdseed). Good thing my cats don't go outside... they wouldn't stand a chance.
Of course chipmunks too but last year I started finding them dying because some neighbors probably putting poison out there so I started catching them and take them to a wildlife rehabilitator to save their life (some did't make it) but after that she'll release them in her big property. Haven't seen my fave one lately, I think neighbors cat got them all :(
 
How horrible about the poisoning. It was really nice of you to take them to the wildlife rehabilitator. Luckily we have a lot of property. If the chipmunks stay around here they'll be mostly safe (hawks may still get them, but people won't). Sounds like the person who trapped a bunch of my feral cats and dumped them elsewhere ... not on our property ... he took them to an open area of land where there was absolutely nothing not even any shelter or trees nearby -- it had been cleared to make way for an industrial park that was never built -- and dumped them). I still hate that guy.
 
How horrible about the poisoning. It was really nice of you to take them to the wildlife rehabilitator. Luckily we have a lot of property. If the chipmunks stay around here they'll be mostly safe (hawks may still get them, but people won't). Sounds like the person who trapped a bunch of my feral cats and dumped them elsewhere ... not on our property ... he took them to an open area of land where there was absolutely nothing not even any shelter or trees nearby -- it had been cleared to make way for an industrial park that was never built -- and dumped them). I still hate that guy.
Nothing can hurt me more than animal cruelty...sorry about your ferals :(
 
You are already using Semglee
, it is a generic Lantus, and was approved by the FDA last June.
You are already using Semglee
, it is a generic Lantus, and was approved by the FDA last June.

Yes, have been using Semglee cause when I started last October it was available right away and cheaper than Lantus at my Costco pharmacy and I wanted to start as soon as possible; now that I have a discount card (Sanofi $99 for Lantus) I'll switch over as it'll be cheaper than Semglee ( I paid $121 @ Costco with membership the first time).
 
This is what I was thinking — that Semglee is equivalent to Lantus. Did you mean Levemir?

The reason why I mentioned Levemir was because I thought Micio started feeling the sting from the shots as doses increased so I thought I may want to switch to Levemir but not yet...As I'm paying more attention I realized that Micio was reacting more at the way I poke him and give injections (and the site as well); so, since he's doing well with glargine, I better continue with it but just switching to Lantus cause now it'll be a bit cheaper with coupon and planty of time to switch over (I still have 1 1/2 pen)
 
Oh. Okay. Back when I was using Lantus, the local, independent pharmacy was able to get a coupon for me for $99 a couple of times and then the coupon went away and it got really expensive- but then I switched to Levemir anyway and ordered from Canada.

Sounds like you have a great price all lined up. I guess now they have to give discounts or everyone will just buy Semglee.
 
Back
Top