02/22 Eddie AMPS 320 +5 236 PMPS 49 12.25 76 12.50 92 +2 56 +2.75 41 +3.25 70 +4 112 +6 169

STALLING

@Wendy&Neko

  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • Doing this right now.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
@Bandit's Mom PMPS 49 12.25 76

  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • Doing this right now.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
"If this is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in."

He hasn't had any food during this testing so the rising is natural.

I think this is where we are now. I hope I'm doing the right thing by shooting. I shot on the skinny side...

I will test again after @ +1 and +2 and onwards
 
Last edited:
Have you ever given him insulin when he was that low? It is always scary,It worries me when I do it with Checkers But if you can monitor and have higher carb food on hand it should be okay.
 
Have you ever given him insulin when he was that low? It is always scary,It worries me when I do it with Checkers But if you can monitor and have higher carb food on hand it should be okay.
Thanks, Chris. He finally got up to 92 with no food (staling) so I thought I'll just go with the flow. I did shoot but on the skinny side. I can monitor him and I do have my High Carb Kit on hand.
 
Hi Jodey, sorry I wasn't around so didn't see the tags. It's good you shot since you can monitor and he came up without food.
Would the 49 not earn him a reduction? Not being keeping track of your reduction point.
 
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • Doing this right now.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
Did you switch to a human meter and maybe I missed it?

The 40’s reference and guidelines you quoted are for a human meter. They are NOT APPLICABLE WHEN USING AN ALPHATRAK METER (or any pet meter).

Remember, human meters run lower than pet meters so the guidelines and reference ranges for human meters are lower.

That 49 on an AT is dangerously low. In those circumstances, I believe you need to feed and/or give syrup immediately and get his BG back over 70 ASAP. Don’t wait and “see what happens.”

I’m glad Eddie’s BG came back up. He was definitely showing clues of breaking the bounce. In the future, it would have been interesting to see what he did between mid cycle and PMPS.

Eddie seems to be clearly stating he wants a dose decrease. Once you reduce the prednisolone, you might have a few more such bumpy rides. :nailbiting:
 
Did you switch to a human meter and maybe I missed it?

The 40’s reference and guidelines you quoted are for a human meter. They are NOT APPLICABLE WHEN USING AN ALPHATRAK METER (or any pet meter).

Remember, human meters run lower than pet meters so the guidelines and reference ranges for human meters are lower.

That 49 on an AT is dangerously low. In those circumstances, I believe you need to feed and/or give syrup immediately and get his BG back over 70 ASAP. Don’t wait and “see what happens.”

I’m glad Eddie’s BG came back up. He was definitely showing clues of breaking the bounce. In the future, it would have been interesting to see what he did between mid cycle and PMPS.

Eddie seems to be clearly stating he wants a dose decrease. Once you reduce the prednisolone, you might have a few more such bumpy rides. :nailbiting:
Bumpy ride starts now. PM +2 56.
Just gave HC gravy.
The point about the meters: I give up. if this is the case then none of the pinned information here can help me. I wasn't waiting to "see what happens". I was following the protocol and testing again to see if his BG would rise as described. I did that twice and it came up so I assumed I was following the protocol correctly.
 
Last edited:
Any more tests since that +2 of 56?
It would be good to confirm he’s up over 70… and stays there.

You’ll want to keep monitoring closely until you see several rising numbers that occur at least two hours after the last time he was fed. Hypos/low numbers can last for a very long time, especially with higher-dose cats. The bigger depot is still in play and you didn’t take a dose decrease, so please be vigilant.

@Bandit's Mom will you be around to look in on things?
 
Any more tests since that +2 of 56?
It would be good to confirm he’s up over 70… and stays there.

You’ll want to keep monitoring closely until you see several rising numbers that occur at least two hours after the last time he was fed. Hypos/low numbers can last for a very long time, especially with higher-dose cats. The bigger depot is still in play and you didn’t take a dose decrease, so please be vigilant.

@Bandit's Mom will you be around to look in on things?
I just tested again and fed HC + syrup. PM +3 41. Not good. Will test again in 20-30 mins.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Just keep giving him a little syrup every 15 mins. If he won't eat, just apply it to his lips/gums or syringe it.

How is doing but for his numbers?
 
Just keep giving him a little syrup every 15 mins. If he won't eat, just apply it to his lips/gums or syringe it.

How is doing but for his numbers?
He's doing great. He's sitting on the rug in the kitchen where we test waiting for more food. He's totally alert and waiting. Will test now.
 
I'm hoping Eddie stays up for you now. Today's +12 earned him a reduction, you should have shot a reduced dose this PM. But I think due to the depot, he probably still would have gone diving with close to his full dose.

As far as the guidelines in the Sticky Note on handling low preshots, on the top of the page in bright red letters, it says:
THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS
We don't know what the equivalent of 40 in human meters means for pet meters, so that's why it only has human meter numbers in it.

I'm glad to see Bhooma is up and helping you as I should already be in bed. When you get a moment, please remove the 911 as you have eyes on you now.
 
Got another test? Isn't Eddie on Levemir? The SS says Lantus at the top, so I'm a little confused.
Hi Bhooma,
I just changed it again. I say again because this spread sheet sometimes doesn't save and I've had to enter the same numbers a couple of times...
Anyway, here we are at +4 112. I gave 1.5 tsp LC with a drop of Karo.
What do you think??
 
OK. That's a nice bump. Phew. Think you can set an alarm for +6? Ensure he is over 68 after the karo has worn off?
Yes, I will set the alarm. Thanks so much, Bhooma. I'm thinking yet again that we're seeing the SRT at work and that's making predictions about Eddie a bit difficult. But as I said, he is acting perfectly fine. I just have to put the rice sock in the microwave and he jumps off his cat tower and heads for the testing rug in the kitchen.
I'll be back here in awhile. Thanks, again.
 
Back
Top