02/22 Blackie PMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114138&p=1203177#p1203177

Recap of yesterday's #s:

AMPS 130, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, weight=10.86 lbs.
+1 78 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 75
+6 107 - 2g Evo 95% C&T given as treat (she was a good girl! :mrgreen: )
+7.5 112
+10 94
PMPS 101, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food
+1 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 72

WCR: All is well with Blackie. I will hold this currently dose of 2.0u until all the vet stuff is done for Blackie. Unless she tells me otherwise. I'm liking how this morning is starting to shape up. The lump has not come back since Dr. B had aspirated it yesterday, and I think the Convenia is working. Thinking back on that episode yesterday, I really think that Dr. B had injected the medicine in, or around the area where the lump was, as opposed to injecting it in the body somewhere. Blackie's head was on my right side, and Dr. B moved to my left where Blackie's rear was. I didn't see it, but I remember Dr. B telling me that Blackie was very good about being poked.

Monday morning will prove to be a slight challenge as she hates carriers. I'll have to try and be sneaky with this. Somehow. She's a very smart kitty. :lol: And the question is.... CAN the Hooman outsmart the kitty? :lol: Stay tuned for the next saga of.... Blackie!!!! :lol: I also have to remember to cut her food amount by 1/2 both times, and to give her the full dose. Since Dr. B told me that, I'm guessing that Blackie will be given a local anesthetic instead of a general, hence the need for her to be fed, and medicated. She wanted Blackie to have 1/2 of her food amount in the event that she may vomit up a full amount. She's never done that before, however, it's better to be safe than sorry.

Sending tons of healing vines, and positive vibes for anyone who needs them. I have tons, gang.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Looking good Blackie! :mrgreen:
Angela, I'm not sure if you have tried this with the carrier, but I always tip them on end with the door facing up. Then holding kitty, I lower them in backwards so that they are in an upright position (as though I'm putting them down on the floor after a snuggle.) Works so well with all of them here and at the shelter, that it is the only way I load the kennel now.
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Hi Angela,
Lovely numbers for Blackie!

Oh I know about carriers!
I ended up leaving it out and about in the living room at all time.
They don't run and hide as soon as I touch it anymore. :lol:
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Gosh those are great numbers Blackie!!

Angela I do the same. A few days before the Vet I bring the carrier in from the garage and warm it up and they play with it. I also take the pillow out and put it on top and some of them sleep on it. Getting a kitty in after that is simple. The only time it is a problem here is if I have to take a bunch of them and multiple carriers come in then they run. :lol:

I am so glad to hear Blackie is doing so well this morning.

Thank you :-D

Linda
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Nice numbers for Blackie this morning - hanging in the lagoon is a good way to spend a Caturday! Surf smoothly, little one! :mrgreen:

I also have had major issues getting cats into carriers. I've found it does help if you can leave it/them out where the kitties see them every day. I've even seem mine go in them and sniff around. Used to be the cats all scattered as soon as one came into the house, but now I can move them around, etc. without anyone batting an eye, and I've found it's much easier to get them into it (although Harvey still does the spread eagle with all four feet on the opening! :lol: ).

Sending good vetty vines in advance! Have a great weekend, Angela.
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

I'm glad everything with Blackie went ok at the vet. She is looking beautiful :mrgreen: . I hear you on the carrier, I didn't know one cat could have 12 paws :lol: . I was thinking of buying one of the ones with the door on the top of the carrier...because once I get her in, the vet can't get her out ohmygod_smile . We usually end up taking the whole thing apart when there :roll: . I hope the next appt goes well. Have a good Caturday, Angela :-D
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Very nice numbers for Miss Blackie. Hope the vet appt on Monday goes smoothly. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

Nice numbers for Blackie today. It's always tricky getting the kitty in the carrier.
 
Re: 02/22 Blackie AMPS 105, +1 89, +2 71

My vet taught me that trick, although her technique was when Tiggy was being a hissy growling swatty screechy furball and she more like dropped him into it from a couple of feet. He couldn't fight the gravity from that angle. We do it now every time but with less dropping, but the gravity still works in our favour.

Wendy
 
PMPS 104, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food.
+1 - 31g Evo 95% C&T

I'm giving her ears a break from all the testing that I've been doing.

With regards to the carrier, it would be tipped onto its end. I learned that a long time ago. When I go to put her in, I would hold on to her front feet, and basically let her jump in head first. She did manage to get her chin caught on the top of the carrier's roof, and I had to back her up a bit in order to get her head straightened out, and then lowered her front paws into the carrier itself, and allowed her to jump into it from that point. The door was quickly closed afterwards. She hissed when she was inside it after the door was closed. I may have to bring it out tomorrow, and allow her and the rest to get used to it before I need to put her in it on Monday. I hope that it doesn't freak her out. I can't be late for this appointment.

Thank you for the advise, guys. I greatly appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top