02/21 MISSY PMPS 103, +1.5 58, +2.5 54, +3 58, +3.5 63

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Missy & Tammy, Feb 21, 2021.

  1. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think just LC might be fine for PS and +1. And yes, get a +2.

    Curious to see if she bounces from those 50s last night.

    I hope you got some sleep! :)
     
  3. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Good plan with the LC... I'll do that. I've been waiting for the bounce too. She hasn't had a good bounce since the AM cycle of Feb 18th. That's pretty good right?
    Sleep.... 4 hrs... that's it for today :confused:
    I'll check back at +2 ;)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Look at all those blues and GREENS!! Great job, Tammy and Missy!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  5. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Awe thanks Margaret... so sweet of you to pop in and say hi.... Pearl is looking WOW amazing on her SS.... great job! Safe surfing and have a wonderful day! :bighug:
     
  6. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Checking in with a +1.75....sorry a little early, just better timing for me.
    Missy is 108 :cool: Looks like we're heading for another active cycle you think?
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She's loving the green! :)

    Stick to LC unless she drops below 50. Feed a spoon after every test to keep her surfing.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  8. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    She is loving the GREEN:D:D:D... how long are you around for today? If she dips below 50, at whatever point today, what do I reach for? Just want to be prepared... I am somewhat getting used to the drill... but we change it up a bit too so I want to be sure I'm on the right track. Thanks Bhooma... ;)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The reason I said LC for this AM was because she had a higher start and didn't need some extra carbs at onset. We save the higher carbs for lower PS (around 90-110 or thereabouts) :)

    HC only for dips below 50. Very late in the cycle, some cats come up with just MC - especially high 40s. We all start with HC for dips below 50 and over time we understand what works for our cat in terms of carb sensitivity. It's all trial and error. ECID!

    I should be around till your +4. Elise will be here. I think she's in the same time zone as you? :)
     
  10. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    I feel like I am the only one on the forum needing constant guidance with what to feed :banghead: sorry bout that Bhooma....see I am high maintenance ;)

    I try to make the calls and then end up screwing up a bit :oops:.... but you are right, trial and error. I completely understand your above instructions... I'm going to stick them to my screen as a reminder and then I won't need you to hold my hand everyday. I gotta get this sooner or later :confused:

    Tomorrow I will make a plan to venture out on my own.... :rolleyes: unless Missy decides to earn her reduction LOL :eek:
    And yes you're right... Elise is in the same time zone as me. It's all good... go to bed before your little Bandit decides to keep you up all night again LOL. :bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You are still new at this but have made great strides. All that's left is for you to see limes and even that will not be a scary unknown!

    She's bouncing from yesterday's antics and I managed to catch a longish nap. Now I'm going to have difficulty sleeping! :banghead:

    When's the next test?
     
  12. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    That Bandit... she sure keeps you on your toes ;)
    Thank you for your vote of confidence in me...yet again! Next test is now she is 59 at +3.
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wow! OK. LC away till below 50. Let's see if this is THE cycle! ;)
     
  14. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok perfect... I looked back at yesterday and if I was at this on my own I was going to feed LC... so good I got it right this time :woot:
    I'm also thinking....test in 30 min. :facepalm:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I'm not even going to try! :p
     
  16. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Its been 30 min.... OMG 54 :arghh: +3.5
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Waiting with bated breath for the next test. When did she last eat?
     
  18. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok...I'm beginning to really think she's messin' with me now :spam:
    +4 56
     
  19. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Last fed her LC at +3 o_O
     
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Lol. Lovely cycles. Feed a spoon now. Hopefully she will surf and then head up gradually. We want her in these healing greens.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  21. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Hey Tammy - I have an idea. I know you're really wanting to figure out the patterns. What really helped me was to write the food in the boxes with the numbers themselves. I wouldn't ever be able to figure it out unless I had the food amounts and types right there with my readings, not in separate columns. It has REALLY assisted me so much in figuring out Pearl's patterns and what to feed and when.
     
  22. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    You know what... that's a great idea.. I'm going to look at your SS and see how you've done it. Thanks for the suggestion Margaret.. :bighug:
     
    Margaret (and Pearl) likes this.
  23. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Missy finally is under 50....
    +5 is 49 :joyful::joyful::joyful:

    I have given her 1 tsp of LC and 1 tsp of MC. Ill test her in 20 min. If she is not up I can give her a little HC.
    How does this sound? It's my first time so I don't want to overdo it.... :D

    @tiffmaxee
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed her a teaspoon of hc and test in 30. Congrats on the reduction.
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    8
    You can see if this works if you want.
     
  26. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    gotcha... will do. Thank you! :)
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you give the hc it might just need to be fine once. Otherwise mc. I’m not sure if lc/mc will be enough .
     
  28. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    She got a little bit of everything LC/MC/HC... so we'll see (I didn't overdo it though don't worry) Trial and error here for me ;)
    Grateful that I am calm...:cool:
    I will test her soon.. Thanks Elise! :)
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sounds good.
     
  30. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    She recovered nicely :)
    +5.5 67... hope that's not too much of an increase:oops:
    At least she's still in the green. :D
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s good. Give her a little lc and see if she surfs.
     
  32. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hi Elise...
    She is 94 now at +6
    I guess she is pretty HC sensitive. I only gave her like 1/2 tsp but she never gets it. Maybe the LC/MC would have been sufficient.
    I'm sure she will be fine... maybe surf blues to PMPS. :cool:
    Can I back off the testing now and give her a break? Maybe test her in 90 min or is that too long?

    For the dose reduction should I wait till AMPS to start that?
    Thanks for hanging out and watching out for us... :bighug::bighug:
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looks like it. Next time try that.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  34. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Yay, I see that you're doing it! And even I can already start to glean information off of it, I think this will really help you out as you make feeding decisions to keep her surfing!!
     
  35. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Thanks Margaret... you were right!!! :) It is a lot easier to see to make a decision. I need to really work on doing this myself... I rely too much on Bhooma... God love her... she's been soooo good with me. But I don't like being high maintenance.:stop: Baby steps right!!;) Thank you again for your advice... Have a wonderful night! :bighug::bighug:
     
  36. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hi Elise or Bhooma **darn it I just noticed I posted into the wrong message... I put it in yesterdays so I hope this is ok to copy and paste here again ** :oops:

    Seeing Missy earned a reduction today :p I was doing a bit of research and have a few questions. :bookworm:

    1. When do I reduce the dose? For the next cycle which would be this PMPS or tomorrow morning AMPS?
    2. I copied a section below from the TR protocol and it mentions shaving the dose down rather than reducing it by a full quarter. This is her first reduction on TR. She did have a reduction on SLGS but it wasn't very successful and we ended up increasing the dose again. So that is why I am asking. I guess maybe there isn't enough history of reductions with Missy to know full well how she will hold it. What are your thoughts on this for her?

    Thank you for all your help and support!!! :bighug:

    @tiffmaxee
    @Bandit's Mom

    Reducing the dose:

    The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
    • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
    • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
    • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
    • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
     
  37. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Good Evening everyone....
    Exciting day today.... Missy earned her dose reduction!! :D:D:D
    She also did very well the rest of the day.

    PMPS 103.... not bad ;)
    Lets hope her progress continues on the reduced dose.:)
     
  38. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I see Elise has responded to your query in yesterday's condo. The other thing is that the 1.25U depot can affect Missy's numbers for the next few cycles. So she may still dip below 50 again tonight despite the reduction.

    Congrats on the reduction! :)
     
  39. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ooooooooh really... I never thought of that. Good thinking... Thanks! :)
    I was a bit surprised she was only 103 at PMPS... I was expecting higher...I was very pleased to see her still in a nice low blues :cool:
    Missy says.. Thank you!!! She's quite proud of herself right now! :cat:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  40. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Feed a little higher carbs at +1 so you aren't up late preventing another drop below 50! :)
     
  41. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Darn I just saw this...I just fed the LC/MC mix :banghead:
    I'm about to test her now... so I will know better how she is shortly. ;)
     
  42. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Great... she's already at 58 :nailbiting:
    Should I feed HC... if yes can you tell me what and how much. The HC I have is 21%.
    Thanks Bhooma... I'm relieved you're awake :rolleyes:
     
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Feed a spoon of HC.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  44. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok done... she's eating the tsp of HC. Wow she really wanted that reduction.... you were right. When she's ready she'll take it.
     
  45. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    When should I test again... last tested 10 min ago at 8:23pm PST.
     
  46. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Its been 20 min since last test... she's had HC about 15-17 min ago.

    I just tested her again.... 56!! :nailbiting:
     
  47. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Food takes 20-30 mins to affect numbers. Don't test before that.
    Feed some MC. Test at +2.5
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  48. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Im literally shocked... even after 2 tsp of HC, and two servings of LC/MC at PMPS and +1

    She is now at 2.5 54 :nailbiting:
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She is making sure we have no doubts that she earned that reduction! :)
    More HC and test in half an hour.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  50. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    +3 58
    Up just a tiny bit... after 3 spoons of HC over the last 2.25 hours. WOW... :woot:
     
  51. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Keep at it till she's a little higher. One more spoon of HC and test in 1 hour? Think you can wait that long? :)
     
  52. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Of course.... I can't LOL... :eek:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  53. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Are there any other crazy things in store for me tonight? :confused: Could she dip again once we get her up?
     
  54. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That's what we are trying to prevent by getting her to a good number. We'll have to get a test later in the cycle without feeding to see if she stays up once the carb bump has worn off.
    Let's see how it goes. :)
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.

Share This Page