02/21/18 Squallie AMPS 50/58/79, +2/63, +4/73, +9/76, PMPS 67, +2/80,+4/76,+7/68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Well, Mr. Bear has a little less cattitude than yesterday, but he's still pretty full of himself, playing with toys and stalking those invisible mice, lol! Appy's not the best, but it's turned pretty warm here and his appy always drops off when it's warm.
 
He's been on this dose for over a week now, should I be trying a reduction?
IDK Lucy, because he's long term. He's had a few blues but pretty normal ones and gets back to green quickly....he's also recently had a skipped shot which didn't phase him. Not much help but I think what ever you decide is a good decision. :bighug::bighug:
 
I think you are okay to try the reduction. He's been mostly under 120. The 125 and 126 are below 120 with meter variance. You can always go back up if his numbers start creeping up.

Glad to hear Squallie is feeling so good and watching out for those invisible mice. :p
 
Squallie is looking awesome :):):woot:
Thanks, Beth! Happy Wednesday to you and Elmo! :bighug::cat::bighug:

Happy-Wendnesady-Cute-Funny-Cat-Wishes.jpg
 
IDK Lucy, because he's long term. He's had a few blues but pretty normal ones and gets back to green quickly....he's also recently had a skipped shot which didn't phase him. Not much help but I think what ever you decide is a good decision. :bighug::bighug:
IDK either, Karen, lol. I had to raise his dose not too long ago, but now he seems to be staying in good numbers. Don't know whether to mess with success, or leave well-enough alone!:rolleyes::bighug::bighug:
 
I think you are okay to try the reduction. He's been mostly under 120. The 125 and 126 are below 120 with meter variance. You can always go back up if his numbers start creeping up.

Glad to hear Squallie is feeling so good and watching out for those invisible mice. :p
Thanks, Carla! I may go ahead with the reducie; I've almost talked myself out of it, lol. :rolleyes::bighug::bighug:
 
Here's what you want to look at when making a dose adjustment like this with a long term diabetic kitty:
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
If Squallie were mine, I think I'd be tempted to hold the dose a tad bit longer... if only to put a little more distance between the reduction and that last 126, but that's just me. In every other sense he's shown he's ready for a reduction... overall, his BGs have been in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80mg/dL).

Good luck with your decision!
 
Here's what you want to look at when making a dose adjustment like this with a long term diabetic kitty:
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
If Squallie were mine, I think I'd be tempted to hold the dose a tad bit longer... if only to put a little more distance between the reduction and that last 126, but that's just me. In every other sense he's shown he's ready for a reduction... overall, his BGs have been in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80mg/dL).

Good luck with your decision!
Thanks, Jill, I am going to take your advice. He has a history of not holding reductions well, so I'm content to keep him at 2U for now. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top