02/20 Eddie AMPS 194 +4 65 (!!!) +4.5 158 +6 189 PMPS 299 +2 155 +3 112 +4 137

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
here is yesterday's story:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-19-eddie-amps-230-3-115-4-85-6-140.259598/#post-2916009

When I tested Eddie @ PMPS last night he was really growly. He did not want to have anything done to his ears, either of them. I think he just had one of those days because he did the same thing @ +6. In fact, @ +6 when I went to test him he just peed on the rug and was really quite annoyed.

After I tested him last night, I took Max, the dog, for a walk and when we got back I thought I'd watch Netflix until it was +2 time to test. Well, 3 hours later I woke up on the couch. This week has been a bit much and I just went unconscious.

I decided not to subject Eddie to another ear poke, gave him a little food and went to bed. Phew.

He's growly this morning but not like yesterday and he's used the kitty box.

Nice to see a blue this morning. :cat:
 
Last edited:
I was wondering if that might happen because it was similar to the 16th. Glad to see green but not that low Eddie!

I might consider a reduction since he was that low, that's even below the regular TR.
 
I was wondering if that might happen because it was similar to the 16th. Glad to see green but not that low Eddie!

I might consider a reduction since he was that low, that's even below the regular TR.
I'm really wondering about that. It's lower than the 16h by a few points. The only hesitation I'm having is that the pattern of earned reduction was he'd get one and then begin a rebound that would end up with another increase. That's when I switched the earned reduction protocol to 2x76
The dose he is on now (7.75u down from 8u) is based on the drop on two occasions: the 13th and the 16th.

So, the question comes: do I wait for another drop to reduce or do I hold steady for the next drop and then reduce as I had discussed with @Wendy&Neko

Believe me, I hear you...
 
I think I'd try that smaller reduction and go to 7.5 units. You don't want to keep a post SRT cat on a dose that's giving them limes. Maybe he'll respond better to smaller reductions.

For people following TR (and a human meter) that follow the multiple under 50 guideline for reductions, there is the overriding rule of automatically reducing if under 40, even if it's only the first time under 50. Not sure how that compares with the AT as we have a number (68) we use as equivalent for 50 on the human meter, but not for what "40" translates to the AT.
 
I think I'd try that smaller reduction and go to 7.5 units. You don't want to keep a post SRT cat on a dose that's giving them limes. Maybe he'll respond better to smaller reductions.

For people following TR (and a human meter) that follow the multiple under 50 guideline for reductions, there is the overriding rule of automatically reducing if under 40, even if it's only the first time under 50. Not sure how that compares with the AT as we have a number (68) we use as equivalent for 50 on the human meter, but not for what "40" translates to the AT.
Ok, but just to be clear: are you saying to take the reduction in spite of the new protocol of 2x 76? If so, is it because it went far below 76?
I have no problem with decreasing (!) but I just want to be clear on deviating from what we had discussed earlier regarding going to a reduction only if he went low twice.
 
I think I would keep a 10-point differential to start. So 2x below 76, or one time below 66 - or something like that. See how that works out for awhile
 
I think I would keep a 10-point differential to start. So 2x below 76, or one time below 66 - or something like that. See how that works out for awhile
Yes, that makes sense and it keeps him safe with the low-lows such as today's 65. Thanks for suggestion, Melissa.
 
I think I'd try that smaller reduction and go to 7.5 units. You don't want to keep a post SRT cat on a dose that's giving them limes. Maybe he'll respond better to smaller reductions.

For people following TR (and a human meter) that follow the multiple under 50 guideline for reductions, there is the overriding rule of automatically reducing if under 40, even if it's only the first time under 50. Not sure how that compares with the AT as we have a number (68) we use as equivalent for 50 on the human meter, but not for what "40" translates to the AT.
Ok, now I understand, thank you!
 
Yes. A modification to what Melissa said, I'd say reduce if under 68, as that's what we use for TR and people using the AT.
Alright, thank you Wendy & Melissa. I have revised the signature to reflect this new differential configuration. Tonight we will go from 7.75u to 7.50u. Thanks, again. :):cat:
 
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma,
I think folks have gone to bed. Could you weigh in here and let me know what you think? Eddie's already earned a reduction today @+4 65 and now at PMPS+3 112 I wonder if he's not taking another dive.

I've just given him a tsp of HC. This afternoon I gave him a 1/4 tsp of Karo syrup.

Thanks, Bhooma.
 
Back
Top