02/19/22 Cali AMPS 330, +3 157, +6.25 72, +9.25 165, PMPS 344

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
02/19/22 Cali AMPS 330, +3 157, +6.25 72
Because of continuing wild swings up and down to NADIR, trying to add mid carbs 11% to slow slides up and down. Not sure how much and what % to add to smooth cycles. Guides don’t specifically cover this when no hypos.
Still unsure how to link prior posts.
Admin help would be appreciated on links assistance as well as general advice on adding mid carbs to smooth cycles.
Thanks
 
Hi Carla, there is unfortunately no strict rules on how to manage the curve with food but i have stored this link as guidelines: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
I noticed though that you are not testing at all at night, without any test at night is just seeing half a picture, lots of kitties tend to go lower at night. Is there any way to take at least one more test at night before going to bed?
Thanks for ‘feeding the curve’ thread/link. I read through it and made numerous notes. Seems I have been counter feeding and determined to never go above my Friskes LC 4% food. This guideline does make sense.
Should my night testing ideally include the +6 read since that is pretty consistently her daytime NADIR?
Here’s your previous list for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-cali-amps-273-2-75-249.259405/#post-2914315

I mentioned then that you didn’t have any tests after +2. at night. Cats often have lower BG at night. Is there a reason why you can’t get done night tests after PMPS? You do a really good job during the day.
Especially since I want to trial this “feed the curve”, I will need to test at night so I know how much of what type carbs to feed. Thanks for encouragement.
 
Thanks for ‘feeding the curve’ thread/link. I read through it and made numerous notes. Seems I have been counter feeding and determined to never go above my Friskes LC 4% food. This guideline does make sense.
Should my night testing ideally include the +6 read since that is pretty consistently her daytime NADIR?
So usually you want to test +2, if it is lower or similar as the preshot then it will most probably be an active cycle, if +2 is higher than the preshot then then it will most probably be a bouncing cycle. If it is an active cycle you want to so at least one more test to see how low they are going. Because Cali is still not regulated her nadir is most probably still changing so to measure always only +6 doesn’t have to be representative, maybe try switching.
What i noticed is that she almost constantly goes to a green value during the cycle butend up with a high preshot value, when on the juice it is recommended to stop feeding in the second half of the cycle, because by feeding lates duration of lantus is lost.

If you will start testing in the night, you should reconsider the dosing method you are using, TR will help you get her regulated much quicker and it seems that Cali is very close :) you are doing a great job with her
 
Callie and I just wanted to stop in and say hi :cat:

I bet Cali is going to be thrilled when higher carb foods get added to the mix ... Callie goes absolutely wild when she hears me opening the cans! But even more importantly, I hope that feeding the curve will help you to flatten Cali's cycles out a bit so it is a smoother ride for both of you. :bighug:
 
Callie and I just wanted to stop in and say hi :cat:

I bet Cali is going to be thrilled when higher carb foods get added to the mix ... Callie goes absolutely wild when she hears me opening the cans! But even more importantly, I hope that feeding the curve will help you to flatten Cali's cycles out a bit so it is a smoother ride for both of you. :bighug:
So glad you stopped by Jessica. I have been looking at your SS and showing my husband so visually he could see what persistent testing does. Callie’s SS is beautiful and a testament to your commitment. Our numbers recently are not satisfactory and we had not changed anything so I know something has to be done. We will stay at it and see. Take care
So usually you want to test +2, if it is lower or similar as the preshot then it will most probably be an active cycle, if +2 is higher than the preshot then then it will most probably be a bouncing cycle. If it is an active cycle you want to so at least one more test to see how low they are going. Because Cali is still not regulated her nadir is most probably still changing so to measure always only +6 doesn’t have to be representative, maybe try switching.
What i noticed is that she almost constantly goes to a green value during the cycle butend up with a high preshot value, when on the juice it is recommended to stop feeding in the second half of the cycle, because by feeding lates duration of lantus is lost.

If you will start testing in the night, you should reconsider the dosing method you are using, TR will help you get her regulated much quicker and it seems that Cali is very close :) you are doing a great job with her
So usually you want to test +2, if it is lower or similar as the preshot then it will most probably be an active cycle, if +2 is higher than the preshot then then it will most probably be a bouncing cycle. If it is an active cycle you want to so at least one more test to see how low they are going. Because Cali is still not regulated her nadir is most probably still changing so to measure always only +6 doesn’t have to be representative, maybe try switching.
What i noticed is that she almost constantly goes to a green value during the cycle butend up with a high preshot value, when on the juice it is recommended to stop feeding in the second half of the cycle, because by feeding lates duration of lantus is lost.

If you will start testing in the night, you should reconsider the dosing method you are using, TR will help you get her regulated much quicker and it seems that Cali is very close :) you are doing a great job with her
Marina, congratulations on the OJT for Chico. You are a testament that this can be done and viewing your SS is certainly encouraging for us to hang in there. Thank you so much for your input. Cheers to Chico!
 
Back
Top