? 02/19/2022 MICIO: AMPS 237 / 141@ +3 / 105@ +4.75 / 79@ +9 / PMPS 108

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 171 / 172@ +3 / 199@ +5.5 / PMPS 207 / 178@ +3
Micio BGs on the rise and didn't seem to respond well to the last .25u increase so this morning I did a .5u increase and we're now at 7u....was this ok to do?
 
Here's the link to your good news on his biopsy, for those who are following.

I only shot as low as 51 with Neko. But I was usually able to monitor, and she was on Levemir so didn't onset until 5 hours after shot time. And I'd point out that I see you shot full dose on a PMPS of 102 before. Just because he's been recently diagnosed with acro, doesn't mean anything else has changed in terms of how he reacts to insulin.

And yes, over 5 units total, a 0.5 unit increase is good unless you are just tweaking an already pretty good dose.
 
Here's the link to your good news on his biopsy, for those who are following.

I only shot as low as 51 with Neko. But I was usually able to monitor, and she was on Levemir so didn't onset until 5 hours after shot time. And I'd point out that I see you shot full dose on a PMPS of 102 before. Just because he's been recently diagnosed with acro, doesn't mean anything else has changed in terms of how he reacts to insulin.

And yes, over 5 units total, a 0.5 unit increase is good unless you are just tweaking an already pretty good dose.
Thank you, out of fear I did shoot 6.5u...may sound ridiculous but at least this time it wasn't a token dose
p.s.: I gave him a shot before I got your reply.
 
Last edited:
Looks like you shot a reduced dose tonight. There wasn't much of a 7 unit depot yet, but typically shooting a slightly reduced dose doesn't have a lot of impact on the following cycle. But still worth getting maybe a +2 to see what he's planning this cycle.

Is Micio scheduled to go back to the dentist for a look in his mouth to see how he's doing? Neko always had a one week follow up after dental surgery. The reason I'm asking is that it's 8 days since his surgery. Inflammation/infection can raise his BG. If that starts to resolve, took about 10 days for Neko, her numbers came down. But Micio is not near the danger zone. And he's just starting a new antibiotic so it might take a while yet to see an impact on his numbers.
 
Looks like you shot a reduced dose tonight. There wasn't much of a 7 unit depot yet, but typically shooting a slightly reduced dose doesn't have a lot of impact on the following cycle. But still worth getting maybe a +2 to see what he's planning this cycle.

Is Micio scheduled to go back to the dentist for a look in his mouth to see how he's doing? Neko always had a one week follow up after dental surgery. The reason I'm asking is that it's 8 days since his surgery. Inflammation/infection can raise his BG. If that starts to resolve, took about 10 days for Neko, her numbers came down. But Micio is not near the danger zone. And he's just starting a new antibiotic so it might take a while yet to see an impact on his numbers.

The dentist called yestesterday to tell me about biopsy results and asked how Micio is doing ..didn't mention a follow up though.
Micio's numbers seemed to go back in place right after surgery (he hitted greens 2 days after) but in the last couple of days his BGs were rising a bit.
May I ask you a question? I'm still puzzled by how people in the other feline diabetes group recommend to either skip the shot or give a token dose when amps/pmps are way above 100...Thought we all follow same protocol or maybe they have a different one?
I became member of both groups almost simultaneously and, although I chose to stick with this one, I don't mind read and learn from others but seems to me they manage diabetes differently.... Maybe that's why I fear an hypo event with higher insulin dosage...as I won the fear of needles hopefully I'll be ore confident with insulin as well
 
Which "other diabetes group" are you referring to? There was a group of people that left here and started a FB group, that never followed TR. They sort of followed "whatever the lead person of the group said" as their dosing method. TR has been published as a peer reviewed article in vet journals. Since then, I've see many spreadsheets of acrocats getting full dose with green preshots - and I can point to some who were shooting much higher doses than you are. Of course, they had to work up to it, gather lots of data, and be able to test as needed.

Shooting lower preshots with Lantus and Levemir usually ends up in much flatter cycles. We call green preshots a gift. I loved shooting Neko in the 80's, which seemed to be her sweet spot, cause it meant that cycle seldom moved more than 10 points the entire cycle. Of course, shooting low blue, then low green, took a lot of courage the first few times for me. It can be something you work up to. Eventually I hated shooting higher numbers, because I had no clue what the cycle was going to look like after that. Greens and low blues were easier to predict.
 
Which "other diabetes group" are you referring to? There was a group of people that left here and started a FB group, that never followed TR. They sort of followed "whatever the lead person of the group said" as their dosing method. TR has been published as a peer reviewed article in vet journals. Since then, I've see many spreadsheets of acrocats getting full dose with green preshots - and I can point to some who were shooting much higher doses than you are. Of course, they had to work up to it, gather lots of data, and be able to test as needed.

Shooting lower preshots with Lantus and Levemir usually ends up in much flatter cycles. We call green preshots a gift. I loved shooting Neko in the 80's, which seemed to be her sweet spot, cause it meant that cycle seldom moved more than 10 points the entire cycle. Of course, shooting low blue, then low green, took a lot of courage the first few times for me. It can be something you work up to. Eventually I hated shooting higher numbers, because I had no clue what the cycle was going to look like after that. Greens and low blues were easier to predict.
The only other group I know of is FDSG. Thanks for clarifying and the encouragement words.
Still trying to decide if to continue with Semglee or switch over to Levemir: not quite sure if sometimes he feels the needle or the insulin or maybe he's just more needle sensitive in some spots
 
Neko was more needle sensitive on her sides, but even on her shoulders she's occasionally walk away during the Lantus shot. I was more motivated by Levemir's promise for flatter cycles too, she loved to bounce.
 
96
Neko was more needle sensitive on her sides, but even on her shoulders she's occasionally walk away during the Lantus shot. I was more motivated by Levemir's promise for flatter cycles too, she loved to bounce.
96@ +2 will do another reading before bed. He's just drinking so much water since last night, usually with lower numbers he doesn't drink that much
 
Back
Top